We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly lives up to its promise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Quartier Sonang

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Quartier Sonang
Ranked #1 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Truly lives up to its promise”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Le Quartier Sonang sets the bar high, far surpassing prior stays we've had at b&bs in North America. Set in a quiet location with the Jordaan and Nine Streets districts in very close walking distance, Le Quartier Sonang has many things going for it: modern and stylish amenities and furnishings, the comfiest bed that blessed me with my first uninterrupted sleep in a long time, and a fine attention to detail- from the in-room Nespresso to the slippers we were gifted with. Our hosts Oki and Frank kindly spent time with us going over the sites of Amsterdam, helping us make the most of our 2-day stay. Whenever our travels take us back to Amsterdam, we will most definitely return to Le Quartier Sonang.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise_and_Jonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
375
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

There are many reasons this fine establishment consistently receives the highest rankings from virtually every visitor.
Oki and Frank personify kind hospitality. They could not have been more gracious,friendly, helpful and welcoming during our memorable 3 day visit.
This and every other five star ranking they have received are totally appropriate and well deserved.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JARutledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife and I spent five nights at Le Quartier Sonang in October: two nights on the front end, a four night trip to Belgium in between, and then another three nights at Le Quartier on the back end of our trip. Returning for the second stay felt exactly like coming home because Oki and Frank made us feel that comfortable and welcome. To the many kudos posted by the other reviewers, we would add that these lovely and clean accommodations are very quiet thanks to Oki and Frank’s attention to detail that includes soundproofing. For a memorable Rijstaffel, let Oki make dinner reservations for you at Tempo Doeloe. No matter what kind of traveler you are, this is THE PLACE to stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
214 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This was my first visit to Amsterdam and I went with the tripadvisor ratings in choosing this B&B for out two night stay. Actually, it was even better than expected. This small (two rooms) property is on a quiet street within easy walking distance to the major museums and a few blocks from the trolley. We arrived by train and immediately bought three day trolley passes which turned out to be a great idea, as we were able to travel about at will without additional expense. Upon arrival, Frank and Oki spent time with us, giving us a map and showing us the places of interest. They continued to be around when needed and were extremely helpful. The room was great. We had the room in the front, overlooking the street, but the location is so quiet that it wasn't a problem. The bed was comfortable and the room was spacious and included a flat screen tv and a nespresso machine. A lovely breakfast was served in the room each day. The bathroom was spotless and modern. We couldn't have been more pleased and will definitely stay here when we return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room here. Do not hesitate to book this B & B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coeurdelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Our stay at Le Quartier Sonang was indeed quite pleasurable. 5 nights of comfort thanks to the hosts (Oki and Frank), the offerings of the place and the perfect location.

The location - properly situated in a quiet residential area close to main attractions and transportation. The place is less than a 5 minute walk to almost everything: the tram stops, restaurants, and stores (both shopping and groceries). The location makes sites in Amsterdam easily accessible.

The place - the bedroom is perfectly sized for two people. We chose the room facing the courtyard - Kamar Bidadari - it was extremely quiet. We were very comfortable with the space. It is warmly decorated with tasteful flavor. Small fridge capable of holding bottled liquids, two chairs and a table, a lounging chair, flat screen tv, Nespresso machine. The balcony has sufficient room for two people - it was quite relaxing to sit outside during the cool October weather. The bathroom is one of the best my wife and I have seen - heated floors, very clean, strong water pressure, water temps adjustable to whatever you desire, fixtures up to date with modern flare - very nice! Breakfast is served promptly by Oki. A healthy tray of croissants, butter, cream cheese, jam, fruits, yogurt and juice, all these always properly adorned with fresh flowers in a vase. After a day's tour of the the town, a sweet surprise greeted us daily upon our return - pieces of chocolate on the very comfortable coco bed.

The hosts - extremely warm, very helpful and full of information on Amsterdam and the nearby areas. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Oki then by Frank, both of which provided plentiful information on good restaurants, access to transportation, maps, and brochures of Amsterdam. We mentioned what we wanted to do and they immediately had suggestions and recommendations on how to get there. My wife and I wanted to see Kasteel de Haar - a castle more than an hour away from Amsterdam. Frank provided accurate information on trains and bus number(s) to get to the castle. Each day, they would check if we needed anything for our next day activities. They would go out of their way to provide information - if they didn't know, they would find out. An example of the hosts' attentiveness to the needs of their guests - one evening we came home with a bottle of wine and some beer only to realize we did not have anything to open them with. The next evening, upon our return, wine glasses, and a bottle opener were provided - we didn't have to ask. Their hospitality is the best compared to all the other Bed and Breakfast places we have been to. We cannot express our gratitude for such a commendable job Oki and Frank did (do) as hosts. We arrived in Amsterdam as vacationists - we left feeling like we were leaving good friends. That's how Oki and Frank made us feel - welcomed to the utmost degree.

If and when we do return to the Netherlands and Amsterdam, we will surely stay here again - no doubts or questions asked!

Room Tip: Steps to the room(s) can be quite steep for some. Just take your time going up or down. Such is li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coulsdon, Surrey
Level Contributor
212 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is not just any B&B, this is the top-rated B&B in Amsterdam! All the excellent reviews are well deserved and my husband and I are happy to add another after spending two nights here.
Easy to reach by bus from the airport and well located for the museums and the lovely 'Nine Streets' area, yet tucked away in a quiet residential street, you feel less like a tourist, more like a local.
What makes this B&B so special though, is the warm welcome of the owners, Frank and Oki, whose hospitality and thoughtfulness are outstanding. The attention to detail is apparent from the excellent website right through to the rooms themselves.
Our room, Kamar Bidadari, was bright, comfortable and spotlessly clean and had a balcony which must be a real sun trap earlier in the year. The beautiful bathroom is spacious with quality fittings, under floor heating and lovely, fluffy towels. There is a fridge, kettle and Nespresso coffee machine, so you can make your own coffee or tea to go with your breakfast which is brought to your room at a time of your choosing between 8.30 and 11am. Oki does the breakfasts which are so nicely presented - along with the freshly squeezed orange juice, dark Dutch bread and croissants there is thick, Greek yoghurt with fresh fruit, prepared and decorated with mint sprigs, and there are always fresh flowers on the tray - and in the room. When you return in the evening, curtains have been drawn, lamps lit, dirty cups washed and put away and chocolates left on the pillows. I did find that the bedside lamps were hard to read by, but the bed is so ultra-comfortable that you are asleep before you've turned a page anyway!
Frank and Oki give you all the information you need about their lovely city as well as recommendations for restaurants. We liked De Italiaan which is only 5 minutes away, and The Seafood Bar which is only a little further.
We love Amsterdam and we love Frank and Oki! Looking forward to our next visit...

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely - Chambre de Ville looks onto the street and is slightly larger with two easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taxidiotissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2013

i have to start this review by telling you i never wanted to really go to amsterdam! my bf talked me into it. i had a lot of preconceived ideas of what amsterdam would be... and i am here to tell you. nothing like what i expected. what a brilliant city... of course i love it. they love the color orange.. i have orange hair!LOL<<<one of the main reasons is i did my homework and managed to find oki and frank here on trip advisor. i pride myself on doing thorough research when i do travel and all i can say is" god! i'm good! lol what a great location. beautiful street i felt like i was more of a local in this neighborhood. very easy to access musuems we walked everywhere and when we didnt their trams are close by and easy to figure out. i have to say i miss amsterdam i would like to go back in the spring time. october was a bit wet. that was the only minor glitch. i absolutely loved the boys home. i enjoyed the heated bathroom floor. bed was very comfortable and it was very quiet. sooo many beautiful flowers in their house.. very sweet and helpful and not overbearing but really enjoyed meeting and staying in youre lovely home! miss you xoxo see you soon!!!

Room Tip: any of their rooms would be wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanneiam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
2,488 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,170 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
873 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
998 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Sonang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Sonang

Property: Le Quartier Sonang
Address: Derde Helmersstraat 47A-Hs, 1054 BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Le Quartier Sonang’ is a peaceful, quiet townhouse in the most popular district of Amsterdam. The two luxury mini suites at the first floor in this 19th century original townhouse are located in the middle of the museum, fashion and theatre district and only five minutes’ walk from the Canal Ring. The Canal Ring was awarded UNESCO World Heritage status in 2010 and to this day, the city’s biggest celebrations such as King’s Day and Gay Pride take place on the canals. ‘Le Quartier Sonang’ is a true lifestyle B&B where hospitality does not spring from duty but only from kindness… We look forward to meeting you in the near future... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing