We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
Ranked #47 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights at the end of July. From the outset the staff were first class ( especially Inge ) They were always on hand to assist and were more than helpful when it came to giving directiions etc. Room was clean and functional with maid service each day.Would defineately recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Del-wood54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us in Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-South.
I am pleased to read that you had a most enjoyable stay with us and that our team did a great job. I have shared your compliments with them.

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    269
    44
    3
    1
See reviews for
121
270
23
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed here for four nights last week and can not say enough positives about it. 20 minutes by tram to downtown Amsterdam, great breakfast and service. The best part about this hotel however was the hospitality that we were shown. There is a Jumbo supermarket 2 minute walk away and we were able to buy our lunches there and eat them in the breakfast room which was so convenient and a great way to save money. We would certainly stay here again and give it my strongest recommendation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank villa6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Tripadvisor to inform other travellers about your stay.

I am pleased to read your notes and thank you so much for your compliments towards the helpfulness of our team members!
Hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Great Staff - Helpful, Attentive and Polite. A good base from which to explore Amsterdam (20 to 25 mins using Tram 5 just outside Hotel. There is a large supermarket round the corner.
The showers are great, and the breakfast is very good as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnantPatel1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences at Tripadvisor and I am pleased to notice that you have enjoyed your stay with us in the hotel.
Your compliment towards our staff is highly appreciated!
We would love to have the pleasure to welcome you back with us in the hotel upon a future visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay, excellent staff, fabulous breakfast, very clean rooms, train service a few feet away really enjoyed staffs friendly attitude Actually stayed there two separate times on our trip wanted to stay there again and they have bike rentals

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard44California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us in Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-South.
I am pleased to read that you had a most enjoyable stay with us and that our team did a great job. I have shared your compliments with them.

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

I was in Amsterdam earlier this month and had a day of business and a day to relax. I chose this hotel after reading reviews on Tripadvisor. Nothing impressive to look at from the outside, on just a couple of floors, and away from town centre.
Yet, it s quiet, clean and the young team running the place were very pleasant and helpful. About 10 minutes walk will get you to a tram station, with runs to the Central Station - a half hour ride past some city landmarks. The last tram gets back around midnight. You can purchase tram passes at the hotel reception.
The room was a good size with simple modern decor. Breakfast was served in the small restaurant, and guests could avail free wi-fi or use hotel computers on the ground floor. In all a good stay, and I would have no hesitation to stay there again - good value for money too. I would plant a few trees all around the property and flowers if I could, which could make a difference

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YakobKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel not very far from the center.
It takes about 20 min with the tram. Staff is really friendly and helpful! Breakfast was ok.
Would recommend anybody to stay when in Amsterdam!
Parking is 8 euros for one day but it is on the street. The staff said its a god area and we did not have any incident.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank abbe_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read your review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us in Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-South. I am glad you had a nice time in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong - Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed as a family with 2 kids for 6 nights. The service was excellent and staff very attentive and helpful as many have mentioned and they do really help. The entire staff from breakfast, cleaning and reception were fantastic and made you feel welcomed indeed.

Good points: close to tram station and shops, well stocked supermarket and a few good restaurants with a great Japaneses rest called Kagetsu directly across on the opposite side of tram station. Also a great community centre comprising of cinema, large shopping centre, library, kids playground, farmers market at the end stop Amstelveen in the opposite direction away from Amsterdam Central. We easily spent a day here and it was so pleasant to be in a local environment without the crowds.

The breakfast selection was good but needed some variation after a few days.The free wifi was reliable and fast with public terminals available.


Not so good points: Our room was right next to the entry which meant that each time someone opened the foyer door and subsequent slam meant that our room would shake with a very loud bang. I think this is due to the module construction of the hotel but it got very annoying esp at nights when the room would shake and the door would thump again. I would suggest asking for a room away from the entry and also a room on a higher level as the rooms are dimly lit.
It would be best to ask for a softer pillow if firm pillows are not your preference as the bedding tends to be a bit stiff overall.

The room decor was generic and could probably do with some luggage benches and some hooks in the bathroom to hang clothes. Other than that, it was an okay stay, not really memorable but just comfortable enough to get by. But the staff are great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor- less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank callmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear callmon,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the noise levels prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#40 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
#141 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
Address: Zwaansvliet 20, 1081 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Offers with 10% discounts Spring is upon us and so is the new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - SouthThe new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South is ideally located near the financial district of Amsterdam, the South Axis. When using tram or bus which stops in front of the hotel, guests are in close reach of all main financial institutes, the VU Medical Center and the RAI Congress Center (all at 5-10 minutes door-to-door travel). The sound proof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast and also a free daily kosher breakfast is available with no advance reservation required. Next to this the hotel offers special kosher sandwiches. The hotel is located in the Jewish community of Amsterdam and Amstelveen and therefore you will also find many Orthodox Synagogues within walking distance and special Shabbat amenities are available in the hotel.With close proximity of the A10 around Amsterdam, you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Haarlem, The Hague, Utrecht, etc.) and also sightseeing to the most important sites (for instance the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Anne Frank House and the Royal Palace) are in good reach via public transport. The Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South welcomes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing