We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every detail was perfect!”
Review of Le Quartier Sonang

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Quartier Sonang
Ranked #1 of 337 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at Le Quartier Sonang! Frank and Oki's hospitality was second to none. Everything was perfect from the warm reception, to the kind send-off. The room and breakfast were great. Frank also gave is several recommendations that proved to be well deserved. The location was perfect as well. If we ever come back to Amsterdam (and I sure hope that we do), we will be sure to stay here again. Chris & Jacqueline Arizona USA

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdbphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
There are newer reviews for Le Quartier Sonang
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 523 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

My partner and I stayed here in Sept 2012, and it we were really pleased with our stay. Frank and Oki are wonderful hosts. They gave us lots of helpful information when we arrived, and if you needed anything they are very approachable. The room looked exactly like the website, and are finished to a very high standard. if this was a hotel then it would be five stars. The area is lovely, on a beautiful leafy street within easy walking distance to the center. It is very safe at night. Breakfast was lovely, fresh orange juice, fruit and croissants ect. There was plenty and it set us up well for the day. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and my partner often mentions going back!!! Dorry it took so long to write up our feed back, but your lovely xmas card you sent us reminded me. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bambilive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

we spent four nights in Oki and Frank's place and we did enjoy our staying. Everything was perfect and the kindness and respect of both Oki and Frank helped us to feel at home.
All the information we needed were there waiting for us as soon as we enter the door. The house is neat, elegant, and really clean. The bed is more than comfortable, and the breakfast is really good, healthy and fresh. And always flowers around, as if Spring is there 12 months a year.
We will miss you both, and we do hope to come back, Laura and Don

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 16laura59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed staying here. The house is in a safe and easy location within walking distance of the city. Bus service to and from airport not too far away. Frank and Oki are great hosts, always friendly and helpful. The room was beautifully furnished and the breakfast tray brought to the room was delicious. Even when we had to leave very early to get a flight Oki did our breakfast for us with the usual high quality and bright smile. Their attention to detail was second to none and the wonderful bed is one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. We are now trying to work out when we can go again ! It was a little more difficult to book than the usual methods but it was well worth it and the stairs up to the rooms are very steep but you get this in most of the original Amsterdam buildings. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluestraveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We've spent two days at Le Quartier Sonang. We could tell that Oki and Frank were really devoted to make their B&B an unforgettable experience for the travellers. The room was elegantly decorated with a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was delicious. We would definitely recommend it to friends who plan to visit Amsterdam.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lynn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Termi kasih. Hartelijk bedankt. It has been the best decision we have made. 5 Stars is not enough. We stayed 3 nights and we wanted to stay longer.

The attention to detail, hospitality and comfort is absolutely amazing. Businesses should take note, as Oki and Frank have mastered the art of hospitality. What makes LQS the best is that it just IS. You will understand it as soon as you walk through their door. Their restaurant recommendations are top-notch.

We stayed in our room more than we expected. It was just very relaxing and comfortable.
We would take walks and see the sights, come back for some hot tea and a little rest in the room during the afternoon. We then venture our for dinner (there are various restaurants close by).

It was just great to lay back and enjoy the serene, beautiful and cozy environment that Oki and Frank have established. Their B&B utilizes eco-consious and sustainable materials.

You can read all these reviews of what Oki and Frank has done. I have one more thing to add under the "attention to detail". They even provided a "tea steeping" 3 minute hourglass timer. REALLY. They are that great.

A Heartfelt thank you. Terima kasih, Oki and Frank for making our anniversary an absolute special one.

Room Tip: Any room. Book ASAP. They only have 2 rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiglao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We have recently spent 3 nights at Le Quartier Sonang and have no intention of staying anywhere else when we return to Amsterdam. The genuine friendliness and warmth extended throughout our stay by Oki and Frank exceeded all our expectations. The location is perfect, our room was excellent with the most comfortable 'cloud' bed providing us with some of the best sleep ever. Oki and Frank's knowledge of Amsterdam and their recommendations for dining out are first class. Amsterdam is a beautiful city and Le Quartier is a fantastic place to stay. We can't wait until our next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon-and-Garry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,608 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,322 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,744 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Sonang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Sonang

Address: Derde Helmersstraat 47A-Hs, 1054 BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $161 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Le Quartier Sonang’ is a peaceful, quiet townhouse in the most popular district of Amsterdam. The two luxury mini suites at the first floor in this 19th century original townhouse are located in the middle of the museum, fashion and theatre district and only five minutes’ walk from the Canal Ring. The Canal Ring was awarded UNESCO World Heritage status in 2010 and to this day, the city’s biggest celebrations such as King’s Day and Gay Pride take place on the canals. ‘Le Quartier Sonang’ is a true lifestyle B&B where hospitality does not spring from duty but only from kindness… We look forward to meeting you in the near future... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing