We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B and B”
Review of Le Quartier Sonang

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Quartier Sonang
Ranked #1 of 337 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was my first visit to Amsterdam and our friends chose 'Le Quartier Sonang' for our two night stay. On arrival, Oki received us warmly with a welcome cup of tea, maps and lot of information about the local area and Amsterdam. Our room was perfect, the balcony and windows make the room very light and it was very pleasant to have a quick drink on the balcony before we went out for dinner. The bed was extremely comfortable and we slept really well, my husband also loved the Coco Mat complimentary slippers, the bathroom was large and very modern. Oki came to our room each morning with a beautiful breakfast tray. The location of 'Le Quartier Sonang' is excellent just a little outside the main city in a quiet residential area, but only about 20 minutes walk into the centre and tourist attractions. Thank–you Oli and Frank for creating such an oasis of calm to return to each day and for your wonderful hospitality, we plan to return.

Room Tip: both rooms are great
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
There are newer reviews for Le Quartier Sonang
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 523 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

I tend to be very sceptical about reviews I read online. However, in the case of Le Quartier Sonang all of the reviews are true - it is an amazing B & B and if you want a great place to stay and a great host you must stay here! Oki received us with open arms and gave us some great hints for places to see and local restaurants. He also surprised us with a bottle of champagne for our anniversary! If you want to stay in a great neighbourhood that is very close to everything, but quiet at night time this should be your first choice! Thanks again for the amazing service!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank thepicnicpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We made an excellent choice in choosing 'Le Quartier Sonang' for our three night trip to Amsterdam. After flight delays in London Oki and Frank received us with a warm welcome despite being late at night. They immediately made us feel comfortable, relaxed, and right at home. The bottle of wine was exactly what we needed!

We loved the room - Chambre de Ville. This has a real open spacious feel, with a gorgeous balcony and huge windows to let the light pour in. The bed is amazingly comfortable and made for a great nights sleep. The bathroom is modern and the rainfall shower is truly refreshing. It's the other intricate details which made the room great. We loved the fresh flowers, the nespresso coffee machine, the guide books, and the comfy chairs. The fridge proved really useful for storing our cheese and wine! Oki provided an amazing fresh breakfast each day to the room at our set time. This was a great way to start the day!

The location of 'Le Quartier Sonang' is perfect. It has a real sense of community, with great restaurants and a supermarket. It was 15 minutes walk to Anne Frank house, Heineken, and the museums. It was a leisurely 30 minute walk to the Red Light District. It also felt really safe when walking home at night. Oki and Frank provided ample information on the sights, and their restaurant recommendations were spot on.

We cannot thank you enough for your warm hospitality and we have never felt so welcome and comfortable in a bed and breakfast. From the first contact through to booking and arrival Oki and Frank were so helpful. It was like our little apartment in the middle of a gorgeous city. Keep up the good work! Look forward to seeing you again.

Room Tip: Either room! Both are great!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank pipeandslippers2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

My husband and I from Australia and 2 friends from the UK stayed with Oki & Frank for 4 nights last May and had absolute 5 star treatment from the beginning to the end of our stay - nothing was too much trouble. The location was ideal within easy walking distance of the city and close to restaurants and cafes. The breakfast was delicious, the rooms spacious and spotlessly clean and the bed............... well all I can say is getting up in the mornings and leaving that gloriously comfortable bed was very difficult indeed! We would definitely stay there again and have recommended Le Quartier Sonang to all our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank AnnS1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The location of Le Quartier Sonang was perfect for us. We walked to all the points of interest with no problem. It was in a lovely quiet street but so close to everything. Out hosts were brilliant! Frank's very thorough orientation chat of the city was invaluable. Oki's lovely breakfast tray was a wonderful start to the morning. The room was beautiful and the attention to detail was impressive. This was our first visit to Amsterdam and our stay with Frank and Oki helped to make Amsterdam one of the highlights of our 5 week holiday. It was by far the most memorable accommodation we stayed in on our trip.
Thanks Frank and Oki! We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beentravlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

My companion and I were winding up a 9 day African Safari and planned to decompress in Amsterdam for a couple days before returning to the US. The LeQuartier Sonang was perfect for us! Oki and Frank were both previously in the hotel business and knew exactly how to tap their experience into making a lovely Bed and Breakfast environment for their guests. They are Amsterdam knowledgeable and can give you insider tips to enhance your visit. The B & B is pristine and modern with a cloud like bed. The location is in the trendy museum district and within walking distance of everything. Every morning we had an awesome homemade breakfast delivered and set up in our room! Oki and Frank are the perfect hosts who make sure all their guests needs are met and ensure their Amsterdam experience is a memorable one! We have friends visiting Amsterdam next year and we've already told them they have to stay at LeQuartier Sonang and they are looking forward to it!! R. McDonald

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a streetside view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Oki and Frank, sorry this took forever! We did some internet detox in S.France :-)

We went to Amsterdam as a mini pitstop before flying to S.France for a friend's wedding. And my god... were we so happy we had done so, especially with Le Quartier Sonang. I loved the little touches of Indonesia Oki used to decorate. Every little thought that made us felt at home was thought of, the cute notes left for us, including the little 30th birthday surprise, shows off the care Oki and Frank puts into this B&B. We love the insider's down-low on the city and places to see/go from the moment we arrived. And the B&B is located in a lovely neighborhood, within walkable distance to museums, parks, shops, and eateries. We will certainly revisit Amsterdam as 3 days was not enough. And if we do, we'll definitely stay here again. Thank you to you both for making our stay even more memorable.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Pae G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,608 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,322 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,745 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Sonang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Sonang

Address: Derde Helmersstraat 47A-Hs, 1054 BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $161 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Le Quartier Sonang’ is a peaceful, quiet townhouse in the most popular district of Amsterdam. The two luxury mini suites at the first floor in this 19th century original townhouse are located in the middle of the museum, fashion and theatre district and only five minutes’ walk from the Canal Ring. The Canal Ring was awarded UNESCO World Heritage status in 2010 and to this day, the city’s biggest celebrations such as King’s Day and Gay Pride take place on the canals. ‘Le Quartier Sonang’ is a true lifestyle B&B where hospitality does not spring from duty but only from kindness… We look forward to meeting you in the near future... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing