We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Shabbas to remember” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
Ranked #42 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Shabbas to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

If your a Shomer Shabbas Jew and looking for the right place to stay near the Jewish community in Amsterdam this is the place for you. The Hotel is beautiful, clean, and new. The staff was extremely helpful as well as knowledgeable about Jewish customs. The lounge area was very comfortable. We were treated to a very nice Kosher breakfast as well. The Hotel also provided us with a very helpful printout of all the Kosher restaurants, Shuls, and other Jewish sites in the area. If my wife and our family are ever in the Amsterdam again would would definitely stay at the Holiday in Express again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yochanan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    256
    40
    3
    1
See reviews for
116
261
22
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Nice new hotel. Had issues with booking directly through the hotel as the booking confimation only confirms your dates of stay and no other information. This caused a problem when checking in as they put us in a twin room instead of a double (then moved us) said breakfast was not inlcuded (there is actually a free buffet continental breakfast for all guests), told us we did not have welcome drinks on arrival or late check out (which they gave us anyway).

Apart from this the hotel was nice and clean as it's new. It's about 20mins on the tram from central Amsterdam - you can take the Metro too but the tram is much nicer and safer.

Would not recommend this for female travellers on their own as it's a bit dark and deserted of a night.

There is a great supermarket next to the train station.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review about our hotel. We have checked your reservations and saw that you have booked us well ahead of our opening date (as you might have seen the hotel is brand new), this could be the only reason that your confirmation might have missed some details (as the system could have missed some information). At present all of our confirmations provides brief information about the hotel with details about direction and facilities.
Please accept my apologies for this mishap you encountered at check in. It is indeed a standard within Holiday Inn Express Hotels to have the continental breakfast and WIFI included in all available rates.

We will surely look into your comment that you find the surroundings dark in the evening hours. The hotel is actually situated in a peaceful local environment of Amsterdam, which gives some tranquility to our guests and is definitely a safe environment for female travellers.
We are very much looking forward having you as one of our guests again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Rinse Kempinga, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

If you want to stay near to centre of Amsterdam but not in it then this is a great hotel to stay in. The tram is 100 yds away from the hotel and a 20 min ride into the Central Station with trams every 20 mins. The cost for a 24 hr pass on the metro trams is 7 euro. The hotel is quiet modern and very friendly. The surrounding area has a variety of shops and most speak English . Good value breakfast is basic but is available till midday! V civilised

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Humbert1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Location is very nice and is in peaceful area of Amsterdam where you can just relax after a tiring day. Tram station is right in front and very easy to access amsterdam cetral station and other attraction in amsterdam. The hotel staff is very welcoming and helping specially the Manager himself. Clean rooms, nice sitting and dining area. If someone is looking for a good place to stay, i would suggest this hotel without any hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Level Contributor
233 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Hi I stayed here last night whilst on business in Amsterdam. Very good location and lovely new hotel. It used to be offices apparently and has been renovated. The rooms are lovely and you have everything you need. Bar and lounge area was very well designed. We slept like logs and breakfast was great which consisted of cereals, toast, yoghurt, fruit and the usual cold meats. Reception staff very helpful and could not do enough to help. There are bikes for rent here also. Wi fi very good. We will be back. Keep up the good work!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iggyTipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

I can't say how happy I was to stay here. The room was brand spanking new, service excellent. The staff was very friendly, and the breakfast they provide pretty good. I would definitely go back here on my next trip! Rooms are small, but very nice and decent cable/wifi.

Room Tip: Make sure they are not next to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valentín S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Worm service from all staff that giving you the feeling they are relay glad to help you.
For example the hotel manager came with me in the rain in order to show me where I can find close restaurant.
The room is very clean with basic equipment (no refrigerator in the room) . the room is very clean!
City center is about 20 minutes by metro from the hotel. Near the hotel there is small shopping center.

When I was there it was quit cheap (100-150 Euro) and for sure it’s the best value hotel that I ever had.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ido N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.0 mi away
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#108 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
#131 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#51 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
Address: Zwaansvliet 20, 1081 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Offers with 10% discounts Spring is upon us and so is the new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - SouthThe new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South is ideally located near the financial district of Amsterdam, the South Axis. When using tram or bus which stops in front of the hotel, guests are in close reach of all main financial institutes, the VU Medical Center and the RAI Congress Center (all at 5-10 minutes door-to-door travel). The sound proof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast and also a free daily kosher breakfast is available with no advance reservation required. Next to this the hotel offers special kosher sandwiches. The hotel is located in the Jewish community of Amsterdam and Amstelveen and therefore you will also find many Orthodox Synagogues within walking distance and special Shabbat amenities are available in the hotel.With close proximity of the A10 around Amsterdam, you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Haarlem, The Hague, Utrecht, etc.) and also sightseeing to the most important sites (for instance the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Anne Frank House and the Royal Palace) are in good reach via public transport. The Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South welcomes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing