We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for money!”
Review of Marnix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marnix Hotel
Ranked #339 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Toulon, France
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best value for money!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

So this is a serious budget hotel, but such great value for money! For €35 we got a twin share room with our own bathroom. The beds were super comfy too. Was really easy finding it, just the number 5 bus from centraal station. Super close to the main shops and some really good 'coffee shops', our favorite was Dolphins! We checked out at 10am but were able to leave our bags with reception for the whole day! Good kitchen/eating area as well. Highly recommend for those who are on a budget :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Elyse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    143
    215
    126
    304
See reviews for
41
135
156
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed in this hotel, adjustment call it a hostel, this February. Our rooms were very basic but clean. At first we were quite pleased with this hostel. However, our enthusiasm turned to a big letdown. During our first night we heard a rustling sound. In the beginning we didn't realise what this noise was but when we turned on the light we saw a mouse jumping out of my friend's bag. Moreover, this was not the only mouse present in our room. We went to the reception in the middle of the night but the staff was absolutely not friendly. First the receptionist laughed at us and told us that it was our fault because we had food in our room. He also told us that every hotel in the area had problems with mice (random twaddle of course!). So I would advice you to stay away from Marnix Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I booked over the internet a double private room with shared bathroom. The room was very small even though i stayed by myself. The door to the room had a big space underneath which i guess is the big passage (except the walls) for mice! Definitely not a place for a woman! The toilet was clean and the beds were ok. Rubbish taken everyday. Heating ok! They made me sign that i wouldn't smoke, although i don't, and told me that if i smoked and the alarm went off i would have to pay 250 Euro.

They charge extra if you don't pay cash. and also be aware of the Amsterdam city TAX +5.5% which most of the times is not covered by the price of the booking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed for one night in Feb, the room was really basic but clean and alright if you just need it for sleeping in. As for breakfast, I wouldn't even go there, 6 Euros for sitting in a dingy room where you have to make your own with not a lot of choice! Walls were thin so you can hear people coming in and out but its in a good location with not a lot of outside noise. Wouldn't stay there for longer than one night, but you really do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have to say that I was really disappointed with this hotel. At first it looked okay even though I am usually unwilling to stay in cheap hotels. The four of us had booked a room equipped with an own bathroom. There were two separate beds and one bunk bed. The beds were fine: clean linen and soft matrasses. The bathroom was okay but it could use some renewal and maybe a decent mirror.

The worst were the mice in the room. At 4 am we went to the reception to complain about the problem. The receptionist did not take us seriously but eventually we got a new room that was slightly better than the previous one. Although the mice were gone, there was a lot of noise (loud music, people running around etc.) that kept us from sleeping.

In short, the hotel could certainly use some thorough cleansing! I certainly do not recommend it even though the location was quite good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsoBeuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

woooohooo.... never seen such a lousy guest room before, it was one of the cheapest locations in Amsterdam when, 2 friends and me where there for a weekend trip.

Check-in was fast, for sleeping it was ok, almost no noise from neighbours, but no cupboard, no spring in the room, small toilet under the stairway on each floor.
it is ok for backpackers with low money, and if you are just on a booze-cruise with low standards.
as we spent most time out of the room, and were just for sleeping there, we decided to get drunk to forget about the room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hammakavula-42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#267 of 367 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#324 of 367 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#286 of 367 in Amsterdam
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#129 of 367 in Amsterdam
447 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
#274 of 367 in Amsterdam
490 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#279 of 367 in Amsterdam
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marnix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marnix Hotel

Property: Marnix Hotel
Address: Marnixstraat 382, 1016 XX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#102 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marnix Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marnix Hotel is a 2-star hotel. Our hotel is ideally located in the center of Amsterdam, about 200 metres from Leidseplein. The hotel has 21 rooms, Single, Double or Triples, most of them with shower and toilet. The reception crew will be more than happy to provide you with any tourist information and guidance to the city's attraction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Marnix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marnix Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing