We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“wonderful hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulip of Amsterdam B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Ranked #3 of 331 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Chris and David were helpful in every way, from storing luggage to carrying luggage up the "Dutch staircase" to providing maps, train schedules, restaurant recommendations, wine, and breakfast food in our room to facilitate our verrry early morning trek to Alkmaar cheese auction. Great location, close to everything even a cab stand right outside the door.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    25
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
227
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed 4 nights with Chris and David and found they were excellent hosts, very welcoming and could not have been more helpful. We wanted to stay in a central area of old Amsterdam, in an old style of house, and the Tulip of Amsterdam was the perfect choice for us, complete with a very friendly house cat! Very quirky interior, but well appointed and a fun place to stay. We had the room at the top, back of the house which was quiet and had the added novelty of vaulted ceiling timbers! Breakfast was very sociable, sharing the dining kitchen with other guests, as you prepared your own breakfast from a vast selection of hot and cold food. We know where we will be staying next time we are in Amsterdam, we can't recommend it highly enough, thanks guys!

which included the National Holiday on Saturday for 'Kings Day'

Room Tip: When we were there the Kings Day events made the area very noisy at night in the lead up, so a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathygovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Hi all
We stayed for a week and I can´t thank enough Chris & David ( the lovely owners ) for everything. The room was really nice, breakfast was amazing, Chris even took the time to buy chocolate cake for my girfriend and many other details after asking for our tastes & preferences.What to say about location . This was my third visit to Amsterdam and this location is honestly unbeatable. 1 minute away from the Red Light district and still quiet and classy . It´s right in the Niewmarkt surrounded by cafes and really close to the Chinatown were you have tons of great restaurants if you are a foody like us !. EVERY QUESTION we had they answered us always willing to help us and they made us feel like home. I really recommend this place and will defitinetly stay there every time I go back to the city . Thanks guys for everything and keep the good work :) !!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glq123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Nice place to stay. A little noisy early mornings because of birds nest near the window.
Located in the heart of city. you don't really need public transport even for Amsterdam central station..
Very nice owners and great hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aidin594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
396 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Great location, wonderful hosts. Comfortable accommodations. The printed instructions made it easy to find this jewel of a B&B. No detail was overlooked. Marvelous breakfast, a great cafe next door and dozens of good restaurants very nearby. Hop on the tram and in a few minutes you are viewing the greatest art treasures in the world. In a word, Perfect

Room Tip: Buy a 3 day pass for the tram, cheaper that way
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Due to a flight delay, we arrived at the Tulip for a midnight check-in. Chris welcomed us with a much appreciated bottle of white wine. He invited us in and made us feel right at home. We've never encountered such a gracious and welcoming host.

Loytje is the the hotel entertainer and the star of the establishment. We have fallen in love with him and would've liked to spend more time with him.

The rooms are beautifully designed but beware of the steep stairs. If you find it hard to cope with the typical Amsterdam staircase, this one won't be an easy ride, particularly if you've just returned from a visit to one of the nearby coffeeshops.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lior c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake district England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Just come back from a one night stay in the tulip of Amsterdam b&b , it is a little gem , absolutely fantastic . It's like home from home . Rooms lovely and clean and just love the complimentary wine and drinks / snacks in your room . The self service breakfast is great , there is everything you can think of from fresh fruit to cold meat and cheese . The owners Chris and David are really nice and couldn't do enough for you , it was like staying with old friends . We are already planning a longer stay in Amsterdam and will not consider staying anywhere else but tulip of amsterdam b&b . Really worth 5 stars .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robinson70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,317 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 920 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 898 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
misc eatdrinksleep
misc eatdrinksleep
#8 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 593 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip of Amsterdam B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip of Amsterdam B&B

Property: Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Address: Kloveniersburgwal 9 HS, 1011 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip of Amsterdam B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very cosy B&B located in the heart of the historic city centre. The impressive monumental house is full of charming features and has recently (2012) been renovated. The spacious and quiet guest-rooms are decorated in unique Dutch style and have an en-suite private bathroom, coffee and tea-making facilities and complimentary water and Nespresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Tulip of Amsterdam B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing