We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”
Review of Le Quartier Sonang

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Quartier Sonang
Ranked #1 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed for four nights in January in the front room Chambre de Ville - you couldn't ask for more welcoming and friendly hosts than Frank and Oki. Everything is perfect, the location (quiet but surprisingly close to the city), the room, the bed, breakfast in bed, and such good value. We've stayed in other B and B's of similar quality (well, almost as good) and paid far more. And Amsterdam is such a wonderful city to visit. So a total recommendation from us

Room Tip: We stayed in Chambre de Ville which was perfect, overlooking the very quiet street, but I'm sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagicRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 545 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Le Quartier Sonang for a few days prior to flying to Africa. Frank and Oki are wonderful hosts- friendly AND informative. We took their recommendations for places to eat near the B&B, and all were wonderful. The bed is the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The breakfast is also a great deal- with fresh squeezed juice. I'd definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ili2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We recently spent two nights at Le Quartier Sonang. Our hosts were professional and friendly. The very fresh & yummy breakfast was brought up to our room at the time we requested . What's not to like about breakfast in bed???We loved the fresh fruit! The bed was super-comfy. And the shower was beautiful! Our room was peaceful and quiet and centrally located, so we could walk everywhere that we wanted to go. We took the bus from the airport, and we never needed to rent a car or use a taxi. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BjornvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our taxi took us directly from our ship to the quiet neighborhood and in an old section of Amsterdam. Frank spent as much time as we wanted reviewing our plans and locations of events. We never needed a taxi until we went to the airport three days later. Everything was within a walk.
Tableside breakfast was on time and delicious every morning. Oki and Frank were constantly available to check in or help run an errand or make reccommendations.
The bathroom in our room was generous size, smartly appointed and well designed. A genuine PLUS!
We only had 3 days, there are weeks worth of things to see and do.

Room Tip: No wrong decisions
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJK69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This gem in the heart of Amsterdam is THE place to stay. I visited this cosy and inviting townhouse for a short stay in midst December. The best choice I could have made! - thanks to 3 things: 1) The welcoming hosts, Oki and Frank, instantly make you feel at home and pamper you like no 5 star hotel ever could. Imagine a gracious continental breakfast decorated with a fresh flower brought to your room in the morning; a scent of Indonesian easy going life-style in the air. More reason to praise the hosts there is, but let me continue: 2) The traditional architecture of this typical Amsterdam townhouse in the Grachten quarter is a cultural experience in itself; you may feel like a true Dutch: Ah, that's how those canal houses look like inside. The ambiente of the furniture and decoration is a tasteful mix of modern and collected antique or collected items. And this place is spotlessly clean. And the precious Coco mattress!: It's for a prince/princess to sleep on: royal! The ensuite bathroom: deluxe! We had the luck to stay in the courtyard-room: spacious and very calm. 3) The location: You stay in the center center of Amsterdam in walking distance to all those sights you certainly have on your agenda: The famous canal/grachten quarter, the Rijks and Van Gogh Museum, the Palace and and and. 5 minutes from the guesthouse are nice, small and good restaurants/bistros. Also, public transport is around the corner. - I surely will come back here next time. Meanwhile it's your turn to enjoy Le Ouartier Sonang and beautiful Amsterdam! Ey, no wonder it's travelers' 1st. choice :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeijingCalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We love the experience we receive when we stay at this wonderful haven in Amsterdam. This is our second visit due to the care and comfort of our hosts. The attention to detail is why this place is so special. The bed is simply the best we have ever slept in and you receive a lovely welcome tray of breakfast to your room. Fresh flowers appear in your room and chocolates on your bed when they do a turn down service every night. It is in a great location with some lovely restaurants close by. Frank and Oki are very helpful guides to give you

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyeireEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Thanks to Frank and Oki, our first trip to Amsterdam was superb. Your help and guidance on arrival was a great way to start our holiday. We could not have wished for a better location, so accessible in which to explore the city and surrounding countryside.The room and service was amazing and the breakfast was an absolute treat, which we looked forward to every morning. We will definitely be returning

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dermot O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,960 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,669 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
#3 of 338 in Amsterdam
446 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 338 in Amsterdam
928 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Museum Suites
Museum Suites
#5 of 338 in Amsterdam
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Sonang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Sonang

Address: Derde Helmersstraat 47A-Hs, 1054 BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $159 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Le Quartier Sonang’ is a peaceful, quiet townhouse in the most popular district of Amsterdam. The two luxury mini suites at the first floor in this 19th century original townhouse are located in the middle of the museum, fashion and theatre district and only five minutes’ walk from the Canal Ring. The Canal Ring was awarded UNESCO World Heritage status in 2010 and to this day, the city’s biggest celebrations such as King’s Day and Gay Pride take place on the canals. ‘Le Quartier Sonang’ is a true lifestyle B&B where hospitality does not spring from duty but only from kindness… We look forward to meeting you in the near future... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing