We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Tulip of Amsterdam, A Flower in Bloom” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulip of Amsterdam B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Ranked #4 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tulip of Amsterdam, A Flower in Bloom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The Tulip of Amsterdam is centrally and conveniently located to the center of the city and all of the major sites we wanted to explore. We liked our room which had a collection of eclectic Dutch themed decor. Our host was friendly and accommodating. She was reliable and made us feel at home. We really appreciated the in-room food supplies and the breakfast room had an incredible variety of foods. We recommend the Tulip of Amsterdam without reservation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RJinLansdowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    25
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
221
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this lovely little B&B for two nights mid week.
The owners were away at the time however we were looked after by a lovely lady called Nicky.
Unfortunately, our room wasn't ready for the time we arrived (we were on time) Nicky sorted drinks and discussed the area and tips for our stay.
Our room was very nice, cosy but very welcoming and very well equipped.
One slight disappointment was as we were getting settled in our room, the room above was being cleaned and hoovered which was very loud as directly above us. We had trouble relaxing due to the noise.
Location wise we found this couldn't have been better. Everywhere was within walking distance for us.
Our room didn't include breakfast however there was enough in the room to get us started for the day with cereals and other breakfast items.
I would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaky20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We were very welcomed by David of the 'Tulip of Amsterdam'.
He suggested us a protected parking (10 euros/day) within les than 10 min. walking of the B&B.
The interior of the B&B is top! The lounge is vintage, the spacious room breathes the quirky atmosphere of Amsterdam with nice tulips and decorations.
Despite its "super central location", we heard no street noise!
The room is very quiet and cozy with great attention to details, a free minibar and well organized tea and espresso facilities.
The bathroom is clean and equipped with hairdryer, mirrors, shampoo, shower gel, soft towels and accessoires.
Also the breakfast in the morning is an absolute must and satisfied every expectation!
We enjoyed our stay at the "Tulip of Amsterdam" and recommend this B&B!
We are already looking forward to the next time!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vincentvaleria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Nebraska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

As a person traveling overseas for the first time, I could not have been more fortunate in finding the Tulip as a place to start my adventure! What a treasure this historical yet modern gem is! From the simple and clear directions for how to find the location to the warm and generous hospitality of the owners was exactly what I needed to make my stay in Amsterdam marvelous. The rooms are spacious and clean and provided everything I needed. Breakfast is traditional yet allows for the guest to have unlimited choice. There is great attention to aesthetics and each time I 'came home' from my adventures around the city, I instantly felt relaxed and all I needed to refresh was readily available. Location could not be more perfect for sight seeing, easy access to great food, and nightlife. This is a lovely place and I hope to return some day!

Room Tip: I loved everything about my room! It was spacious and cozy at the same time. Big windows but great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Collaborate2Create
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The location was central to everything, Chris and David were very nice and always available to give advice and information whenever you needed it but also left you to have your own privacy i.e when using the kitchen for breakfast in the morning. The room was really cosy and comfortable, the fridge was always topped up with complimentary drinks and a few chocolates - also it was really nice to have the nespresso coffee machine in the room (and kettle with various teas). There was a bottle of wine waiting for us in the room when we arrived which was sweet, but neither me or my partner drink. There was always a nice selection of food and drinks for breakfast, cereals/bars, yogurt, fruit, various breads, jams, cheese, meats and whatever you needed if you wanted to whip up an omelette. They have put a lot of thought into what their doing and the B&B itself is very clean. I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We booked this B&B due to its great review and we were not disappointed! Chris & David welcomed us very warmly, offered us a welcome drink and gave us loads of tips and ideas to do in their lovely city. The room was clean, very presentable, and located at the back side of the building. The property is located in the city centre, around 10 minutes walk from the central station and many more. Breakfast was self service, abundant and full of choices. Thanks guys for the great weekend. We will be back. This is a great break for us!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Tulip of Amsterdam was a perfect cap to a month of train travel in Europe. Staying in a home that dates back to the 1600s was a unique experience while providing up-to-date accommodations. Our 3rd floor room was spacious with charming antiques, a table & chairs and a small refrigerator, the contents of which were complimentary along with a nice bottle of wine. We felt welcome the moment we arrived and appreciated the tip on a nearby non-tourist restaurant as well as touring via the canal boats. The kitchen was set for breakfast each morning with fruit, breads, juice and excellent coffee and teas. The guest refrigerator was filled with cheeses, cold cuts, and freshly cut ingredients for making your own omelette ... all the conveniences of home.

We were delighted to have help carrying our luggage up to and down from our room early the morning of our departure. David and Chris are thoughtful, gracious hosts.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinegrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,246 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
misc eatdrinksleep
misc eatdrinksleep
#6 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip of Amsterdam B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip of Amsterdam B&B

Property: Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Address: Kloveniersburgwal 9 HS, 1011 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip of Amsterdam B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very cosy B&B located in the heart of the historic city centre. The impressive monumental house is full of charming features and has recently (2012) been renovated. The spacious and quiet guest-rooms are decorated in unique Dutch style and have an en-suite private bathroom, coffee and tea-making facilities and complimentary water and Nespresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Tulip of Amsterdam B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing