We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calgary meets Amsterdam”
Review of Le Quartier Sonang

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Quartier Sonang
Ranked #1 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2012

In one word great!

Frank and Oki are great hosts. The breakfast is nice and healty. Fresh flowers and a bed which is so good you can hardly get out of it. The fact that this B&B is right in the centre of Amsterdam close to all the hotspots made is for us superb. We will come again.

Room Tip: Nice in the center, close to the 9 streets, Anne Frank Huis, Museumplein and other hot spots. The ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 540 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

There is a good reason why, at the time of writing, there are 55 reviews for this B&B and all of them give an excellent rating. There is simply nothing to criticise.

Frank and Oki are the perfect hosts, welcoming and helpful. The local restaurant recommendations were spot on. The accommodation is spacious, spotless and beautifully furnished. We stayed in Kamar Bidadari and the bathroom is exquisite. We loved the underfloor heating.

A perfect location for our first visit to Amsterdam.

We certainly hope that we will be able to book Le Quartier Sonang for a return visit. Perhaps when it's warmer so that we can make full use of the balcony.

Thank you Oki and Frank.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Frank and Oki have created the perfect B&B and an oasis of tranquility set amidst the lovely area in the Jordaan.

What makes this remarkable is the warm service and attention to detail throughout. Take the beds, they are made by Coco Mat and cost between £5-£6,000 per bed, when you sleep on one you will see why. For the first time all year i managed to sleep beyond 6.30 am!

We were welcomed at 10:30 at night with a couple of glasses of wine and a chat about what we would like to do in Amsterdam, Frank was engaging and interesting to chat to and only too glad to help with anything. The B&B is located close to the Museum Plein and the Concert Gebouw which we visited on the Sat night for a magical concert. Frank recommended The Seafood Bar for dinner which was newly opened and outstanding.

The room is beautiful, very clean, and every day our room would be cleaned so when we arrived it was warm and welcoming, the bathroom had a heated floor and powerful shower it was perfect.

I've stayed in many great hotels and guest houses worldwide, and this as good as it gets. Thank you to Frank and Oki for making our holiday truly memorable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

There isn't too much more we can say that others haven't. Lovely room with beautiful furnishings, great bed, nice view onto a cute street. My boyfriend loved the breakfast he ate mine as well! Lovely area, close to everything you want to see including 9 Streets and the Jordan area but still away from the touristy areas frequented by stoned teenagers...but then if you want to go it's a 15min walk. I would recommend to my friends and definitely go back. Oh and if you like to run, it's near a gorgeous park - Vodelpark - which is about 3km round.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james_carly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

When we were looking for a place to stay for a short break in Amsterdam, this b&b caught my eye because of all the great tripadvisor reviews. We stayed there for 4 nights and would without any doubt recommend it. The welcome was warm; the room was beautifully furnished & spotlessy clean; the location was perfect; the breakfasts served to the room were fabulous; luxurious bathroom with soft fluffy towels and underfloor heating (it's the little things...!) everything about it was just right. Oki and Frank run this little operation with professionalism and attention to detail that we have rarely experienced anywhere else. It's in a quiet neighbourhood with some nice restaurants within a 2 min walk and is in very easy access to the centre too, with Leidseplein and museum quarter within 5 min walk. Go book it.... you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NH1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Frank and Oki were the perfect hosts for our stay in Amsterdam. Everything was wonderful...the location, room, breakfast and great reccomendations for restaurants and sight seeing. Have recommended Le Quartier Sonang to all our friends!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Amsterdam is a lovely city made even lovelier by its people. Frank and Oki run a truly wonderful place!

The warm reception (and refreshments!) from Frank made us feel instantly at home; he was so naturally engaging and provided such useful information about walking routes, restaurants, places of interest, etc. His affection for his city was quite contagious! We, ourselves, fell in love with Amsterdam. Oki, on the other hand, makes the most divine breakfasts and we could always approach him for anything. Including heavyweight lifting. Ha! The wonderful thing about the both of them is that nothing feels contrived; you really are made to feel welcome in their beautiful home. We loved the handwritten notes and sweets at turndown, and the little stuff they put in the ref at no extra cost!

Our room was spacious and light-filled and super clean; and we slept so wonderfully well in that amazing COCO-MAT bed. The location of Le Quartier Sonang is ideal for exploring the city. It is removed from the madness of more central places; but everywhere you want to go is still within easy reach. The neighborhood is so, so elegant with lots of greenery and wonderfully-decorated houses; and allows you a glimpse into local life. It was quite a lovely experience.

Thanks, Frank and Oki! We hope to be back and soon! :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlgunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,942 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,657 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
#3 of 338 in Amsterdam
444 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 338 in Amsterdam
927 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Museum Suites
Museum Suites
#5 of 338 in Amsterdam
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Sonang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Sonang

Address: Derde Helmersstraat 47A-Hs, 1054 BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $160 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Le Quartier Sonang’ is a peaceful, quiet townhouse in the most popular district of Amsterdam. The two luxury mini suites at the first floor in this 19th century original townhouse are located in the middle of the museum, fashion and theatre district and only five minutes’ walk from the Canal Ring. The Canal Ring was awarded UNESCO World Heritage status in 2010 and to this day, the city’s biggest celebrations such as King’s Day and Gay Pride take place on the canals. ‘Le Quartier Sonang’ is a true lifestyle B&B where hospitality does not spring from duty but only from kindness… We look forward to meeting you in the near future... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing