We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Quartier Sonang

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Quartier Sonang
Ranked #2 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

i have to start this review by telling you i never wanted to really go to amsterdam! my bf talked me into it. i had a lot of preconceived ideas of what amsterdam would be... and i am here to tell you. nothing like what i expected. what a brilliant city... of course i love it. they love the color orange.. i have orange hair!LOL<<<one of the main reasons is i did my homework and managed to find oki and frank here on trip advisor. i pride myself on doing thorough research when i do travel and all i can say is" god! i'm good! lol what a great location. beautiful street i felt like i was more of a local in this neighborhood. very easy to access musuems we walked everywhere and when we didnt their trams are close by and easy to figure out. i have to say i miss amsterdam i would like to go back in the spring time. october was a bit wet. that was the only minor glitch. i absolutely loved the boys home. i enjoyed the heated bathroom floor. bed was very comfortable and it was very quiet. sooo many beautiful flowers in their house.. very sweet and helpful and not overbearing but really enjoyed meeting and staying in youre lovely home! miss you xoxo see you soon!!!

Room Tip: any of their rooms would be wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanneiam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
356
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Le Quartier Sonang is your home away from home. It is in a quiet residential neighborhood within walking distance of the museums and the Jordan and Nine Streets. Frank and Oki treat you like old friends, which is so wonderful when you are traveling. The rooms are both fantastic, one looking out on the street, the other on a garden. They have thought of everything from the very comfortable bed and pillows, heated bathroom floors and towels, coffee and tea in the room, to the delicious breakfasts served in the room. Our every need was met at every part of our 3 day stay. Frank and Oki, thank you so much for your hospitality. We look forward to returning to Le Quartier Sonang the next time we are in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie
Level Contributor
265 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying with Frank and Oki in late August, as the first stay on our long holiday through Europe and Turkey. After a long flight from Australia, Frank and Oki were waiting with offers of drinks and welcoming advice on all the best things to see and do in Amsterdam. As detailed in all the proceeding reviews, the neighbourhood was quiet and safe, our room Kamar Bidadari was excellent and spotlessly clean, great modern bathroom, the breakfasts prepared by Oki were varied and superb, and the warm and animated chats with both gentlemen became a daily highlight of our stay. Le Quartier Sonang should certainly rate as the no. 1 B&B in Amsterdam, because I doubt anything could be better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Austravel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Coming upon a unique place like Le Quartier Sonang is one of the reasons I use Trip Advisor. We arrived in Amsterdam and were delighted to find we were staying in an attractive neighborhood in a non-tourist area. An area that was still very convenient to everything, particularly Museumplein. We received a warm welcome from Frank and Oki. It was so helpful to have them start out by sitting us down and presenting us with a map of the city. They proceeded to inquire about our interests and plans and helped us map out our itinerary for our three day visit, including places to eat that we might enjoy.

The room was scrupulously clean, spacious, bright and airy and our hosts made certain we had everything we needed. The breakfast was perfect, and we could make our own coffee and tea. We tried the restaurant suggestions and we had some of the best meals of our trip. I would expect anyone who stays here will be as pleased as we were.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnSC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Just got back from our first trip to Amsterdam, this place has to be the best bed and breakfasts I have ever stayed !!!!. Oki and Frank should give themselves a slap on the back because they are the definitely the hostess with mostess!!! They make you feel very welcome with the utmost sincerity in all that they do. After a good day out it was nice to come back to that felt like home and safe, the area was lovely and quiet In a leafy street that would remind you of little Venice in London.the bed was amazing and I kid you not that it's the best bed I have ever slept in- we have ordered one from coco mat and having it shipped to London!!!!!!! It's that good. Thanks for everything and we will see you both again soon. Mark and Sam

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Le Quartier Sonang and left being completely satisfied with our experience.
I won't add to the numerous compliments on the bed. It is part of the total package that didn't disappoint either of us.
The location is ideal - just outside the center of action by a few minutes walk. The museums are a close walk and the central train station is just a short tram ride.
Frank & Oki are great hosts with many practical suggestions for getting the most out a few days in a wonderful city.
We will stay there on our next trip.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dtandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I don't want to reiterate all the positive points mentioned by other reviewers. This is truly a great b&b. Here is what my husband wrote in their guestbook:

" Dear Frank and Oki
The two of you are the greatest hosts we've ever had the pleasure to meet. Everything you did for us was not only enjoyable but also wonderful -- the accommodations were perfect, the breakfast divine, and thanks for taking care of the restaurant and taxi reservations for us. We'll certainly recommend you to our friends.
Both of you are special and personable ! Kudos for everything - especially for being who you are !
Many Thanks "
E. and R.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chambre de Ville, facing the street because we like the street view. We peeked at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,379 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Centrum
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
#3 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Sonang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Sonang

Property: Le Quartier Sonang
Address: Derde Helmersstraat 47A-Hs, 1054 BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Le Quartier Sonang’ is a peaceful, quiet townhouse in the most popular district of Amsterdam. The two luxury mini suites at the first floor in this 19th century original townhouse are located in the middle of the museum, fashion and theatre district and only five minutes’ walk from the Canal Ring. The Canal Ring was awarded UNESCO World Heritage status in 2010 and to this day, the city’s biggest celebrations such as King’s Day and Gay Pride take place on the canals. ‘Le Quartier Sonang’ is a true lifestyle B&B where hospitality does not spring from duty but only from kindness… We look forward to meeting you in the near future... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing