We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great alternative just South of Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
Ranked #47 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great alternative just South of Amsterdam”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Although it's situated just South of Amsterdam, outside the city centre, this hotel is a great choice for people who want to be in the city. Just in front of the hotel there's a stop of tram 5 that brings you straight to many places in the city centre (Leidseplein, Dam, Central station etc.). To get there it's only 10 minutes. And the day pass, which can be bought at the hotel reception will cost you just 7,50 euros. Very convenient. When do have a car, in front of the hotel there's plenty of parking space which almost always offers availability, especially in the weekend. During the week there's a moderate rate (not the 6 euros per hours in the city centre) to be paid, but in the weekend it's free.
Anyway the hotel is new, very clean, good (not too big) rooms but they've got all you want, a great shower, good beds and free pretty fast internet connection all over. The breakfast is good with hot and cold stuff to choose from and again in a space that's comfortable and clean.
Just a great choice for people who do not have to be in the city centre to visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frans C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HI_Express_AMSAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay! We are very delighted with your valuable comments. We are looking forward welcoming you back in the near future. Please contact us via info.amsam@hiex.nl to get the best available rates.

Yours sincerely,

Linda de Jong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    276
    47
    5
    1
See reviews for
129
280
25
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuantan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My family n i had a fabulous experience at holiday inn express amsterdam south recently after having our stay for two full weeks. Will surely return for our future trip to the beautiful city of amsterdam! A special thanks n appreciation to Linda their GM n Inge! Since our return on 7th Jan 2013 we have been thinking of visitig again :)

Room Tip: Convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank May-leong S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Incredibly easy to get to via public transportation from the airport and super convenient to the tram stop for travel into the city. The room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast had a good deal of variety and started early enough to be useful before heading into city centre for a full day of sightseeing. For a leisure trip, it's definitely a "leave in the morning and return at the end of the day" situation and the location is a little deserted at night, but it was a great value. The staff was friendly and I was super thankful for the chance to check in incredibly early (9am) on my arrival.
My only quibble is that in an effort to be green, there are only built in soap/shampoo dispensers located by the sink and in the shower and unfortunately the dispenser in the shower was broken throughout my stay. I reported it as I left for the day after my first night but it had not been repaired by the time I returned later that evening. I bought some travel size items while out just in case and was glad that I did as I never connected with the front desk again and the dispenser had not been fixed when I left after 3 nights.
Overall, however, it was a comfortable, quiet lodging for a solo trip to see Amsterdam for the first time. A little out of the way, but I was glad to be clear of the tourist sections of town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kipperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here for a good 5 nights during New Years, Service is great and friendly staff to assist our needs!!!! Would recommend for those looking for a new accommodation style to stay in Amsterdam which is not too far from Central Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

we overnighted here between italy and flying home (usa). We wanted somewhere removed from the airport, and a bit nice. (if you're paying airport prices, then you might as well get something). It was a bit of a journey to get to the hotel via the tram, but it can be done. Note that if you're planning to get back to the airport via tram, then sort your tickets out while you're at the station, because there is no ticket window at the tram stop near the hotel. The ticket machines only take credit cards with chips in them, so your USA card won't work. Our outbound flight required us to be at the airport somewhat early, and we ended up taking a cab. It wasn't unreasonable, but it was far more than the tram.

The rooms are very nicely furnished, and the beds are quite comfortable. The bathroom is spacious and modern. The breakfast served was complete, and we were able to find things to eat there (everyone is lactose intolerant in my family). Hotel staff are very helpful. Several nice restaurants nearby.

Not sure if I'll stay again because of the location. But only for that reason. The rest was spot-on.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank audiogeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We are couple and we stayed here for 4 nights for new year eve! A really good hotel, always clean, really good breakfast and with kind staff! The hotel is really close to the metro and tram station, but a bit far from the city center ( 20 minutes by tram ). It really worth it!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serenabuscemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
3.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
0.6 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#33 of 368 in Amsterdam
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
2.7 mi away
Hotel Casa
Hotel Casa
#63 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
Address: Zwaansvliet 20, 1081 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Offers with 10% discounts Spring is upon us and so is the new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - SouthThe new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South is ideally located near the financial district of Amsterdam, the South Axis. When using tram or bus which stops in front of the hotel, guests are in close reach of all main financial institutes, the VU Medical Center and the RAI Congress Center (all at 5-10 minutes door-to-door travel). The sound proof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast and also a free daily kosher breakfast is available with no advance reservation required. Next to this the hotel offers special kosher sandwiches. The hotel is located in the Jewish community of Amsterdam and Amstelveen and therefore you will also find many Orthodox Synagogues within walking distance and special Shabbat amenities are available in the hotel.With close proximity of the A10 around Amsterdam, you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Haarlem, The Hague, Utrecht, etc.) and also sightseeing to the most important sites (for instance the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Anne Frank House and the Royal Palace) are in good reach via public transport. The Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South welcomes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing