We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Star Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Quartier Sonang

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Quartier Sonang
Ranked #1 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“5 Star Quality”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Oki & Frank
Le Quartier Sonang
BED & Breakfast
3de Helmersstraat 47A-Hs
1054 BC Amsterdam


Oki and Frank,

I would just like to send a message to show mine and Jacquelyns appreciation at your hospitality. We felt extremely welcome on arrival at your lovely House, I really appreciated the detail you have have put into the design of Le Quartier Sonang and your Hospitality.

1) Personal chat on arrival to explain the beauty of your city
2) Breakfast in bed , and so well presented
3) personal notes on the bed to welcome you in at night

These touches make such a difference and make the customer feel very welcome. I am aware the level of detail/comfort you put in to the design of your House and this makes it a welcome Haven.

Amsterdam is a Historical place and the area you live in is gorgeous, please continue to enjoy living in such a beautiful area of Amsterdam and I Hope your your business grows or remains as perfect as it is. Do not stop giving your Business the personal touch as it really is what makes it the 5 Star Experience. hope you every success in the future with your business and life.

Paul B

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbeastty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
375
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at Le Quartier Sonang for our first trip to Amsterdam, the B&B is beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and has lovely hosts - Oki and Frank. The room is warm and comfortable, the bed is luxurious. The bathroom, with top quality fixtures and under floor heating was fabulous. Breakfast was delicious served on a tray in your room. The coffee machine to make your own coffee is amazing (may even invest in one myself).

Oki makes sure you have everything you need for your stay - we bought a bottle of wine but forgot to ask for a corkscrew - when we returned after our evening out Oki had prepared the room for us and had left a corkscrew and wine glasses. Another evening we returned to find chocolates and a little card Oki had left to wish us 'Sweet Dreams'.

Frank and Oki suggested various places for us to eat whilst in Amsterdam one of which was 'Bosco' we took their advice and called in - the food was lovely. They also give you a map with suggested places to visit/things to do and a tourist book for you to use during your stay.

I highly recommend this lovely B&B and will return if we visit Amsterdam in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeeJay2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We definitely recommend the Le Quartier Sonang, run and owned by Oki & Frank. These gentlemen know how to make their guests feel at home. From the first welcome at the door to our departure we were, for our stay, part of their lives. This B&B is first class and located in the heart of Amsterdam. The room was comfortable, clean and modern. Our breakfast was personally delivered each morning and contained a delicious selection of fresh fruits, croissants, breads, juice and yogurt. We have stayed at numerous B&Bs in Europe and Le Quartier Sonang has to rate right at the top. The maps, brochures and helpful tips they gave us added to our stay.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms to choose from, but both are wonderful. For those from the USA, note that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford on Avon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Oki and Frank have created a very special and harmonious place here and we loved it.

Every single detail was catered for.....from the wonderful breakfast to a birthday box of chocolates. Oki and Frank are truly charming and and it was a delight to be welcomed into their home.

Thankyou for a wonderful few days

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StratfordonAvonSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The home of Oki & Frank is the best of our 16 days tour across to France, Belgium and London, The first of the trip, it does set expectations too high moving forward the trip. First, the room is perfect - spotless clean, spacious, faces a quiet street w balcony and very self-sufficient with a Nespresso machine & tea etc. Most importantly, the hosts are so detailed to even provide international adapter, very comfty bedroom slippers and an extra heater for the brutal weather. The bathroom floor comes with heating and it really really helps to perfect the stay, making us warm and cozy. Bed and pillows live up to it's name, super comfy. Oh, and the room smells very good and breakfast is superb. Stairway is steep and tiny, very typical of the Dutch home but posed not a single problem as Oki and Frank are very helpful with our huge luggage, moving it for us even without us knowing. They even make our bed, tidy up the room every night which is such a thoughtful gesture and offer to do dining reservations for us when they seriously do not have too. Location is about 5 - 10 minutes walk to the nearest tram stop.

We give high recommendation for anyone visiting Amsterdam. Tip: Go for the hosts' recommendation of dining place - slurp!

Thanks Oki and Frank for making our stay in Amsterdam so pleasant - we intend to be back! Love your cute home and the friendly Dutch we met! :)

cheers,
Rina & Esther

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esther L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

A good B&B is first of all a superb bed and a superb breakfast. That's the point of view Frank and Okki see it. And yes they are doing it that way. Oh no, it is not only that philosopfy they make real. Ringing on their door it's a pleasure to be welcomed as their guests. Because as a real guest you are been served. With delicate attentions to let you feel at home and welcomed. Every morning some fresh flowers guide the outstanding breakfast to let you know spring is already knocking on the door. Yes thank you our welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank herman v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I could just repeat what other reviewers did, we really had a great stay at Quartier Sonang. What impressed me most was the attention Frank and Oki paid to every detail, be it the interior design of the room, or our request for additional bed cover (as i have the tendency to feel cold) and the birthday wish (including a bottle of wine) I received once Frank spotted I was celebrating my birthday :). Thanks again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonikaCs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
2,488 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,171 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
874 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
998 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Sonang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Sonang

Property: Le Quartier Sonang
Address: Derde Helmersstraat 47A-Hs, 1054 BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Le Quartier Sonang’ is a peaceful, quiet townhouse in the most popular district of Amsterdam. The two luxury mini suites at the first floor in this 19th century original townhouse are located in the middle of the museum, fashion and theatre district and only five minutes’ walk from the Canal Ring. The Canal Ring was awarded UNESCO World Heritage status in 2010 and to this day, the city’s biggest celebrations such as King’s Day and Gay Pride take place on the canals. ‘Le Quartier Sonang’ is a true lifestyle B&B where hospitality does not spring from duty but only from kindness… We look forward to meeting you in the near future... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing