We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amsterdam Holiday Inn Express” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
Ranked #42 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amsterdam Holiday Inn Express”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Spent six days with my family at this Holiday Inn Express. I would rate it as good to very good. The staff was very friendly. The location was a bit out out of town. Tram #5 was about a 150meter walk and takes about 20 minutes to get to the middle of the Amsterdam proper and about 40 minutes to the Central Station because it makes a lot of stops. This is not bad, just something you need to plan for. Trams arrive about every eight minutes so there is virtually no wait. The hotel has no parking of its own. You park next door at a public parking lot for 8.40Euros per day. Be sure to have a credit/debit card car with a smart chip otherwise the bloody machine won't work for you. It doesn't take cash or cards with only a magnetic strip. The rooms are built for two but you can get by with three. The extra bed might not be too comfortable but will be sufficient for kids and teenagers. My wife and daughter thought the bathroom was small because there was no place to put all of their cosmetics. There was no closet space. If you've ever been to a Holiday Inn Express then you already know what to expect. Breakfast was fine. The food was okay. The bread and cheeses were fine. There was kosher food for Jewish folks. Bottom line, we had a great time and this Holiday Inn Express was just right for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kudukc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    250
    37
    3
    1
See reviews for
112
252
20
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
northampton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel was in a wonderful quiet area away from the busy city centre. We were so glad we were staying outside of the city when we saw the police riot vans appear each evening in the centre. We could enjoy Amsterdam during the day and after our evening meal simply catch a tram (number 5)to the hotel with peach and quiet.
The hotel staff were lovely. They supplied us with a map and circled the areas we had previously booked or simply wanted to see. We bought the tram tickets from the reception and it was as simple as that. The tram stop was a few minutes walk from the hotel
The room was clean, bright and so comfortable. There was lots of storage space and a lovely bathroom. Breakfast was held in a bright room with a huge continental selection.
Would I stay again?
I certainly would.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simplesNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights over the Bank Holiday. We found the all staff members to be absolutely polite, friendly, helpful and informative.

The Good - THUMBS UP!!
The hotel is 15mins from the airport.
We got into our room early.
The room was an adequate size - fresh, clean and tidy - the usual Holiday Inn style!!!
The shower room was spotless with an ample supply of clean towels.
The shower cubicle was roomy with a great power shower.
Breakfast was adequate for me.
Location of hotel was great, very very quiet in a residential area....very clean and we felt safe even when out at night.
The 5 Tram was so close to the hotel and within 20mins you're in the middle of Dam Square. The 72 hour travel card was great and very economical.

The 'not so good' - THUMBS DOWN!!
We booked a double bed and got twin beds.
The beds are extremely soft and uncomfortable - i am not exaggerating here!!! After walking all day and taking a shower you just want to rest your body on a firm supportive bed.
Not enough TV stations. I am not asking for 50 stations but with only BBC1, BBC2 a couple of music stations and 1 movie station (True Movies from the 80's) - need a couple of current stations.
My husband would like to have had a hot breakfast with fried/scrambled eggs and beans.

All in all this hotel was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmpressJai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here for the weekend - 3 nights. Sabbat(Saturday), was very easy to keep here thanks to the polite staff and accommodations: Kosher breakfast.
Sabbat lamp, Sabbat key, hot water for coffee and etc'. the staff is very aware and very sensetive to religious needs, the hotel is close to the synagouge.
Special thanks and appriciation to Chavi.She was a real blessing for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHOSHI C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice words on TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us in Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-South. I am pleased to read that you had a most enjoyable stay with us. I will also forward your compliments to our team. We hope to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and were quite pleased with this hotel on every level. The accommodations were very good, the breakfasts were excellent but the service was exemplary. Although this hotel was 20-30 minutes from downtown, Tram 5 was easily accessible and was a pleasant ride there. The manager, Linda DeJong, (along with her staff) is a real credit to the Holiday Inn family. She and her staff went out of their way to insure a pleasurable stay; to the extent where when the tram (without notification) stopped working, ms. DeJong drove two elderly guests downtown in her own car as they had to catch a train to Utrecht. What a rare act of grace!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BobDibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you that you took the time to write on TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us in Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-South! It is a pleasure to hear you had an enjoyable stay and that our team did a great job. We hope we may welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Linda de Jong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

3 night stay - Hotel located very close to Tram line 5 - station can be seen from the hotel - so if you are travelling by car, just leave it at the hotel and travel by public transport to the city center. Parking is free from Friday 6 p.m. to Monday 9 a.m. After that it is Euro 1.50 for an hour or Euro 9.00 I believe for the day. Hotel very comfortable and included Continental Breakfast which was very good indeed. The Receptionist in charge (Juliette - sorry, may have mis spelt that) on the night we checked in was very helpful and gave us good guidance to the surroundings and the city center.
The air-conditioning did not work all the time even though it showed a green light on the remote that it was on! Not sure if this is centrally controlled from a control room but it got a bit stuffy as it was a hot summer's day on one of our nights there.

Room Tip: Ideal for sight seeing Amsterdam city and the surroundings - if this is your aim than stay here and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here due to lack of rooms in central Amsterdam due to a very large convention. I wouldn't say the price was spectacular (because of demand from the convention) but in the end, this was a great place to stay. It is a little bit off the beaten path (many people could not give us directions), but it was in a quiet area just off one of the trams. Not a far trip at all to get to the center of Amsterdam. It was modern, clean, service was great. They had a very nice complimentary breakfast. One thing to note - it is in a residential "suburban" area and there aren't many restaurants or places to pick up food if it becomes late in the evening. We had no problem going to a nice dinner while out sightseeing and then taking the tram back late at night. The stop is about a one minute walk from the entrance of the hotel.

Room Tip: The room was very modest, but quite modern. If you are going to be spending time outside of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jesswc779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
1.0 mi away
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#117 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,460 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
0.6 mi away
Element Amsterdam Hotel
Element Amsterdam Hotel
#41 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
Address: Zwaansvliet 20, 1081 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Offers with 10% discounts Spring is upon us and so is the new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - SouthThe new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South is ideally located near the financial district of Amsterdam, the South Axis. When using tram or bus which stops in front of the hotel, guests are in close reach of all main financial institutes, the VU Medical Center and the RAI Congress Center (all at 5-10 minutes door-to-door travel). The sound proof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast and also a free daily kosher breakfast is available with no advance reservation required. Next to this the hotel offers special kosher sandwiches. The hotel is located in the Jewish community of Amsterdam and Amstelveen and therefore you will also find many Orthodox Synagogues within walking distance and special Shabbat amenities are available in the hotel.With close proximity of the A10 around Amsterdam, you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Haarlem, The Hague, Utrecht, etc.) and also sightseeing to the most important sites (for instance the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Anne Frank House and the Royal Palace) are in good reach via public transport. The Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South welcomes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing