We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“They tried to cheat on us!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marnix Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marnix Hotel
Ranked #328 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“They tried to cheat on us!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I had a prepaid booking of 150 euro for a tripple room in Amsterdam Inn hotel. There was a note I had to do the check in in hotel Marnix instead (accross the street). We did so and instead of being accomodated in Amsterdam Inn we were accomodated in Marnix which was much worse than what we have paid for. We realized this only after the reception was closed so we could not change it anymore. The room was small, dirty, old, stinky, hot (no option to open the windows). The corridor was even worse. REALLY low quality for a lot of money. Nevertheless the location was extremely central. The next morning we got 50% off as compensation which we appreciated a lot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Assya1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    108
    153
    89
    227
See reviews for
30
103
98
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

As I was about to review this hotel I glanced over the other people's reviews and was a little confused as our stay was the best it could be!

We got a twin room and pushed the beds together to make it a double. The room was really warm and the beds were really comfortable. Fresh and clean! The bathroom was shared and to be honest, felt like your own as it was clean all the time. There was only one time where it wasn't clean but the cleaners happily and promptly cleaned it when we asked with no worries at all.

The staff were all very lovely and kind. Offering fresh towels every day and asking if we were enjoying our stay.

The only down side was that being an older place, it was quite loud with the other guests going up and down the stairs etc. but nothing that would stop us from staying there again.

Highly recommend this place if you're looking for a cheaper place to stay that still feels inviting and fresh!

Also, great location. We walked everywhere with no worries :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AvalonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights and I guess we got what you'd expect from amsterdam-a party vibe. It smelt like alcohol and vomit all the way up the stairs (which are insane by the way especially after a night out). The room was ok but the shower leaked all over and the damp smell was awful the next day. The location is good although a little hard to find. Its near the main square where you want to be for a good time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulon, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

So this is a serious budget hotel, but such great value for money! For €35 we got a twin share room with our own bathroom. The beds were super comfy too. Was really easy finding it, just the number 5 bus from centraal station. Super close to the main shops and some really good 'coffee shops', our favorite was Dolphins! We checked out at 10am but were able to leave our bags with reception for the whole day! Good kitchen/eating area as well. Highly recommend for those who are on a budget :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Elyse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed in this hotel, adjustment call it a hostel, this February. Our rooms were very basic but clean. At first we were quite pleased with this hostel. However, our enthusiasm turned to a big letdown. During our first night we heard a rustling sound. In the beginning we didn't realise what this noise was but when we turned on the light we saw a mouse jumping out of my friend's bag. Moreover, this was not the only mouse present in our room. We went to the reception in the middle of the night but the staff was absolutely not friendly. First the receptionist laughed at us and told us that it was our fault because we had food in our room. He also told us that every hotel in the area had problems with mice (random twaddle of course!). So I would advice you to stay away from Marnix Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I booked over the internet a double private room with shared bathroom. The room was very small even though i stayed by myself. The door to the room had a big space underneath which i guess is the big passage (except the walls) for mice! Definitely not a place for a woman! The toilet was clean and the beds were ok. Rubbish taken everyday. Heating ok! They made me sign that i wouldn't smoke, although i don't, and told me that if i smoked and the alarm went off i would have to pay 250 Euro.

They charge extra if you don't pay cash. and also be aware of the Amsterdam city TAX +5.5% which most of the times is not covered by the price of the booking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed for one night in Feb, the room was really basic but clean and alright if you just need it for sleeping in. As for breakfast, I wouldn't even go there, 6 Euros for sitting in a dingy room where you have to make your own with not a lot of choice! Walls were thin so you can hear people coming in and out but its in a good location with not a lot of outside noise. Wouldn't stay there for longer than one night, but you really do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#251 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#296 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#160 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#212 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 876 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#284 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 1,635 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#269 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marnix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marnix Hotel

Property: Marnix Hotel
Address: Marnixstraat 382, 1016 XX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #328 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Marnix Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marnix Hotel is a 2-star hotel. Our hotel is ideally located in the center of Amsterdam, about 200 metres from Leidseplein. The hotel has 21 rooms, Single, Double or Triples, most of them with shower and toilet. The reception crew will be more than happy to provide you with any tourist information and guidance to the city's attraction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Marnix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marnix Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing