We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“An Exceptional B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Noah's Ark Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Noah's Ark Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Noah's Ark Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #192 of 331 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An Exceptional B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2005

If your idea of a satisfying vacation includes staying in a gracious family home as the guest of people who are anxious to help you make the most of your time in Amsterdam, and who will extend themselves in a variety of ways to make you feel completely at home, then Noah's Ark is for you.

Sandra and Salah will serve you breakfast - a delicious array of fresh breads, cheeses and fruit along with eggs or pancakes - in their lovely dining room, where they and the other guests gather each morning for a relaxed meal and interesting conversation.

Sandra and Salah will share their ideas concerning interesting places to visit, eat, and shop.

The house, which is in a lovely, quiet area, is near a bus stop and a short walk to the train station. We found it convenient to all Amsterdam attractions as well as to Haarlem.

We stayed in the Captain's Room, a large room with comfortable twin beds. The bathroom is large and cheerful. It is cleaned daily. We stayed for eight nights. The experience was a very pleasant one and one we hope to repeat soon.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elrana2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2005

A wonderful bed and breakfast in a perfect location. The actual host was out of town the weekend we arrived, but her cousin ran the B&B in her absence. We arrived on Thursday at 9am in the morning and Helma picked us up from Duivendrecht Station and drove us to the bed and breakfast to get settled.
Since we had gotten there so early our room was not finished, so she fixed us a wonderful lunch while we waited. A quesadilla made with Holland cheese, onion, tomatoes and salami with fresh fruit on the side and hot tea. She made you feel as if you were family. Our flight on Sunday left at 8am, so we had to leave early that morning to get to the train station and then to the airport. Helma packed us a breakfast and had it waiting for us when we left at 5am.
Very wonderful people and happy to do what they can to make your stay a pleasant one. Would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone traveling to the Amsterdam area. In order to understand how beautiful this place is you have to take the entire tour. My husband and I stayed in Noah's Suite which was a paradise on top of a mountain once you see how far you climb to reach it. Pack light if you are staying in this room, or you will regret it. =)
The outside of Noah's Ark Bed & Breakfast complete with labeled door. Once you enter the residence you climb up the first set of stairs and the second to the first floor landing. This is where the main residence of the apartment is, as well as the living room area, kitchen and dinning area. From here you climb the third and fourth set of stairs to the second floor. On the second floor there are two rooms in front of you and one on the left. As you turn to your right you you see the large bathroom with tub, that is shared by the other rooms.
You will also see the entrance to Noah's Suite. Here you will find your personal shower, sink and toilet and small kitchen area. Once more you climb up the fifth set of stairs to your sleep quarters. Upstairs there is a mini fridge, TV, DVD player and radio in the sitting area across from your bed. There is a wardrobe across the room for you to hang and store your things. Beautifully decorated with fresh flowers every morning. You never want to leave! http://www.dmhasting.com/noah_ark.htm

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2005

Naoh's Ark was great.Relaxed atmosphere,clean and cosy room , yummy breakfast and really friendly owners .What else do you need to forget all your troubles? Next time in Amsterdam,try it and you are going to love it,like we did. Wish to go back to Naoh' Ark in the future.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2005

B&B's make a great change from hotel's the owner's really know what they are doing and offer superb hospitality, very friendly and good value. Coming from New Zealand it made a real difference getting good honest information about the place and people of the Netherlands. The people really make the difference.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2005

Very friendly host who even give us a ride from the station ..... and not forgetting the delicious breakfast they cooked and useful tips for travelling! The room is very clean and cosy. Noah's ark is about 10 minutes metro ride from the city where you can have a peaceful and quiet night. Besides that the train and metro services are very frequent. We highly recomended noah's ark and wish can visit the lovely noah's ark owners again....

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noahloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2004

I had the pleasure of a 2 nights stay at Noah's Ark earlier this month and I had gone there on the recommendation of a relative who had stayed there earlier this year. The owners Sandra & Salah have truly created a home away from home atmosphere (especially nice for a solo traveller!). Bright, comfortable, simply but very tastefully decorated rooms and a breakfast to die for ! The hosts seemed very sincere in their efforts to make me feel at home. Very gregarious and full of good advice & recommendations. I even overheard another guest (who was there with her family) complimenting Sandra that it was the friendliest B&B she had ever stayed at and I would wholeheartedly agree! GO THERE, you'll arrive as a customer and leave as a friend !

Helpful?
Thank Steven6008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2004

Nice & quiet location, very comfortable suite, amazing breakfast, and genuine hospitality. We loved Noah's Ark and will definitely stay there again when we return to Amsterdam.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.6 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
#248 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Amsterdam Arena Atlas
1.3 mi away
Jaz Amsterdam
Jaz Amsterdam
#34 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Amsterdam - Arena Towers
1.9 mi away
The Student Hotel Amsterdam City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noah's Ark Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noah's Ark Bed and Breakfast

Property: Noah's Ark Bed and Breakfast
Address: Plataanstraat 4 | Duivendrecht, 1115 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing