We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All round winner!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greenwoods Keizersgracht

Greenwoods Keizersgracht
Reserve with
Greenwoods Keizersgracht is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 3,725 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $16
Cuisines: Cafe, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Situated in the heart of town with a fabulous canalside terrace. All day breakfasts - full english, eggs benedict etc etc, full lunch and afternoon tea and cakes selection
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All round winner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

After 5 days out of a week in Amsterdam soaking up the culture we finally chanced upon Greenwoods in the afternoon and had our first truly memorable dining experience! Afternoon tea English style was just perfect! Great service (a first for the week), a fabulous array of sandwiches and cakes and some of the finest tea we have ever tasted. Don't miss out on this gem by the Kaisersgracht. We wish we'd discovered it sooner and went back for a lovely, relaxed breakfast the following morning washed down with more superb tea.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    774
    249
    39
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast, even when nursing a hangover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

My partner and myself ended up there after a fairly heavy night around the bars in Amsterdam. We couldn't face our hotel breakfast, but needed something to soak up some of that booze.

We loved the place - they were very friendly and accommodated our queasy looking expressions with great food. It was well cooked, quickly served and definitely value for money. It was just what we needed and a real find.

Amsterdam is a great city with some of the best cafes and places to eat in Europe, and Greenwoods is a good addition to the list of places we're definitely going back to. (I hope we can find it without a hangover though).

Laurence

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurencedalston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A bit of Britain in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

If you want to experience a bit of British delights then don't hesitate to visit Greenwoods 1 or 2. I personally prefer the later one because it serves alcohol and the star of the show is the PIM'S cocktail, a definite MUST! For the rest, the food is very nice, the service is decent and friendly and my last tip is the carrot cake, it is divine!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ArielZachor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

I know its really cliche'd but some mornings you just really fancy a Full English Breakfast !!! and as my Hotel just could not get either its atmosphere or kitchen right i headed out and found Greenwoods on Keizersgracht - OMG what a find. Can anyone beat sitting on their terrace in the morning sun beside the Canal having breakfast watching the world cycle by? No - thought not !! and it was cheaper and better value than the continental effort offered by my hotel.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenwoods Keizersgracht also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Greenwoods Keizersgracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing