We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Our Best B&B Experience. Period!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Quartier Sonang

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Quartier Sonang
Save
You added Le Quartier Sonang to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Our Best B&B Experience. Period!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

It's all about the little things.

Oki and Frank made our stay so special by providing insider information, surrounding us with fresh flowers, and giving us special things that just put them over the top in making a wonderfully comfortable visit. The location is terrific, the rooms are great, as many have noted, but it is the little extras that made this such a great experience for us. We recommend Le Quartier Sonang without exception. We would return in a minute. The very best!

Room Tip: Just e-mail your hosts. They are excellent communicators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck&Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsTravellers, Owner at Le Quartier Sonang, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Susan & Chuck,
It's so nice to have received the 200th review for our BED & Breakfast from you, our longest staying guests ever! It has been a natural pleasure for us to make your visit so special and we hope to meet you one day in the future. Thanks again for staying with us.
Warmest regards,
Oki & Frank.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
331
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
159 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

As we continue our travels and our journey, we can't help thinking that our second visit to Amsterdam was still too short.

This time, after reviewing various places on Trip Advisor and researching our options we decided to stay at #LeQuartierSonang a B&B run by Frank and Oki on Helmersstraat.

Even though you read many reviews to get an appreciation of where you will be staying, there's always a fear you didn't get it right. It happens. Luckily we leave Le Quartier Sonang with rave reviews.

This B&B is located in a residential area, and still close to many great options for sight seeing and dining. Multiple trams and buses are within a few minutes of walking.

Oki greeted us when we first arrived and after pouring a glass of wine for me and soda for the hubby, he went over maps of the area before taking us to our room.

There are two rooms there and we opted for the courtyard view and were glad we did. The room faces a courtyard where the surrounding houses all 4 and 5 stories high, have part of their homes facing the courtyard. Imagine a box with windows and balconies on the inside facing each other.

The cool breeze in the morning and at night even in April, lent itself to cracking the door open and opening the drapes. At times you would hear a faraway cry from a child, a singing bird here and there but otherwise very quiet and serene. The bed was comfortable and the bath modern and convenient. Even the TV had more English channels than we are used to getting with some of the higher end hotels we stay at.

And the breakfast! When you arrive, Oki asks when you would like breakfast starting from. 8:30 am. As early risers we picked 8:30 and everyday at 8:30 Oki knocked at the door smiling and carrying a tray full of fresh food.

Crossiants, great brown nutty bread, jams, fresh juice, cheese, butter, chocolate - sprinkles too! And let's not forget freshly cut fruit that varied daily. Imagine tacking on a room service bill for this breakfast? But if course it's included!

Wifi? Of course. This saves you more money and allowed me to post pictures for family and friends, research the next days activities and more. And there isn't a separate charge.

These guys know the B&B business. Customer satisfaction is their goal and they do a good job making it happen. Frank got online for us and booked us travel and entrance to Keukenhof, a big thing here during April and May, since it is prime tulip season.

They offered us ideas about local eateries and I will post reviews on them shortly.

While we still walked 6 and 7 miles each day, we gave ourselves plenty of time to hang out in the room with a glass of wine and just relax. It felt homey and warm.

The old house creaked and we loved it. A true Amsterdam experience and that Oki - what a cutie, an all around great host along with Frank.

We hope to return again some day.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joanne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

if you plan your dream trip to Amsterdam you should definitely stay at Le Quartier Sonang. Great room. Quiet. Comfy bed. Clean bathroom. Lovely furnishing. Excellent breakfast and last but not least the B&B owners - Oki and Frank who make your stay perfect :-).An unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magda_Qd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayern
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

If you prefer the anonymity of a grand hotel with a large pool, business center and 24 hours room service please don't bother these two gentlemen. But if you care for little details as they do (like fresh flowers with breakfast every morning), thoughtful furnishings, a lovely neighbourhood and personal recommendations for activities and restaurants don't look out for any other place to stay in Amsterdam. Le quartier Sonang just can't be beaten. In fact this must be the place where true hospitality was invented...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reisechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband had booked this absolutely charming B & B for my birthday week-end. In fact I would call it a Boutique Luxury B & B. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed with a warm and friendly Frank with a glass of wine. He gave us a map and some fantastic recommendations for places to eat and drink which we followed and were not disappointed. The room we were given was absolutely charming, luxurious, spotlessly clean and very tastefully decorated. All the little personal touches were so special. When Frank & Oki found out it was my birthday we came home after our 1st night to a bottle of bubbly in our fridge and chocolates and a wee note on our pillows, so sweet of them. The breakfasts are to die for, both healthy and delicious, Oki is champion boiled egg maker! Both Frank & Oki want to give their guests the best possible experience and we did! Lovely comfy bed too! The B & B is in a fabulous area which is in a lovely quiet residential area and close to many tourist attractions. We would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Amsterdam for a very special experience. Thank you Frank & Oki, Katharine & Walker xx

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowGirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

It is true to say that, with the Trip Advisor gradings, expectations must be very high, but it is also the case that what is on offer is very very good. Oki and Frank have obviously worked very hard to refurbish the rooms to a very high standard. Breakfast is excellent (and I'm still trying to work out how Oki managed to deliver a boiled egg on one morning that was perfectly cooked, something that most hotels etc can't manage). The breakfast is obviously the product of considerable care & thought, and this is reflectedn in the whole product. Two things though (and to be fair it's something that the proprietors can't really affect); first the stairs are steep. This is common, as far as I could see, with Dutch houses. Second, the walls and ceilings aren't that thick so you can get some spillover of noise from adjacent properties or the flat above. This is a fact of life, I suspect, for Amsterdam, but I think that if anything the room at the front is a bit quieter than the one at the back. But don't let this put you off; this is a quiet neighbourhood only 10 minutes walk to one of the main tourist areas. The bed is exceedingly comfortable. And trust the recommendations for local eating places given to you by Oki and Frank: they know what they are talking about.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SussexCobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

After reading the reviews here we had very high expectations. We are pleased to report that these were easily surpassed. Frank and Oki were excellent hosts from the moment we arrived.

Breakfast in our room was a real treat, with different fresh fruit every day and fresh bread and croissants too. Our breakfast table had a different flower on it every day, which was a lovely touch.

The room was very comfortable, with plenty of space to relax, a wonderful bed and modern bathroom. The location was in a quiet neighbourhood close to the museums. We followed Frank and Oki's recommendations for restaurants and enjoyed excellent meals.

The three days in Amsterdam passed all too quickly, due in no small part to Le Quartier Sonang.

Thank You!

Ray and Bridget

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0nd0nRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,280 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 547 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 904 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Sonang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Sonang

Property: Le Quartier Sonang
Address: Derde Helmersstraat 47A-Hs, 1054 BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Le Quartier Sonang’ is a peaceful, quiet townhouse in the most popular district of Amsterdam. The two luxury mini suites at the first floor in this 19th century original townhouse are located in the middle of the museum, fashion and theatre district and only five minutes’ walk from the Canal Ring. The Canal Ring was awarded UNESCO World Heritage status in 2010 and to this day, the city’s biggest celebrations such as King’s Day and Gay Pride take place on the canals. ‘Le Quartier Sonang’ is a true lifestyle B&B where hospitality does not spring from duty but only from kindness… We look forward to meeting you in the near future... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing