We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and very English” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwoods Keizersgracht

Greenwoods Keizersgracht
Keizersgracht 465, 1017 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
31204204330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 3,335 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $17
Cuisines: Cafe, European, British, Vegetarian, Gluten Free, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Situated in the heart of town with a fabulous canalside terrace. All day breakfasts - full english, eggs benedict etc etc, full lunch and afternoon tea and cakes selection
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unique and very English”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Niche cafe/small restaurant. Very small and very cosy. it seems to always be packed because the food is amazing. I had a Lamb Burger which was simply great. Book a reservation, I have seen some lines that looked too long to be any sort of reasonable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cecmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    190
    28
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Lovely atmosphere and excellent food with very friendly service!! The homemade Irish soda bread was delicious!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CorinnaS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
290 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“A basement food oasis for high tea, salads, and vegetarian dishes.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

It was a dark rainy afternoon when we found this restaurant. The main dining hall is in the basement and they have their kitchen on the first floor. The ambience is very cosy and warm, a great deal when it's cold and wet outside!

Greenwood's high tea is a two-layered offering of scones, open salmon, egg and cheese sandwiches. More precisely, their menu lists their Classic High Tea as having: Homemade soda bread with smoked salmon and cream cheese, four petite sandwiches, cake, Scone with Langage Farm Devonshire Clotted Cream and strawberry jam. My wife enjoyed that tremendously.

My son enjoyed the 100% organic lamb burger while another enjoyed "Granny's Homemade Meatball" a dish served with a dash of vegetables, brown bread and chips. Both dishes received a standing ovation from the family.I had the Portabella Mushroom which was Portabella mushroom with roasted ratatouille, melted goats cheese, pine nuts and honey served on their own soda bread and rocula salad. I had this with prosecco, and our lunch was perfect for that dark, rainy, Amsterdam afternoon.

I will go back there to try their breakfast dishes...all very inviting! They do have two restaurants, one in Singel (103) and the one we went to was in Keizersgracht (465).

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GranDia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great breakfast worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Went to Greenwoods for breakfast and had amazing eggs florentine. Although quiet when we first walked in it filled up quickly on a Friday. The atmosphere was good food excellent. Just slightly tightly packed together but well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Darren_h1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stop by because my daughter needed the toilet haha... we came in to the restaurant and you could smell the delicious food that was coming out of the kitchen. We wanted to stay and have dinner, but they were about to close, so we came back the next day, and it was so tasty and delicious. I had the lamb hamburger and my husband had de eggs benedict which he also loved!

We are definitely coming back on our next trip to Amsterdam!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank laurinrinrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenwoods Keizersgracht also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Greenwoods Keizersgracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing