We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Stop”
Review of Metropolitan

Metropolitan
Ranked #4 of 108 Coffee & Tea in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Evansville, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A Must Stop”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Great dessert stop! We had great tarts with coffee after dinner. We loved it! It's small and doesn't have much space to move around but people leave fast. We took our time and enjoyed our desserts! Try it!

Helpful?
Thank Ellada H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees R, Manager at Metropolitan, responded to this review, November 19, 2015
We're happy to hear that you've enjoyed your visit with us.
Best, team Metropolitan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    94
    19
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lazy_kitty
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best Waffles Ever”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Waffles with chocolate are so good. U must try! Located just behind dam square heading into red light district

Helpful?
Thank lazy_kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees R, Manager at Metropolitan, responded to this review, November 19, 2015
Thank you for your review! We're happy to hear that you liked our waffles covered in our home-made toppings.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Best, team Metropolitan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb!”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

This place is a must!
Best waffles ever, we have got waffles with white chocolate and caramel! Heaven and we have take some of the packed ones home.
We wanted to try their ice-cream as well but we were blown away with their waffles that we thought will get another one
Its a must try

Helpful?
Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees R, Manager at Metropolitan, responded to this review, November 19, 2015
Thank you for your great review!
All of our toppings are home-made. Next time you should try our nocciola, which is a home-made chocolate hazelnut sauce!
Hope to see you back in the future.
Best, team Metropolitan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central, NY
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great dessert spot”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for dessert and weren't disappointed. We had a waffle dipped in chocolate and a brownie and both were delicious. They also have chocolate soap, lotion etc for gifts for friends.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MMSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees R, Manager at Metropolitan, responded to this review, November 19, 2015
Thank you for leaving your review.
We're happy to hear that you've enjoyed our deli!
We hope to see you back in the future.
Best, team Metropolitan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC northern suburbs, NY
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Tasty treats in the Red Light District”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We were drawn in by the tasty looking treats and they did not disappoint! Good ice cream although I wasn't blown away as others were. My husband absolutely loved the dark chocolate cornflakes so much that we had to return for them a couple of times. All the sweets looked just yummy.
We also stopped in one morning for breakfast pastries and coffee on our way to the Centraal Station since they were open early - easy, tasty and convenient.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank themice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees R, Owner at Metropolitan, responded to this review, October 11, 2015
Thank you so much, we do love to read you like our store.

Thank you Kees Raat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metropolitan also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing