We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good Stag do In Amsterdam” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marnix Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marnix Hotel
Ranked #331 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sheffield
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Stag do In Amsterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Quite a few of us stayed here.

It was good enough. Big room, ensuite toilet.
Bunk Beds..

What more could a stag do want?

Good location, only a short walk to anywhere or the tram.

The property was clean and the staff were helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wato20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnixReception, Manager at Marnix Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback - we are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We appreciate you taking time to review your stay and we'll hope to see you soon at the Marnix Hotel on your next stay in Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    119
    173
    101
    256
See reviews for
34
114
116
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Having read reviews about this hostel beforey trip to Amsterdam I was very skeptical about staying here. It was however a pleasant place to stay. You do get what you pay for; cheap accommodation in the centre of town. Yet, the room was clean and refreshed every day and shower worked perfectly so no major complaints. The overall interor needs an update but who spends that much time in their room anyway? Cannot comment on breakfast offering as didn't use this service. Overall, cheap clean rooms fit for purpose and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lxcon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnixReception, Manager at Marnix Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback ! Your stay was much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very bad experience, there is no elevator, the employees are rude, dirty, there are mice, the only thing that can be rescue is that the location, but there are better hotels around. Unpleasant experience, never again.

Room Tip: Try to find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnixReception, Manager at Marnix Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your constructive feedback of our hotel. We appreciate your comments and review. We are very sorry to heart that your stay was not a positive one. We will provide your feedback in follow up with our team to ensure that everyone is consistent with the services provided by our hotel. We would like to thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Hotel? It can't hardly be called a hostel. We booked a night here, stupidly not checking tripadvisor. When we arrived they wanted us to pay an extra €7 as they didn't have the triple room we had booked. We refused, and the guy behind the counter (it can't be called a reception) made it seem like he was doing us a favour in waiving the fee and giving us a quad room. After walking up to the fourth floor, each one getting progressively worse, we arrived at our room which smelt of damp and god knows what else. We left as soon as possible the next morning and booked another hotel.

it's in a good part of town, but I'd recommend going further out to get a decent place to stay.

Room Tip: Don't book here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnixReception, Manager at Marnix Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your constructive feedback of our hotel. Your review is highly appreciated. We have provided your feedback in follow up to our team to ensure that everyone is consistent and respectful to how this reservation should have been handled. We appreciate you taking your time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed there for a couple of nights with friends. The rooms were quite bad for a hostel and the shared bathrooms were flooded. The most annoying thing though was the Indian guy at the front desk who was unbelievably rude for no reason.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ignacio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnixReception, Manager at Marnix Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not a positive one. We have provided your feedback in follow up to our team to ensure that the service provided is consistent and friendly. We appreciate you taking your time and writing this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is no hotel - it's a bad hostel. The beds are fine and it's a good location. The staff are rude - borderline aggressive. Walls are paper thin - you can hear everything that occurs in the shared bathroom. The door handle kept falling off the shared bathroom. The place is unclean. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neutralflame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnixReception, Manager at Marnix Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not a positive one. We have reported the issues you have addressed and are working on improving our services to ensure that these problems will not occur in the future. We highly appreciate your review, thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Went with three friends. We found the location confusing and a bit misleading - and I would agree with other reviewers that it's definately more of a hostel. Despite this, oddly enough, we weren't disappointed. We weren't in the rooms for any long periods of time however, I wouldn't recommend it for families (no way) or anyone wanting a romantic break.

Beds were comfy, bathroom small but adequate - and location was very good.

PHOTO - My photo of the entrance - you check in over the road, and the rooms are here - there are no staff or facilities here, it's literally just rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summer-berries84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#254 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#277 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#311 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#281 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#106 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#250 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marnix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marnix Hotel

Property: Marnix Hotel
Address: Marnixstraat 382, 1016 XX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #331 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Marnix Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marnix Hotel is a 2-star hotel. Our hotel is ideally located in the center of Amsterdam, about 200 metres from Leidseplein. The hotel has 21 rooms, Single, Double or Triples, most of them with shower and toilet. The reception crew will be more than happy to provide you with any tourist information and guidance to the city's attraction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Marnix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marnix Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing