We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Ranked #3 of 340 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Excellent! The location is really really perfect. The room is incredible. Decoration, cleanliness, comfort,... everything were really great! nespresso and fridge inside the own room are good ideas! Breakfast is one of the best thing! delicious and plentiful food (and with good music).Very good point to have a fridge for guests. And finally highlight the treatment of David and Chris, for their kindness, friendliness and helpfulness.

We really enjoyed our stay in this B&B! :)))

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadridJcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 448 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

I have been to Amsterdam several times and Tulip of Amsterdam B&B is by far the best place in the city to stay. The location can't be beat; its a quick walk to the train station, near the red light district (but not IN it), close to great restaurants, attractions, and anything else you need in Amsterdam.
But the location--as good as it is--isn't even the best part about this B&B. The hospitality and friendliness of the owners, Chris & David, is out of this world. They greeted us upon arrival, gave us a cold beverage, asked us what we wanted to see and do during our stay, then gave us a map and circled all the things that matched our requests. All the while their sweet kitty cat was hanging out, welcoming us to the house, too.
I haven't even gotten started with the ROOM! We reserved the large dutch room in the main building (if you don't care for or are allergic to cats, you should choose a room in the building next door). The room was immaculate and decorated so nice! The bed was super comfortable, the shower always had hot water, and the boys had every amenity you could possibly need. We LOVED the Nespresso machine! Its a must so you don't miss the late-night fun! Plus there was a fridge in the room which is always helpful.
Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. It was nice to have access to the kitchen at all times, in case we wanted a quick snack. The guys were so nice to accommodate us for breakfast outside of the normal hours, since we had to leave early to catch our flight.
I love spending time in Amsterdam and always make a stop there when I travel in Europe. I will DEFINITELY reserve a room at Tulip of Amsterdam B&B the next time I go. If you do, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: The house cat has access to the main building so if you are allergic, choose a room in the adjacent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ERoe11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We enjoyed staying here for 2 days. David is really welcoming and took time to explain us what to do and to see in the wonderful city of Amsterdam. The B&B is really close to the heart of the city and everything is reachable by foot. The room is charming and very quiet. The private bathroom is quite small but there is no way to do better in an old house like this one. Breakfast was nice (self-cooking). We would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadège E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

David runs a class operation. The location is right on a canal in the middle of where you want to be to see and do everything. Room was large, stairs were similar to climbing a ladder (but that's how all the houses are in Amsterdam), breakfast was great (stocked community fridge/kitchen). This is a house that has been standing for probably a couple hundred years, so the floors creek and there is no air conditioning, the latter typically not an issue in Amsterdam.

I'd highly recommend this BB for anyone wanting to really experience Amsterdam. Oh, and rent the bikes....its the only way to travel in town.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Charming and classy canal house in a very convenient location. Very close to all the central sites but the room was quiet. Nice continental breakfast, with "cook eggs any way you like" included. The "large Dutch room" was spacious, with a private bathroom and shower, all modern fixtures. I recently stayed in a hotel nearby, and the cost was double for a smaller room. This is a great value for an Amsterdam visit.

And David, the proprietor, was really helpful with recommendations and advice for sight seeing, shopping, etc. It was much more personable than staying at a big hotel. All in all, exactly what you would want while staying at a B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank American-in-Tokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here while attending a conference at the Beurs Van Berlage conference centre. The location is great, so close to everything. A short stroll to all the sights and great transport options, metro just on the corner, 10 min easy walk to central station. House is awesome, so quaint and thoughtfully decorated. Wonderful breakfasts. Great restaurants just downstairs. It is an old canal house (4 stories I think), so you have to expect teeny winding stairs and a little less water pressure than you would get at a hotel. but that's not why you're here! It's the chance to 'live' in the heart of Amsterdam :) You will love it here. David the host is very sweet, gentle and helpful.

Room Tip: well if you don't like stairs, ask for the one on the first floor, at least you'll only have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Youghourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Staying at the Tulip was the best part of our trip. The location was great - right off the canals and close to Centraal train station, a market, a great ice cream place and more. David was extremely nice, communicative and very flexible about when we could drop off our bags, check in etc. We stayed in the large Dutch room (which was indeed large!) with blazing fast internet access and other wonderful amenities. The self-service breakfast was amazing value (and tasty!) considering it was included in the price (which was already very affordable compared to hotels in the area - that charge extra for breakfast).

We would stay here again and will recommend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,697 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#19 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,067 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,338 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,213 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 340 in Amsterdam
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip of Amsterdam B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip of Amsterdam B&B

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 9 HS, 1011 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 340 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $119 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip of Amsterdam B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very cosy B&B located in the heart of the historic city centre. The impressive monumental house is full of charming features and has recently (2012) been renovated. The spacious and quiet guest-rooms are decorated in unique Dutch style and have an en-suite private bathroom, coffee and tea-making facilities and complimentary water and Nespresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tulip of Amsterdam B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing