We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (799)
Filter reviews
799 results
Traveler rating
426
304
61
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
426
304
61
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskosher breakfastjumbo supermarkettram and metrola brochettecity centrequiet areapublic transportationbusiness travelercentral stationgood sizegreat showerhotel is locatedboiled eggsminute walk from the hotelday passclean roomseasy access
Filter
Updating list...
483 - 488 of 799 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed here for one of our weekends during a ten day trip in and around Amsterdam. It was obvious at the end of our trip that we would have been best off staying at this hotel the whole time. The rooms were fresh, clean and comfortable. The staff was kind and accommodating. The breakfasts were great. The sitting area downstairs was extremely comfortable. The wifi was fast and free. The location was excellent - outside of the city near nice places to take a calm walk, but also right across the street from public transportation to get us easily into the city if we had wanted to use it. We rented a car, though, and could park right out front of the hotel. And, for those who are interested, the hotel does an excellent and low-key job at perfectly accommodating guests who keep kosher and keep Shabbat. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting the Amsterdam area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kerinj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

If your a Shomer Shabbas Jew and looking for the right place to stay near the Jewish community in Amsterdam this is the place for you. The Hotel is beautiful, clean, and new. The staff was extremely helpful as well as knowledgeable about Jewish customs. The lounge area was very comfortable. We were treated to a very nice Kosher breakfast as well. The Hotel also provided us with a very helpful printout of all the Kosher restaurants, Shuls, and other Jewish sites in the area. If my wife and our family are ever in the Amsterdam again would would definitely stay at the Holiday in Express again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yochanan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Nice new hotel. Had issues with booking directly through the hotel as the booking confimation only confirms your dates of stay and no other information. This caused a problem when checking in as they put us in a twin room instead of a double (then moved us) said breakfast was not inlcuded (there is actually a free buffet continental breakfast for all guests), told us we did not have welcome drinks on arrival or late check out (which they gave us anyway).

Apart from this the hotel was nice and clean as it's new. It's about 20mins on the tram from central Amsterdam - you can take the Metro too but the tram is much nicer and safer.

Would not recommend this for female travellers on their own as it's a bit dark and deserted of a night.

There is a great supermarket next to the train station.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alastair3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review about our hotel. We have checked your reservations and saw that you have booked us well ahead of our opening date (as you might have seen the hotel is brand new), this could be the only reason that your confirmation might have missed some details (as the system could have missed some information). At present all of our confirmations provides brief information about the hotel with details about direction and facilities.
Please accept my apologies for this mishap you encountered at check in. It is indeed a standard within Holiday Inn Express Hotels to have the continental breakfast and WIFI included in all available rates.

We will surely look into your comment that you find the surroundings dark in the evening hours. The hotel is actually situated in a peaceful local environment of Amsterdam, which gives some tranquility to our guests and is definitely a safe environment for female travellers.
We are very much looking forward having you as one of our guests again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Rinse Kempinga, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

If you want to stay near to centre of Amsterdam but not in it then this is a great hotel to stay in. The tram is 100 yds away from the hotel and a 20 min ride into the Central Station with trams every 20 mins. The cost for a 24 hr pass on the metro trams is 7 euro. The hotel is quiet modern and very friendly. The surrounding area has a variety of shops and most speak English . Good value breakfast is basic but is available till midday! V civilised

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Humbert1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Location is very nice and is in peaceful area of Amsterdam where you can just relax after a tiring day. Tram station is right in front and very easy to access amsterdam cetral station and other attraction in amsterdam. The hotel staff is very welcoming and helping specially the Manager himself. Clean rooms, nice sitting and dining area. If someone is looking for a good place to stay, i would suggest this hotel without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Raja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews