We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but very basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Residence Le Coin
Ranked #119 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
424 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Good location but very basic”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We had the same room as the previous reviewer, the 2 rooms on the top floor. You can only take the elevator up to the 3rd floor, then you have to go up stairs to get to the rooms. When you open the door to the room you are in an entryway with 4 doors. The door to the left is the larger room which contains 3 twin beds. The door to the right is a slightly smaller room containing 2 twin beds pushed together. Both rooms had a desk and chair and also several other chairs to sit in. The larger room had a short sofa too. The furniture looked like it was from Ikea. Both rooms had a 2 burner electric stove top, a sink, and a small refrigerator. There were also some utensils and dishes and a teakettle. Neither room was carpeted. The beds were adequately comfortable. The larger room had no view, the smaller room had a view over some apartments behind the hotel.

The other 2 doors were to the toilet room and the shower room. The toilet room was really tiny and barely fit the toilet and a tiny sink. The shower room was larger and was the length of a fill size tub with a regular sink on the back wall. You could get a blow dryer from the front desk if you left a deposit.

We paid 230 euro a night for 4 adults. This did not include breakfast, which could be purchased for 11.50 euro a person. We thought that was very expensive and didn't try it. The entire street in front of the hotel was torn up while we were there which was a nuisance. The trams are very close by.

It's hard to find a hotel for 4 adults in Europe within our budget, so this place worked for us. But if I were to return I'd probably try to find something else.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msu_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    141
    41
    6
    3
See reviews for
49
82
19
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Upon my arrival in Amsterdam, my friends and I were stuck without a hotel for our first night. We sat in a cafe with free wi-fi internet searching and searching for somewhere to accomodate 5 people within' our price range for the one evening.

By fluke, we stumbled upon Le Coin - Residence which miraculously had a 5 person room available for a decent price.

The place itself is generally not advertised as a hotel, as we found out that it normally acts as student housing throughout the year. We were SO happy to have somewhere to stay after hours of lugging around our luggage, that this place seemed like a godsend!

Pro's
- Good location --- within' walking distance to the main square, shopping, restaurants, etc
- Reasonable price
- Large room size --- For 5 of us, we ended up having the whole top floor, which consisted of 2 bed rooms (1 room 2 beds, 1 room 3 single beds) and each room had a small kitchenette, a desk, a small tv, and a sofa and chairs. The two rooms were separate quarters .. with a shared bathroom in between. MORE than sufficient for our needs. Sure, the rooms arent decorated, and have no amentities you'd find in a real hotel, but you have the necessities.

Cons
- A little outdated.
- Rooms were freezing at night (because we werent aware we had to turn the HEAT ON when entering)
- The elevator doesn't make it to the top floor, so you have to go up 2 flights of narrow stairs (with LUGGAGE!!!) to get to it.
- Only one person working at the time we were there, so we had to go down ourselves if we needed anything.

For the price, and the rut we were in, we couldn't have asked for more. I prefer a hotel style accomodation generally, but if you're not picky, and you want a good location + a good price and are OK with it being completely basic.. .then I would definately recommend this place.

There are SO many hotels in Amsterdam. Some good, some bad...I'd put this one somewhere in between.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpaonessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

The hotel is in a great location. It is also functional rather than homely or luxurious. It has internet connection but you have to pay to use it, it has a coffee maker but no coffee, breakfast is expensive so it's best to go out and find something. There is no air conditioning which I could cope with but it would have been easier had there been a summer duvet rather than a thick autumn/winter one. The biggest drawback for me was the single bed, it was so uncomfortable, especially because it was so narrow - this alone would cause me to try another hotel next time. This is a shame as it's clean, well located and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TopsyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

Two of us went to the Netherlands for two nights but ended up staying a week, due to a certain Icelandic volcano. We were at the airport when the flights were cancelled. Travelled into Amsterdam to find somewhere to stay, along with many hundred others. We were very lucky to come across Le Coin. The staff were brilliant. With a hotel full of stressed and stranded travellers, they worked so hard looking up travel plans for everyone, and taking care of us all. Use of the washing machine was much appreciated!

It's a great location for visiting the city. Next to the canals, flower market, and a short walk from the centre, but away from the bustle you'll find there.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank popple4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2010

I stayed in Le Coin for five nights in late November on a business trip. I have a positive experience. Great location, big rooms (although unpretentious and rather boring), a quite good self-service breakfast (although again nothing special: the coffee was awful, but then again that may be a cultural thing). The staff is nice, but not particularly helpful. I had problems with internet connection in my room, and they were not very eager to fix it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drugiviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2009

The hotel felt very corporate, and the room seemed a slight step up from a hostel, with none of the charm and comfort of other places in Amsterdam we had stayed. It was also infested with mosquitos, many of which had been splatted against the walls and ceiling, ignored by the cleaning staff as a grim reminder of what we were in for. The beds felt more like cots and were extremely uncomfortable, and the noise from the floor above was disturbing and annoying, especially after we had specifically requested a quiet room. The best aspects were the hotel's good location, the room's spaciousness, strong water pressure and abundant hot water, as well as its cute, modern kitchenette. Unfortunately, the minuses far out-weighed the pluses at Le Coin, and we would never stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBarendregt, Manager at Hotel Residence Le Coin, responded to this review, October 25, 2009
Dear Guest, We are very sorry to read that your stay in Hotel Résidence Le Coin was not up to your expectations.
As Holland has a mild maritime climate and the hotel is located near the canals mosquitos appear in specific months (August & September.) Mosquitos unfortunately are "natures little nuisance", we have several anti mosquito devices available for every room.
We are grateful for your comments. Although tastes differ, it enables us to continually improve the service we are offering and we thank you for your support. Kind regards, M.K.A. Barendregt - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Nice enough hotel. Good staff, nice location. However, this hotel was sold to us as a three star hotel, but it's clearly not. The rooms are very small and basic. The bathroom in our room was tiny. You had to enter the shower/tub from the short side which is pretty crazy.
If you are just looking to stay one night it's ok.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lonelysherpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#68 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,850 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#111 of 364 in Amsterdam
909 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#180 of 364 in Amsterdam
349 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Le Coin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Le Coin

Property: Hotel Residence Le Coin
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 5, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#69 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Le Coin 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Residence Le Coin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le Coin Amsterdam
Residence Le Coin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing