We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“not really a 4 star hotel!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Savoy Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
Ranked #317 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“not really a 4 star hotel!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

This is not what you expect when you pay to accomodate in a 4 star hotel. The rooms (all provided with moquette on the floor...) are not clean, the bathroom was tiny and with a bad smell coming out from the sink. The staff wasn't attentive at all and I couldn't check in before late afternoon due to room cleaning (i wish it was true....). It's located in a nice area, off the city centre but within walking distance; unfortunately there were a lot of construction works on the road outside the hotel. The breakfast was ok, not 4 stars, though.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soulava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    85
    74
    43
    50
See reviews for
17
100
22
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

Resembled a Travelodge in the UK but hotel was clean and comfortable and everything worked. On street parking is very expensive and next time we will use buses or trams (or rent bicycles) as public transport is plentiful and cheap.

Room Tip: book the delux room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomad2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

Positives first: interesting modern decor, updated furnishings (i.e. flat screen tv), free wireless, quiet location away from the busy center, but not too far to walk, not expensive compared to other hotels. Negatives: Had 2 rooms with family, 1 room smelled horribly of mildew and pets and could not be used, staff changed the room, but to a much smaller one, unfortunately. The minibar/fridge in 1 room did not work, the sink kept clogging and the air conditioning barely worked. The directions on the website for how to take the tram are not correct. There is a lot of construction on the road outside the hotel. Biggest problem: We were told upon check-in that if we needed to reach the front desk we should dial 9* on our phone. We tried this in both rooms, and it did not work--neither did the button on the phone for "Reception". Upon check-out we were told that since we made phone calls (i.e. the attempted calls to the front desk) we had to pay for them. We had to argue with 2 different employees in order to not pay for the calls. Quite disappointing "customer service".

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clairewise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We are living a few blocks away from this hotel and I pass it everyday on my way to work. I always thought it was such a nice place for somebody visiting the city! First of all is in one of the safest areas in Amsterdam: just next to it is a police station, and it is generally in a very well-of area.Then it is close to everything: the street market, the city center, the parks, the museums, the supermarket.
I haven't ever stayed in, but being often a tourist myself - judging by the area and how well taken care of it looks, i would recommend it to anybody visiting amsterdam.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GreenZebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

How they have the audacity to class this place as a 4 star hotel is beyond me. I was ushered to a room in the basement, with 2 small wiindows at pavement level. The room smelt, the phone and TV didnt work, and the walls were so thin, I had the misfortune to be kept awake by an over amorous couple in the room next door. Breakfast was forgettable. I was booked to stay for 2 nights. I checked out first thing after one night only. If this is Dutch 4 star, I pity anyone staying at a 3 star

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MisterB49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

When my agent suggested this hotel I was expecting the same standards as the Savoy Hotels in the UK and USA – what a let down. The reception area is dark and grotty, the dining facility compares well with any big corporate company’s staff canteen. On check in the night shift staff member was more interested in getting his books to balance (we were an early arrival) , the one lady running the breakfast room was not interested in her guests and the one receptionist, who was on duty on our departure did assist us in making our arrangements (thank you).

The bedrooms were a surprise however – modern beds ( you can adjust the bed by remote) , new Television and mini bar – room was well supplied with shampoo and the normal guest supplies.

When we were there, we were advised by the night staff member who was trying to cash up to use tram 25 – this was not working for the last 2 weeks due to road and rail construction – but that did not matter – so we eventually had to walk to town and get the correct info.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetotravel5418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

The hotel is in a quiet street about 10 minutes by tram (stop for 2 routes directly outside hotel) from the main shopping centre of Amsterdam. You can however still walk to local shopping areas and bars/restaurants.

Check in was easy, and we arrived a good while before official check in time but that was not an issue.

The actual room was stylish and modern (as was rest of hotel) . It had a decent flat screen TV (with local channels and for UK visitors BBC1 and BBC2), good bathroom and the beds had an electrically powered adjustable mattress.

The free hotel Wifi worked throughout the hotel and was pretty fast.

Breakfast was good with a decent selection of hot and cold food. The breakfast room also doubled up as a lounge the rest of the day, with a decent self service coffee machine with a small selection of biscuits and cakes also available (coffee and cakes were complimentary).

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_Cowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel Victorie
#253 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Alfred Hotel
The Alfred Hotel
#257 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
BEST WESTERN Delphi Hotel
#150 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Amsterdam City
#109 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 194, 1072 LW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #317 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Fine Hotels has transformed the Savoy Hotel Amsterdam to an extraordinary, non-smoking, Four Star Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Savoy Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing