We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Breakfast”

Greenwoods Keizersgracht
Reserve with
Greenwoods Keizersgracht is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 3,767 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $16
Cuisines: Cafe, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Situated in the heart of town with a fabulous canalside terrace. All day breakfasts - full english, eggs benedict etc etc, full lunch and afternoon tea and cakes selection
Plymouth, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Greenwoods is where you go for the perfect breakfast food. There is one drawback and that is that both locations are always packed! Can be very difficult to get a table, but if you are'nt in a hurry I suggest you wait for one.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank timothy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    805
    254
    40
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Closed!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I went to Greenwoods a number of times and was always very happy with this place. Last weekend I was visiting Amsterdam with my wife and decided to save our Sunday night to go to the new Greenwoods (always had gone to Singel). The website says that on Sundays they're open until 9.00 pm. We arrived at 8.15 pm and to our surprise they were closing. It's essential to have the marketing updated at all times. They made me waste precious holiday and Sunday-night time. Not going back again due to the lack of respect to clients. Until today, that info is still up at the Keizergracht restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alejandro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielpost, Owner at Greenwoods Keizersgracht, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
dear sir I am very sorry that you had this problem and thank you very much for pointing it out. the website should indeed have been updated and it was not. we are very sorry for the inconvenience that was caused and we have taken steps to ensure that the website is kept up to date at all times.
sincerely
Greenwoods
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Being a local I didnt know about this place. I am pleasantly surprised and very positive about Greenwoods. Very tasty food, well priced! We had to wait a wee while outside as they were full but it was well worth the wait!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank merlijn007Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were in the Keizergracht restaurant. We arrived at 14,30, so lunch was largely over for most of the tables. Nevertheless:

- we waited 45 minutes for 2 eggs benedict
- we ordered some tortilla chips to get something to eat asap, but not only they didn't arrive earlier even if we expressely asked so, they just didn't arrive at all!
- the chips were of course charged to the bill
- for anything like ordering, paying, asking for a fork or water it takes ages, nobody is really paying attention to customers.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fumina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielpost, Owner at Greenwoods Keizersgracht, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
I am very sorry that you had a bad experience, please contact us for a voucher for a free meal on your next visit. this does not reflect our usual high standards and steps have been taken to ensure that training is improved.
we are very sorry for this bad experience
sincerely
Greenwoods
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“You needn't be from England to enjoy Greenwoods!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We enjoyed this cozy, convivial spot for lunch after visiting the nearby Anne Frank House, a short stroll away on Prinsengracht.

It has distinctive, fresh choices (not many) and an ultra-friendly owner/staff.

Tight squeeze inside (a good thing, you'll definitely chat with fellow diners). No alcohol (possibly also a good thing?)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan_Stamm_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenwoods Keizersgracht also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Greenwoods Keizersgracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing