We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulously fabulous!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metropolitan

Metropolitan
Ranked #5 of 139 Coffee & Tea in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulously fabulous!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were walking along when WOW the smells from this place hit us and there really was not choice but to go in...we had waffels with chocolate and hot chocolate. Some of my favorite photos are from our time spent in the shop...the looks of pure unadulterated joy on our faces... =) the chocolate was amazingly amazing. And what fun to carve our names into the chocolate guest wall.

That was in March and I have been searchin the internt in hopes of finding it...woowhooo!! I've found it!! I so hope they will open in time for me to swing in during my four hour layover this month so I can surprise my girls with a treat from our favorite city!! SO glad I found it!!

Seriously, If you love chocolate or have only had the chocolate in the states... DO NOT miss this place. You will never be the same, in a really good way. :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveling_tlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees R, Eigenaar at Metropolitan, responded to this review, October 10, 2015
Google Translation
Wat heeft u een fijne recentie geschreven, we hopen dat u destijds nog vaker langs bent geweest en nog steeds hebt genoten van onze producten.

mvgr Kees Raat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    88
    18
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Rude service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We visited this deli twice while we vacationed in Amsterdam. During the day, my husband stepped inside to get some gelato, which he said was very good. At the time, I didn't want anything, but we decided to go back later that evening when I wanted something chocolate. I decided to get a chocolate corn flake ball (I'm not sure exactly what they're called) but before I could place my order, the girl behind the counter waited on two other people as they walked in the deli, after I'd already been standing behind the person she was waiting on! When she finally waited on me, I asked for a napkin, after she took my money, and she just walked off. She spoke English, so I'm not sure what her problem was. Super rude service, and I ended up throwing the corn flake ball away because it wasn't that great at all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deebeeinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees R, Eigenaar at Metropolitan, responded to this review, October 10, 2015
Google Translation
Ten eerste 1000 excuses dat wij niet eerder op recentie hebben gereageerd, maar wat een vervelende ervaring moet dit geweest zijn voor bij ons in de winkel.
We hebben uw ervaring destijds meegnomen in de week bespreking en hebben destijds aangegeven dat dit onacceptabel is om terug te lezen wat er was gebeurt.

Wij streven ernaar dat iedereen bij ons in de winkel 100% tevreden is.

Als u weer eens in Amsterdam bent hopen wij u te verwelkomen en natuurlijk dat u naar alle tevredenheid bij ons langs bent geweest.

mvgr Kees Raat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Indescribable! Incredible!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This place is a league all on its own! We had chocolate covered waffles, melted Nutella covered waffles, cookies, pastries and gelato! The atmosphere was also really welcoming! Very, very well-done decoration, and phenomenal treats! You must make this a priority! We went to Amsterdam with Metropolitan on our go-to list.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cjackiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees R, Eigenaar at Metropolitan, responded to this review, October 10, 2015
Google Translation
wat een ontzettende fijne recentie en wat zijn we hier blij mee, super fijn.

mvgt Kees Raat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious desserts!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

You have to get the little Dutch pancakes!! Make sure to ask for them heated up - with powdered sugar & gelato- melt in your mouth!!! Highly recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NYinFlorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees R, Eigenaar at Metropolitan, responded to this review, October 10, 2015
Google Translation
dank u wel voor deze fijne recentie we baken de poffertjes nog steeds in de winkel, en heel veel mensen waarderen dat enorm.

mvgt kees Raat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“To die for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

OmG I just fell in love with the nutella waffles and cream, simply divine, definitely will come back tomorrow and have to try heavenly dessert melts in my mouth

Helpful?
Thank joyroesma
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kees R, Eigenaar at Metropolitan, responded to this review, October 10, 2015
Google Translation
Sorrie voor deze late reactie van ons maar wat fijn dat je zo mooi over ons hebt geschreven.

mvgt Kees Raat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Metropolitan also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing