We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Kurdish flavours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zagros

Zagros
Ranked #1,285 of 3,431 Restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Description: Authentiek Koerdisch Restaurant
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Kurdish flavours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Great little neighbourhood restaurant serving fresh tasting food. Very friendly owner who did his best to make us feel welcome and explain Kurdish menu and cooking styles. Good house wine and also good value prices. Worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rablitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a quite bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The food was delicious and so cheap, really too big a portion but it was so good we ate all of it. The house wine was also delicious, better than a glass that cost as much as the carafe from another bar down the street.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyBeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, personal service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

An amazing restaurant, great value for money. The quality of the food is excellent as well as it's display. The latter combined with the kind, personal service creates a wonderful atmosphere altogether. We had a wonderful experience, highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daphna08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious Kurdish food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We felt like we were taking a risk with this place, just because it didn't look great from the outside. However we had heard good reviews so we went for it. The restaurant was around half full, ok for mid week. The waiter could have been friendlier and went out to smoke at every opportunity, I assume the owner wasn't around to keep an eye on him! The food was delicious, the meat was so tender and the flavours really interesting. We had never had Kurdish food before but we definitely will after this meal! The desserts were good too. I definitely recommend this place, 5* food (just don't expect 5* service).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A lovely finish to 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

On New Year's Eve we needed something to eat before going into Amsterdam for the celebrations and fireworks. This little restaurant in the Museum Quarter was jam-packed (turned out a Kurdish family had hired the place for their own celebration, but they very kindly allowed us and anotther couple to take tables!) Kurdish food is very similar in style and taste to Turkish and we had a lovely, tasty meal cooked with fresh wholesome ingredients. This is the second time we've been in Amsterdam for New Year, and the second time we've eaten here. The proprietor and staff are so welcoming, and although the place may be slightly rustic for some tastes, we love it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Around the World in 80 Ways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zagros also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Zagros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing