We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky Place but freindly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Residence Le Coin
Ranked #133 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I have stayed here many times through work and although at first you will find the geometry of the place unnerving, with steps up and down and even ladders to beds in lofts, the place is in a great location and is very friendly.

The hotel is a short tram ride south from the main station or about €15 taxi from the station taxi rank. It is located just a walk away form Rembrandts square and the flower market. You can walk to the Dam square with ease for restaurants and night life.

The hotel is situated in a block with the University and so there is a great little student bar below and small (real) coffee shops around.

The rooms are cosy and every one different. I have not stayed in the same room twice. Most look out to a side street and are not too noisy at night. Some have loft bedrooms. Most have sofas and living spaces.

Breakfast is a buffet you can pay in advance for. Its really quite good and sets you up for the day. If so inclined you can wander into the Rembrandtplein and get a coffee and cake for a few Euros.

There is an elevator but it is not suitable for families with small children given the climbs necessary. Although ask and they may have easier family rooms.

Room Tip: There is one with a balcony overlooking the canal on the second floor. Ask for a room without a loft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonAB28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 338 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

Was here in September 2008 for about 3 nights.

A wonderful stay in a fabulous location where I walked to everything. It is very close to about 3 or 4 of the major tram routes..The rooms are simple, but of good size and the beds are comfortable. The hotel staffs were very kind and reliable.

This is not the place to stay if you're looking for luxury, but if you want a clean, affordable base of operations in the center of the city, this is perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripsofSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We enjoyed the picturesque location of this hotel. It is in one of the most central and picturesque area of Amsterdam.
The hotel is very basic. There is no carpet in the room, no safe, the internet is deficient. One needs to stay in the lobby for a better WI-fi connection.
The room was spacious however is not so well heated ( floor heating).
The staff is very helpful but there is usually only one person in reception, no porter so no assistance with the luggage. There is a lift which is helpful.
If one is OK with the basic needs this hotel could be an option.

Room Tip: The quieter rooms face the courtyard. Those facing the canals have the noise of trams running ince...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renata321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Me and the Mrs stayed here for two nights over new years. I must admit I was a bit dubious about the hotel before arrival. We arrived early morning and left our bags, we got told the room would be read from 12, 2 hours before advised! All the staff where very friendly and gave us some ideas on things to do during our visit. We stayed on the 4th floor, our room was of a decent size, very clean and extremely quiet considering the time of year! The bed was comfortable to sleep in. It was a bit of an adventure to get to our room, up the lift to the 3rd floor, along the corridor, up the flight of steps, through the door, right up the corridor, up the steps.... you get the idea. Worth the faffing around though, vaulted ceilings and a good overview of the local area! We are going back out at the end of April (this has been arranged for a few months now) and upon our return home 1st jan, we cancelled our hotel for April and rebooked at Le coin. The only thing I can really have a little moan about is that the heating in our room was underfloor heating, now don't get me wrong, warm feet straight out of bed is the one, but the room could have done with a radiator. It was warm and comfortable, but a little more warmth first thing would have been nice :) Oh and a safe would have been handy :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

The check-in was very easy and fast. My room was on the second floor. It was big enough but was very cold. I was expecting a warm room because i already had walked 15 minutes from the cantraal station. There was no safe and no iron equipment. Bed was not comfortable.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Gyaltir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here for a business trip and it was booked for us by the University of Amsterdam. The hotel has a great location and is very close to about 3 or 4 of the major tram routes. The boat tour company nearby is also very good for 10 euros. The little kitchen served us well but had no tea!!! it is opposite one of the best hotels in Amsterdam so always taxis nearby. Book in advance and get a deal.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigmeads21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The other hotel we had reserved 3 months ago canceled our reservation by their mistake only 4 days before our trip, so we were totaly at a loss but we luckily found this lovely accomodation, Hotel Residence Le Coin.

The hotel staffs were very kind and reliable. When we asked in email before arrival, they responded quickly. We arrived 1 hour before check-in, but they let us in.

The room was very large with a small but clean kitchen, also we could enjoy the fantastic view of the Munt tower from the window.
Though the hotel is in the center of the city, we hardly heard noise so we could sleep well. In addition the bed was little bit soft but very comfortable.

Finally, the price is reasonable enough for the room quality and I guess that in Amsterdam it would be difficult to find other better hotels like Hotel Residence Le Coin.

We will definitely be back there in the next trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celblauclar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#128 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,422 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#17 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#68 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,054 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#130 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,046 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#21 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Le Coin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Le Coin

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 5, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#69 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $162 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Le Coin 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Residence Le Coin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le Coin Amsterdam
Residence Le Coin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing