We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Residence Le Coin
Ranked #111 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai, India
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A good experience”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Was here in September 2008 for about 3 nights.

A wonderful stay in a fabulous location where I walked to everything. It is very close to about 3 or 4 of the major tram routes..The rooms are simple, but of good size and the beds are comfortable. The hotel staffs were very kind and reliable.

This is not the place to stay if you're looking for luxury, but if you want a clean, affordable base of operations in the center of the city, this is perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripsofSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    148
    42
    7
    3
See reviews for
56
90
22
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We enjoyed the picturesque location of this hotel. It is in one of the most central and picturesque area of Amsterdam.
The hotel is very basic. There is no carpet in the room, no safe, the internet is deficient. One needs to stay in the lobby for a better WI-fi connection.
The room was spacious however is not so well heated ( floor heating).
The staff is very helpful but there is usually only one person in reception, no porter so no assistance with the luggage. There is a lift which is helpful.
If one is OK with the basic needs this hotel could be an option.

Room Tip: The quieter rooms face the courtyard. Those facing the canals have the noise of trams running ince...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renata321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Me and the Mrs stayed here for two nights over new years. I must admit I was a bit dubious about the hotel before arrival. We arrived early morning and left our bags, we got told the room would be read from 12, 2 hours before advised! All the staff where very friendly and gave us some ideas on things to do during our visit. We stayed on the 4th floor, our room was of a decent size, very clean and extremely quiet considering the time of year! The bed was comfortable to sleep in. It was a bit of an adventure to get to our room, up the lift to the 3rd floor, along the corridor, up the flight of steps, through the door, right up the corridor, up the steps.... you get the idea. Worth the faffing around though, vaulted ceilings and a good overview of the local area! We are going back out at the end of April (this has been arranged for a few months now) and upon our return home 1st jan, we cancelled our hotel for April and rebooked at Le coin. The only thing I can really have a little moan about is that the heating in our room was underfloor heating, now don't get me wrong, warm feet straight out of bed is the one, but the room could have done with a radiator. It was warm and comfortable, but a little more warmth first thing would have been nice :) Oh and a safe would have been handy :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

The check-in was very easy and fast. My room was on the second floor. It was big enough but was very cold. I was expecting a warm room because i already had walked 15 minutes from the cantraal station. There was no safe and no iron equipment. Bed was not comfortable.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Gyaltir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here for a business trip and it was booked for us by the University of Amsterdam. The hotel has a great location and is very close to about 3 or 4 of the major tram routes. The boat tour company nearby is also very good for 10 euros. The little kitchen served us well but had no tea!!! it is opposite one of the best hotels in Amsterdam so always taxis nearby. Book in advance and get a deal.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigmeads21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The other hotel we had reserved 3 months ago canceled our reservation by their mistake only 4 days before our trip, so we were totaly at a loss but we luckily found this lovely accomodation, Hotel Residence Le Coin.

The hotel staffs were very kind and reliable. When we asked in email before arrival, they responded quickly. We arrived 1 hour before check-in, but they let us in.

The room was very large with a small but clean kitchen, also we could enjoy the fantastic view of the Munt tower from the window.
Though the hotel is in the center of the city, we hardly heard noise so we could sleep well. In addition the bed was little bit soft but very comfortable.

Finally, the price is reasonable enough for the room quality and I guess that in Amsterdam it would be difficult to find other better hotels like Hotel Residence Le Coin.

We will definitely be back there in the next trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celblauclar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvor, Faro, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stay here for 1 night to meet up with friends from Irland and have to say its very good and freindly staff,, and midle in te centre of Amsterdam and even on the street site you dont notice any noise from outsite

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,492 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#134 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#204 of 367 in Amsterdam
35 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#20 of 367 in Amsterdam
997 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#136 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Le Coin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Le Coin

Property: Hotel Residence Le Coin
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 5, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#69 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Le Coin 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Residence Le Coin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le Coin Amsterdam
Residence Le Coin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing