We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean? Not so much.”
Review of Hotel Museum Lane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Museum Lane
Ranked #344 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Do you respect yourself? Is cleanliness important to you? If so, stay elsewhere. I don't ask that they dust the room after every stay, but, once a week would be nice. Bring an extra pair of socks to wear in the room and an extra shirt to use as a pillow cover. Don't even think about sitting down anywhere. The shower curtain had mold on it... Last I checked, this was not healthy. In the United States, this place would be closed by the Health Department. On a positive note, the location is great which works out since you can't wait to leave right after you walk in.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 707 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

Had booked a room with showers in the room. They had 2 rooms with showers. One behind the reception (and prone to noice from the reception). The other one in the cellar which we took. And then we had the noice from the kitchen from early in the morning. Very warm room and even with the window open all too warm for a good sleep

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richardt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The hotel itself is nothing fancy, but if you want to spend whole day enjoying Amsterdam, this is the spot for you. It is really close to all the main attractions and public transportation. As the other contributors mentioned, it has very steep stairs. The staff is friendly and willing to help. The price of the room is the main reason I will not complain about its size and cleanliness. If I ever go back to Amsterdam I will be back at this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JacobBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Zoltan V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and found the hotel a pleasant surprise. It was excellent value for money and so I wasn't expecting more than a bed and somewhere to keep our things. What we found was a lovely room with an amazing view. A shared bathroom and kitchenette. Which we found very useful for a quick snack. The only fault isn't really a fault more a friendly tip. If you can't manage a few flights of very steep stairs then this isn't the place for you. We counted 60 steps to our room some of which were a bit scary but it added to the fun vibe of our trip to make a game of it. If you're on bikes it's a great location for those on foot it's a bit of a walk to the main tourist areas but across the street from the museums.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I went in Amsterdam for two days and booked this wonderful hotel. I reserved for a twin room with private bathroom. The room was essential but clean and with all the comforts.
This hotel was the best choice we could have done: it was next to the most important museums of the city, not far from Vondelpark and just two minutes far from Leidseplein, the part of city with the best cafès, restaurants, shops; moreover it was very easy to move from the hotel to any destination in Amsterdam thanks to the tramway stop.
The receptionists were kind and helping, we spent beautiful minutes by speaking with Lidia, the receptionist who welcomed us. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Thank you!!! If we will be back in Amsterdam we will for sure book again in this hotel.

Room Tip: Book the room with the private bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend recently stayed here on a long weekend break. The location itself is really great....right beside the rijksmuseum, van gogh museum and the lively areas of leidesplein and rembrantplein. The staff were helpful over the course of our stay and pleasant to deal with. The room itself (a deluxe double) was quite clean and there was a lovely view of the rijksmuseum and an excellent shower. However there was a vaguely unpleasant smell coming from the bathroom....I think this may have been due to the extractor fan not working....not good in a bathrooom with no window. The towels are exceptionally small which perhaps is the norm in holland but is personally a pet peeve. Also due to the fact that we faced onto the street there was some issue with noise at night as the hotel seems to be on the main thorough fare to the hospital and the ambulances are fond of blaring their sirens irrespective of the time of night.
The stairs are exceptionally steep but we had read that and as we had only hand luggage it wasn't such a big deal......I would definitely not recommend for those who may have restricted mobility or if you have masses of luggage. In the room the wifi reception was sporadic at best and seemed to work optimally in the lobby. Overall considering the price I still think this hotel offers value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing onto the street for a view of the museum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blaithin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#276 of 373 in Amsterdam
745 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#309 of 373 in Amsterdam
376 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#272 of 373 in Amsterdam
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#305 of 373 in Amsterdam
484 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#307 of 373 in Amsterdam
498 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#268 of 373 in Amsterdam
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Museum Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museum Lane

Address: Weteringschans 67, 1017 RX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Art Gallery Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #344 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $70 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Museum Lane 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Museum Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Art Gallery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing