We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect for a cool Amsterdam day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greenwoods Keizersgracht

Greenwoods Keizersgracht
Ranked #32 of 3,557 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $16
Cuisines: Cafe, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Situated in the heart of town with a fabulous canalside terrace. All day breakfasts - full english, eggs benedict etc etc, full lunch and afternoon tea and cakes selection
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect for a cool Amsterdam day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Found this place based on a tip from a bike tour guide. What a find! We were a bit cold after the tour, and one of us was under the weather, so it was a real joy to walk into this warm nook, order our own pots of tea and enjoy delicious and hearty sandwiches. The staff was friendly, the 70's tunes were great and it gave us the needed energy to continue on with our Amsterdam adventures. As far as lunches go, this was right up our alley!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank michaelmorgansmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    675
    236
    37
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unique and very English”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Niche cafe/small restaurant. Very small and very cosy. it seems to always be packed because the food is amazing. I had a Lamb Burger which was simply great. Book a reservation, I have seen some lines that looked too long to be any sort of reasonable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cecmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Lovely atmosphere and excellent food with very friendly service!! The homemade Irish soda bread was delicious!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CorinnaS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
303 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“A basement food oasis for high tea, salads, and vegetarian dishes.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

It was a dark rainy afternoon when we found this restaurant. The main dining hall is in the basement and they have their kitchen on the first floor. The ambience is very cosy and warm, a great deal when it's cold and wet outside!

Greenwood's high tea is a two-layered offering of scones, open salmon, egg and cheese sandwiches. More precisely, their menu lists their Classic High Tea as having: Homemade soda bread with smoked salmon and cream cheese, four petite sandwiches, cake, Scone with Langage Farm Devonshire Clotted Cream and strawberry jam. My wife enjoyed that tremendously.

My son enjoyed the 100% organic lamb burger while another enjoyed "Granny's Homemade Meatball" a dish served with a dash of vegetables, brown bread and chips. Both dishes received a standing ovation from the family.I had the Portabella Mushroom which was Portabella mushroom with roasted ratatouille, melted goats cheese, pine nuts and honey served on their own soda bread and rocula salad. I had this with prosecco, and our lunch was perfect for that dark, rainy, Amsterdam afternoon.

I will go back there to try their breakfast dishes...all very inviting! They do have two restaurants, one in Singel (103) and the one we went to was in Keizersgracht (465).

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GranDia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great breakfast worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Went to Greenwoods for breakfast and had amazing eggs florentine. Although quiet when we first walked in it filled up quickly on a Friday. The atmosphere was good food excellent. Just slightly tightly packed together but well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Darren_h1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenwoods Keizersgracht also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Greenwoods Keizersgracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing