We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Spacious room in quiet but central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence Le Coin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Residence Le Coin to your Saves list
Hotel Residence Le Coin
Nieuwe Doelenstraat 5, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Spacious room in quiet but central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I only spent one night in this hotel, but understood that many visiting scholars at Amsterdam University stay there for longer periods. My large room was equipped with a kitchenette and fridge which would have suited such guests. The bathroom had a big bathtub which I unfortunately did not have the opportunity to use, but the shower was good and the bathroom was very clean. The hotel is located in the centre of Amsterdam, yet on a street with limited traffic - far more bicycles than cars! The staff were very efficient and helpful. We had breakfast and could then stay on in an adjacent room for a meeting and freely refill our coffee cups as we liked. The breakfast was good and the attentive staff quickly came with more eggs or fresh bread when something ran out. I would not mind staying at Le Coin again next time I visit this incredibly charming and friendly city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Castor_Dioskouros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    119
    35
    5
    3
See reviews for
43
61
16
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here for a week in May, and it provided a near-perfect base from which to explore Amsterdam. Having a kitchenette is very convenient because it allowed us to have breakfast in, something we prefer. The only problem is our room location: it was in the corner overlooking the square (that part was fine) but right over a popular bar/cafe hangout which got noisier as the week progressed. We finally changed rooms on a Thursday. So, if you're there from Thursday thru Saturday, avoid the corner rooms. Very friendly staff and fairly priced.

Room Tip: As mentioned above, avoid a corner room if you're staying there Thursday thru Saturday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed here July as this was our first visit to Amsterdam. The staff was helpful in making dinner reservations for us. Yes, the rooms may not be 4 or 5 star quality but they are sufficient for comfortable lodging and more importantly the Le Coin is in a great location. Close to the trams, within walking distance to many things and if you price other hotels in the area, you won't find a better value. Definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geauxtigers_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is my second time to Amsterdam and after reading through a whole bunch of reviews on TripAdvisor, decided to stay at the Hotel Residence Le Coin this time and it was the best decision ever. We were here from June 11 - 14, 2012.

First, this place is centrally located. Its very easy to get here via the airport or Central train station. Also, I would put it at no more than a 30-minute walk to any of the major attractions in Amsterdam (Anne Frank House, Riijksmuseum, Van Gogh, Heineiken Experience, Red Light District, etc.) although most walks are shorter. If youre not in the mood to walk, the tram is very close by. There are tons of nearby pubs and restaraunts as well as shopping.

Second, the staff here is amazing. They are very helpful with any accomodations, knowledgeable about the area, and best of all, service oriented. We were greeted everday as we left the hotel and as we returned, they checked up to make sure the stay was satisfactory, and responsive to any inquiry we had (e.g. how to get to a certain attraction), It was also helpful that they have a good command of the English language.

Third, the accomodations are definately a good for the price. We had a Twin Room (145 euro/night) on the second floor overlooking the main street. The beds were comfortable and the blackout curtains were a huge plus for late-risers like us. No problems sleeping at night even though you could sometimes hear the Netherland fans boisterously cheering their team on as they were playing in Euro 2012. We never used the kitchenette area except for the fridge,which is key when on a budget to hold our food from the nearby supermarket. The restroom was simple, but very clean! The breakfast buffet was actually the best one we've had on this trip and would recommend it on your first or last day for its convenience.

The best part, they have a free washer and dryer on-site, which was great for travellers like us. You just need your own detergent soap or can buy some down the street.

This place is a neighorhood gem. I would recommend this place to anybody --- friends and family alike.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham NH
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I stayed here as a guest of the University, but I couldn't have hoped for a better hotel in Amsterdam. Centrally located, with a spacious twin-bed room and large windows on the top floor (there IS an elevator). Rooms include little efficiency ranges and a kitchen sink. WiFi is inexpensive and works well. Shower was great. Staff at front desk were very helpful and nice. I never tried breakfast, since there are great cafe's nearby.

Room Tip: I was happy on the top floor! I imagine the street would be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidByKayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed here for two weeks during summer 2010. The staff were really helpful and friendly. Breakfast is delicious. Room is clean. Location is more than fantastic - very central, close to all the shopping areas, the flower shops, University of Amsterdam, etc.
Only complaint this that it gets really hot in the summer (without aircon) and the only thing they send to my room to fix this is a small fan.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milkievu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

This is my second stay at Le Coin and always a pleasure! The staff is amazing and extremely helpful! Dimitri and Jesse always gave us incredible and amazing restaurant recommendations that normally only the locals know of!!!! We also had a room, requested, that overlooked the canal....yes, it was active, but we kind of liked that! There are other rooms available, if you prefer the quiet...

Our room was huge, extremely clean and had a kitchenette! Perfect to celebrate my daughter's attaining her Masters and a Job!!!

Room Tip: canal for view but if you prefer quiet, don't do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#166 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
#257 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#54 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,656 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#171 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Le Coin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Le Coin

Property: Hotel Residence Le Coin
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 5, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#70 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Residence Le Coin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le Coin Amsterdam
Residence Le Coin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing