We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very good food and atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kam Kee

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kam Kee
Ranked #2,294 of 3,332 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good food and atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant was packed with local people. That is always a good sign :-) The stuff was kind. We got our food quickly which was very nice for good money. We would definitely come back any time.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across this Chinese as the other one we wanted to go in was full. This place was a pleasant surprise!! Good value for money,I think we paid less than 30 euros for 2 starters, 2 mains and 2 non alcoholic drinks. I had stir fried chicken noodles and got a plate full!! Perfect for beingbin amsterdam!! The waiter was very pleasant!!

Helpful?
Thank kate j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kam Kee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Similar name to "Nam Kee" - a few doors along - and almost as good. Good, fresh food. Served promptly. The decor could do with a face lift.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RMGBackwell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Delicious and Fast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I had the Peking duck and the fried rice with duck. Both were excellent. The portions were big. The service was fast and good - which is nice so that you do not have to spend too much time in a restaurant when in a fun city. I will return to this restaurant on return visits to Amsterdam. The restaurant is very simple and only takes cash.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent, never failed in 18 years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My husband has visited KamKee for the first time back in 1995 when he was a Post Doc in Delft University. And every time I came to visit him we went to this restaurant for an excellent and cheap meal. We have returned there for the equally perfect meal year after year. Regardless of the ascetic appearance, they serve, to my opinion, the best Chinese food in the nearhood. They proved to be excellent again this May when my husband and I were in Amsterdam for a long weekend. We had steamed oysters in black bean sauce-do try them, they are enormous and obliviously nice.A dozen seemed a good choice before they brought it-these were the largest oysters I' ve ever seen! We also had frog legs in black bean sauce-nothing special, too much fried pastry, and Gon Bao Peking Duck ( this is fried duck in a hot soya sauce)-this one was just delicious. Plus 5 Chinese beers -altogether 80 euro... I wish we had this kind of restaurants back home!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AllaMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kam Kee also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Kam Kee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing