We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tulip of Amsterdam B&B

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Ranked #2 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

What wonderful hosts Chris and David were, they really go out of there way to ensure you have a fabulous stay, we had a large room, which was spotlessly clean and stocked with all the essentials and more! We were there for valentines and came back from a days sightseeing to find a rosé, card and chocolates in our room, how sweet and kind of them. Location is perfect as was Chris's recommendation of a restaurant. It was a everything we wanted and more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T0ny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    28
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
242
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Thank you David and Chris for making out stay so comfortable and enjoyable.
Due to childcare problems we had to take our 4 yo daughter with us ( last minute decision). Chris and David were very helpful and provided an extra bed (Large Dutch Room).

Location is perfect- we had long walks and could pop back anytime as the place is right in the centre. David even gave us a map with marked places of interest. Thank you!

Breakfast was perfect- anything one would want, you could boil/ fry eggs yourself. Fruit/ veg/ cereals and lovely coffees.

A nice touch- a lovely bottle of wine and biscuits in the room.

All in all, will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: old house, so very steep stairs up to the room (our 4 yo mastered those by day2!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cincinellauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just returned from a 5 day break and can recommend this B&B to everyone. It really is like a home from home. David is very friendly and helpful and all the little extra touches he made throughout our stay made a birthday break really special. (we didn't meet Chris as he was away at the time)
We stayed in the large green room - loved the decor and we felt instantly comfortable. The serve yourself breakfasts are fantastic and the room is open until 11am if you fancy a lay in. Loytje the cat is gorgeous. As cat lovers he was an added bonus and it was lovely to come back and see him curled up in his basket on the window of the reception.
Location wise, the b&b is about a ten min walk from central station - we walked with cases and this was no problem at all. It is well located and we covered all areas of Amsterdam on foot.
Really cannot think of anything bad to say. We had a wonderful time and would go back tomorrow if we could.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GElle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Literally could not have chosen a better place to stay. A few weeks before arriving, I emailed David to ask about nice restaurants for Valentine's dinner. He couldn't have been more helpful; he sent me and my boyfriend a list of 8-10 different restaurants, including the distance from the B&B and what sort of prices to expect so that we could choose and he could book on our behalf. He also emailed me a couple of days before departure to let us know the weather expected, so we could pack properly! Upon arrival, David greeted us and gave us lots of tips and advice on where to go/what to see/how to get about etc., marking everything out on a map for us. Throughout the trip, both he and Chris bent over backwards to make us feel welcome and help in any way they could.

We stayed in the large Dutch room, which was at the very top of a steep flight of stairs. However, this wasn't a bother; David helped with our luggage! The room was beautifully decorated, and spotlessly clean. We had everything we needed and more. Every day when we returned from sightseeing, our bed was made, the fridge was stocked with orange juice, the tea&coffee was restocked and fresh bottles of water. Little chocolates and waffles were also left for us. Before we arrived, I had emailed to say the trip was to celebrate our anniversary; David and Chris were kind enough to provide a bottle of wine, a bunch of pink roses, chocolates and a card... really sweet of them! It was the personal touches that made the stay so comfortable and enjoyable.


The Tulip is located in the centre of everything; it was a 7-10 min walk from the central station (we took a train from airport to B&B and back again) and the furthest attraction was only a 20 min walk away! With advice and directions from David and Chris, everything was easy to find!

The location and comfort of the Tulip, as well as David and Chris' (and Loytje's) hospitality made our trip! We'll definitely be returning to Amsterdam and wouldn't think of staying anywhere but The Tulip!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed at the Tulip of Amsterdam for the first time two weeks ago and stayed in the Large Dutch (Blue) Room. The stay was a mixture of business and personal. On the business side the location could not have been better. Right in the centre of Amsterdam next to Nieumarkt and easy travelling from the Metro (30 seconds walk) to the Rai Convention Centre. David was a most gracious host who made me feel very welcome. The room was immaculately clean and all the little details such as small chocolates and syrup waffles everyday in my room with tea, coffee and cold drinks in the fridge all included.
Just when I thought that the service could not be surpassed and my wife was due to join me, David went into overdrive and made us both so very welcome even to the point of helping us contact an old friend and inviting them over to say hello as a surprise!
We are seasoned visitors to Amsterdam and feel that people that stay in hotels are really missing the true warmth of the Dutch experience.
We both felt as if we had come home! We offer our heartfelt thanks to David for our stay and have no hesitation in giving the Tulip a 5 star review - we just hope it doesnt get too popular as we intend to go back regularly :)

Room Tip: Being a typical Dutch canal house the stairs are steep and narrow. If you have mobility problems pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

What a great location, you can walk or drive a bike, if you dare anywhere. Chris and David were top notch hosts. They made suggestion for restaurants and they were all very good. You will not be dissappointed staying here, breakfast was great, especially the coffee, fresh fruit, fresh bread, eggs, cereal, juice, ingredients to make omlets. These guys were more than accommodating they were like family. Jessie and Leah

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

The location is superb, right in the middle of everything. We booked a large double room and when we saw it we were delighted, the design and look of the room was amazing with a tulip theme and every item and colour with a personal touch. The couple who run the B&B were extremely helpful and made us feel very welcome. I would definately recommend this B&B if you were plannning to take your partner away as they will be very impressed as it looks very romantic.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert_att
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip of Amsterdam B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip of Amsterdam B&B

Property: Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Address: Kloveniersburgwal 9 HS, 1011 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip of Amsterdam B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very cosy B&B located in the heart of the historic city centre. The impressive monumental house is full of charming features and has recently (2012) been renovated. The spacious and quiet guest-rooms are decorated in unique Dutch style and have an en-suite private bathroom, coffee and tea-making facilities and complimentary water and Nespresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tulip of Amsterdam B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing