We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
Nearby Hotels
$233
$228
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$306
$245
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $271/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$295
$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$242
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $259/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$317
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of $278/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$131
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$354
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Toren(Amsterdam)
$494
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (774)
Filter reviews
774 results
Traveler rating
409
297
60
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
409
297
60
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskosher breakfastjumbo supermarkettram and metrola brochettecity centrebig supermarketquiet areatakes minutespublic transportationcentral stationgood sizegreat showerboiled eggsminute walk from the hotelday passclean roomshotel is located
Filter
Updating list...
319 - 324 of 774 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is an amazing place. Starting with the warm welcoming, friendly and helpful staff, very clean, and quiet. In a convenient location, just next to the tram towards the city center (arrives every 5 minutes and takes only 20 min) and to the train to the air port.
The hotel also offered bikes for rent. It was a great experience biking in the beautiful area like Amsterdam bush that is nearby.
As Orthodox Jews it was the best experience ever. The hotel offered Kosher products for breakfast, Kosher snacks, and all the facilities for observing Shabbat (including Shabbat lamp and key) in a pleasant way. All the staff were aware of the special needs and were soooo understanding and kind. The hotel is in walking distance from synagogues and kosher restaurants.
Definitely the place to be and we very much hope to come again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meyblum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express, Amsterdam in May for 4 nights. We were interested in visiting the different museums and places of interest and the hotel's location was very convenient. Amsterdam has excellent public transportation and it helped us that the hotel was a few minutes walk from the tram stop - within 15 - 30 minutes you can be at any of the tourist spots. At around 100 Euros a night (breakfast included) it was an excellent "value for money" option (Amsterdam is an expensive city with respect to hotel tariffs). The reception staff were extremely helpful with directions / information. The breakfast had a decent spread and we had no reasons to complain.

If we were to visit Amsterdam again we will certainly stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ararat007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review about our hotel. We are very pleased to read you had a good experience and that we can welcome you back in our hotel.

For bookings please contact us directly at info.amsam@hiex.nl.

Yours sincerely,

Linda de Jong
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was our 3rd year to Amsterdam but our 1st time at this hotel staying 3 nights and we were not disappointed . On arrival of the hotel it was so easy to find off the metro which was approximately a 2 minute walk . The outside of the hotel was impressive and was located in a quiet area just outside the city , surrounded by a little town which was lovely , with a fantastic supermarket . The check in process was excellent the staff were very friendly . The room was were very clean and fresh and with plenty of room . The bathroom was a decent size with a fantastic walk in shower that was immaculate . The beds were 2 singles joined together and were massive , very comfortable and a choice of pillows were available , there was also a selection of teas available . The breakfast on the morning was lovely with a wide range of cereals , fresh juice , hams and cheeses , toast , mini muffins as well as little jams etc for your toast and also tea and coffee .
In the hallway there was also free access to the internet with 2 computers , you could also get free wifi on your phone .
The transport to the city was fab , for people who like exploring it was wonderful . We had a choice of the tram or the metro . The metro we had to change at sparlweg which was not a problem . We used the tram and took about 20 minutes to get to the city but it was amazing to see different sights and places we had not explored . If your travelling into the city it always advisable to purchase a 3 day travel card ( if your staying 3 days , but can always purchase 2 day , 4 day etc etc ) this means you have unlimited travel which is fantastic on the trams or metro . We also visited Amstelveen which was the opposite direction from the city but used the same tram and only took 10 minutes from the hotel . The tram and metro services run every 5 minutes so very frequent . I would recommend this hotel to anyone and to those who like to explore . We will definatly be staying here again as we loved it .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your "Excellent" review! I have shared your comments with our team to read.

We are very much looking forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Linda de Jong
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The staff in the hotel were great, the rooms were extra clean and also the hotel facilities. Free WiFi !!!! And computers in the lobby.
Great running park near the hotel and quiet environment to take a walk.
Fare breakfast and supermarket right across the corner.
Transportation to city center takes 30 minutes with a Tram and Metro that located 100 meters from the hotel. The way to the airport is super fast and takes 40 minutes in public transportation.
Great experience.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tzvi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Spent 3 nights in August . Hotel is in quite area very near tram and subway platform .Good breakfast, clean rooms and friendly helpfull staff.We did have a problem with the air conditioning in our room and there was a monetary issue regarding a 4th night we had booked but had to cancel ; but to the credit of Manager Linda De Jong these issues were resolved to our satisfaction and we would definitely stay at this hotel again. WE enjoyed our stay and recomend this hotel very highly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 814richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews