We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright, modern, friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
Ranked #49 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during a weekend trip to Amsterdam.
It is a modern, bright and very clean hotel.
Car parking was free for the weekend as it is in a business area. The hotel provides bicycles. There is also public transport into the centre, but we didn’t try that.
The receptionists were very welcoming and helpful both on arrival and departure.

We had a double room in a white and blue colour scheme, very fresh, modern and comfortable. The bathroom was relatively large with an excellent shower. There is air conditioning and also the option to tilt/open a window. The ‘wardrobe’ was an open hanging space, but that is fine as this is more of a business hotel designed for short stays.

Free and uncomplicated WIFI.

Breakfast was a pleasant surprise. There was a full range with something for everyone. No warm food, but various cold cuts, cheeses, cereals, eggs, warm rolls and pastries; a coffee machine with standard coffee, cappuccino, tea, juices and milk. There is also a small fridge with pre-packed portions of kosher food. The staff were continuously refilling plates and keeping the area clean – very pleasant and helpful.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlottesTravelWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (736)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 736 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile


The hotel is located in a quiet suburb of Amsterdam, close to the Van Boshuizenstraat tram stop and a pretty nature reserve called 'T Kleine Loopveld. It is a clean and modern hotel with friendly and knowledeable staff. The rooms have tea and coffee facilities but no mini-bar but you can get drinks any time at reception. A nice feature of the bathroom is a blue night light that saves one’s eyes from getting dazzled when getting up in the dark.

The hotel has a very international feel and cater for people of the Jewish faith with a Kosher breakfast and a ‘shabbat observer’ card which you can leave in your room so that the housekeeping staff leave the lights on.

You can hire bikes for 16 euros each per day which seems quite expensive when you consider that a 48 hour unlimited tram pass costs 12 euros (available from reception).

A great place to stay and you don’t get ripped off like some of the hotels in the main areas of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zippyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Tripadvisor to inform other travellers about your stay.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciate our facilities.
I will make sure to share your comments with the entire team. We hope to welcome you again soon!


Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Great staff and helpfull, calm rooms and the breakfast was delicious!
The Tram is only about 3 minutes by foot which bring's you downtown Amsterdam! There is a Public parking place near by and at the weekends with no charge
Great hotel for less money to explore Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ute m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Tripadvisor to inform other travellers about your stay.

I am pleased to read your notes and thank you so much for your compliments towards the helpfulness of our team members! I appreciate your recommendation of our hotel and hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Pros
Staff great and very helpful (as last reviewer said especially Inge)
Superb location with extensive tram and metro services right next to the hotel to take you into town. Easily accessible from Schiphol using Amsterdam Zuid station. Supermarket close by.
Rooms nice with a great shower and BBC 1/2 - quiet air con which makes a change from most hotels.
Cons
Not very much at all
Breakfast was included but it would have been nice to be able to get hot food like eggs. Very samey if you stay a few nights.
No restaurant on site but theres loads up town by taking Tram 5 to Leidesplein.
Amsterdam hotel tax collected on check out even though I'd prepaid for my stay. Can't blame hotel for the tax but still a bit of a shock to be asked to pay more.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights at the end of July. From the outset the staff were first class ( especially Inge ) They were always on hand to assist and were more than helpful when it came to giving directiions etc. Room was clean and functional with maid service each day.Would defineately recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Del-wood54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us in Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-South.
I am pleased to read that you had a most enjoyable stay with us and that our team did a great job. I have shared your compliments with them.

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed here for four nights last week and can not say enough positives about it. 20 minutes by tram to downtown Amsterdam, great breakfast and service. The best part about this hotel however was the hospitality that we were shown. There is a Jumbo supermarket 2 minute walk away and we were able to buy our lunches there and eat them in the breakfast room which was so convenient and a great way to save money. We would certainly stay here again and give it my strongest recommendation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank villa6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Tripadvisor to inform other travellers about your stay.

I am pleased to read your notes and thank you so much for your compliments towards the helpfulness of our team members!
Hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Great Staff - Helpful, Attentive and Polite. A good base from which to explore Amsterdam (20 to 25 mins using Tram 5 just outside Hotel. There is a large supermarket round the corner.
The showers are great, and the breakfast is very good as well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank AnantPatel1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences at Tripadvisor and I am pleased to notice that you have enjoyed your stay with us in the hotel.
Your compliment towards our staff is highly appreciated!
We would love to have the pleasure to welcome you back with us in the hotel upon a future visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Amsterdam - Arena Towers
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
3.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
#155 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Address: Zwaansvliet 20, 1081 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $103 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Offers with 10% discounts Spring is upon us and so is the new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - SouthThe new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South is ideally located near the financial district of Amsterdam, the South Axis. When using tram or bus which stops in front of the hotel, guests are in close reach of all main financial institutes, the VU Medical Center and the RAI Congress Center (all at 5-10 minutes door-to-door travel). The sound proof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast and also a free daily kosher breakfast is available with no advance reservation required. Next to this the hotel offers special kosher sandwiches. The hotel is located in the Jewish community of Amsterdam and Amstelveen and therefore you will also find many Orthodox Synagogues within walking distance and special Shabbat amenities are available in the hotel.With close proximity of the A10 around Amsterdam, you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Haarlem, The Hague, Utrecht, etc.) and also sightseeing to the most important sites (for instance the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Anne Frank House and the Royal Palace) are in good reach via public transport. The Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South welcomes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing