We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Residence Le Coin
Ranked #135 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Great location. Close to downtown area to walk and tram next to the hotel. Very clean. Some rooms are smaller than others. Friendly people and a decent breakfast to get you started. Stayed here for two weeks on business.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monique T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 338 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2014

We were pleased with the location, helpful staff, and clean, large, bright and comfortable rooms. Our first floor room had a stove, single cup coffee maker, small sink and small refrigerator. The addition of a microwave would have been great, but this is not a complaint. If you are a light sleeper, request a courtyard room. There is no A/C in the room, but we were comfortable with the provided fan. We did not have breakfast so cannot comment on it.
Security in the area seemed fine, I walked alone in the neighborhood after dark a couple of times.
The airport van will pick you up right in front of the hotel. They do have pick ups at other hotels, so the one way trip was about 40 minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hhmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Hotel Residence le Coin, Amsterdam was a fantastic hotel in terms of its location and the friendliness of the receptionist.

In terms of location, it is right smack in the middle of the city where everything is and is a 3minute walk from the nearest tram stop which is very convenient for us as we took the train from the airport and tram from Amsterdam central station to the hotel.

Upon arrival at the hotel, Demetrious (if you are reading this, I hope I spelt your name right.) at the reception was very very friendly and helpful. Not only were we given some recommendations for dinner place, we were given a short history lesson on the evolution Dutch traditional cuisine. Apart from that, Demetrious has been so helpful in printing us maps to certain places, tram timetable for us to catch our flight on a Sunday morning, etc.

In terms of noise, we stayed here on a Friday and Saturday night. We left the window slightly ajar and could hear noise from the street (which was expected living in a hotel right in the middle of the city) but had no trouble falling asleep.

The only negative side of the hotel was the bed. We requested for a room with a balcony, a view and a double bed. We got 2 out of the 3 requests, apart from the bed configuration. It was literally 2 single beds pushed together, with no connection between the 2 beds. We visited Amsterdam 3 days after my fiancée accepted my proposal in Paris, so you can imagine the feeling we had when we found out about the bed. Perhaps a little suggestion would be to perhaps use a double sheet to hold the 2 single beds together.
Despite the negative side on the bedding configuration, the friendliness of Demetrious was a greater positive which still have us leaving our stay in Amsterdam with a wonderful feeling.

To Demetrious if you are reading this: It really has been a pleasant stay for us and we look forward to visit Amsterdam again in the near future. And rest assured, we will be staying at this hotel again on our visits.

Room Tip: Room 434 - room at the corner of the building, facing the canal. We were told that it was the best r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JasonL2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I have been to Amsterdam during the King’s birthday (Koning's day) and it was a great fun. The location of hotel from Amsterdam central is really good i.e. is not very close and not too far. The rooms were excellent and I had an ideal stay. The price was little high but Hey Hey…its Amsterdam…everything for leisure will be expensive but you have to decide what is worth paying…And I can say for sure that this hotel was worth paying........!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ganesh-The_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This well-located small hotel is ideal for any visit to Amsterdam. The staff is friendly. The rooms are comfortable and fashionable (nice minimalist style). The breakfast is good. And the location is central, within easy walking distance of public transportation and all of central Amsterdam. I went on business, but would definitely return with family. I appreciated that they had a sink and cooking facilities in the room (a coffee pot is not standard in European hotels, so this is a good treat).

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j7768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Location is good, in the center of Amsterdam. Big Rooms, with a kitchenette. Some warm rooms in the night after a warm and sunny day, don't think the air condition is working perfect. Some noice from the street, but not bad to be in the center of Amsterdam. Good simple breakfast with fresh bread, was included in the price we got.

Will book again if location is important.

Helpful staff is also a good plus.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betjent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Great location right on a very scenic corner and walkable to a metro station. HUGE rooms with kitchenette. We stayed on the courtyard side of the hotel and had no issues with noise. They stored our bags before and after our stay. We had our 4 month old baby with us and they had a crib set up for us upon our arrival. Surprisingly affordable price.

Would absolutely stay here again in the blink of an eye.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank lelly_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#129 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,427 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#18 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#67 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,057 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#128 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,045 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#21 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Le Coin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Le Coin

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 5, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#69 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $163 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Le Coin 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Residence Le Coin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le Coin Amsterdam
Residence Le Coin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing