We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not meet my expectations”
Review of Albert Cuyp Market

Albert Cuyp Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.41*
and up
Private Tour: Amsterdam Lifestyle and Food Walking Tour with a Local
More Info
$22.22*
and up
Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise
More Info
$58.24*
and up
Private Tour: Amsterdam City Walking Tour
Ranked #70 of 516 things to do in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The city's largest street market is just south of the city center.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Did not meet my expectations”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I definitely do not think it was worth the walk. There wasn't much at the market that I hadn't already seen elsewhere around the city. Although it was good for buying cheaper fruits, cheese, vegetables etc.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sibel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    601
    351
    76
    35
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
1,264 reviews
759 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,393 helpful votes
“Enjoyed sampling the street food.”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is a great market ... not huge, just the perfect size for us to spend some time on a leisurely stroll. Lots of cheese, vegetables, souvenirs, trinkets, clothes (rather low quality) and street food. We most enjoyed the street food ... loved the waffles with cheese toppings, stroopwaffle, and delicious fresh squeezed juices.
Location: De Pijp area - from Central Station, take tram lines 4,16, 24 or 25.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank denver60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice market. Nice area.”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This market is pretty cool. It is in my fave area of Amsterdam. Clothes are cheap but so is the quality. Cute, cheap jewelry and souvenirs. It's very close to cool stores, good cafés and restaurants. Stroll thru the market, wander around, completely safe, lots of run.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallyb8807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Decent market worth checking out”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is an average market that was close to the Heineken experience so I stopped by. It had a few too many clothing shops for my tastes but they did have some awesome fresh squeezed juices that I really enjoyed. I also tried the stroopwaffle for the first time which was alright. The mini pancakes covered in powdered sugar were great though.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank liquidmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great market to wander around”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My girlfriend and I rented an apartment right above the Albert Cuyp market when we stayed in Amsterdam in October 2013. It was great. We would wake up in the morning and go down to the market to get ourselves some fresh poffertjes and coffee and then start our day by just walking around the market. When we would tire of that, we would sit at one of the trendy cafes on the parallel street (ferdinand bolstraat) and have ourselves a coffee/tea and a small bite to eat before heading north into the center of the city. The market is located in De Pijp so its a little bit out of the center but its a cool place to visit if you've seen the center or if you have been to Amsterdam before (or many times!).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank adaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albert Cuyp Market also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Albert Cuyp Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing