We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location; wobbly bannisters.”
Review of Marnix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marnix Hotel
Ranked #345 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The hotel was close to a hub of activity in Amsterdam, and easily walkable from the tram stop. It took about 15minutes to walk to Central Station. The reception was located across the street from the hotel, and when we arrived we were offered an upgrade to an en-suite room. The room was basic, but clean, and towels were provided. We were on the ground floor and our room had patio doors leading out to a walled in 'garden'. The door didn't seem very secure, but it did lock fast. The curtain wasn't long enough to cover all three windows, however, so this was a little disturbing. The stair case leading to our room wasn't secure, and when holding on to the banister it wobbled and made me lose my balance. Nevertheless, if you are looking for cheap accomodation this was fine due to it being clean and relatively secure - no one was going to jump that high wall outside our room!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnythetraveller30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (889)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 889 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

Got there looked dodgy , did not smell great window didn't open, toilet didn't work matress kept sliding off the bed... Was terrible and would never stay or recomend anybody else to stay here ever !!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

To sum up, we stayed only one night instead of two. As we arrived, the employees of the hotel gave us a room which did not seem at all like the pictures we had seen on your website. It was smaller, near to the toilets so we could benefit from a terible smell, and two of the beds were bunk beds. Then we had to argue with them during at least one hour to get the room we had asked for, and just for the night we arrived, telling them there was no way we were going to stay one more day. First they told us that it was impossible to give us our money back. Then they asked us to pay 67 euros more to get the room we thought we had booked, even if we had already paid 228 euros. What's more, according to them, they was no way we could have found a website proposing the price we had payed, for a room which was supposed to be much more compfortable, with the tv and the internet. As i said, we argued during about an hour: we had to face their complite lack of understanding add to a dishonnest speach and an oubvious refusal to any agreement we could propose. They finally accepted to let us move into the room we had seen on your website, without paying 67euros more but still refusing to pay us back for the second night that wa had cancelled. (about the tv and the Internet, both were not working!). They offered the breakfast (15euros) , that was the less they could do considering that we had paid the price of two nights for only one. Well, a complite scam!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Lise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hotel was in a good location and was cheaper than most others in the area. It was fairly clean but the bathroom facilities weren't great. The staff were all rude and very unhelpful, so I wouldn't recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 203Eurotripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Price for the location was good, the rooms were smelly, showers hot but in disrepair. The location was the only reason we stayed after we first glimpsed the grim interior of the hotel. We were able to walk to the attractions we wanted to see, so we did save a bit of time/money on trams and buses. We were told that breakfast shown as included in confirmation was actually an extra 5 Euros. There was only weak and intermittent wifi in the rooms, but unfortunately no power points in the lobby where a stronger wifi signal could be accessed. At first they forbade us to have 2 sets of keys (we were 2 friends staying together, but with different schedules) but eventually we were able to get an extra set. The type of lock on the room doors requires the key to lock, so that if one person stayed in the room, they'd have to choose between getting locked in from the outside, or leaving the door unlocked (not safe if one is asleep.) The person leaving would have to either choose to leave the key with the person inside (meaning they would be unable to get back in through the outside door - not great if it's the middle of the night) or locking the other person inside the room, which seems like a fire safety violation. People staying in other rooms who were apparently locked out were often clumped around outside, waiting on the steps.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my friend in June 2012 and were a bit nervous after reading other reviews here but I have to say, our experience was very different. Check in was easy enough and they let us leave our bags until check in while we walked about. The stair case is very steep but not much can be done to help that. Our room was clean and tidy. We had a tv but no remote but that didn't bother us. The shower wasn't great either but you get what you pay for. We were in a private that overlooked the canal, very peaceful. But of course the best thing was the location! It is right next to the Leid square and the Liedensplein which were very busy. Also right next to the theaters and canals. I would advise anyone thinking of this hotel, just to think if you want the location or to spend more for a more luxurious place. It does what its meant to and I felt secure enough with the key card entry.

Room Tip: private room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

the room were dirty, inconfotable bed, dirty bathroom and toilets. the service was awful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yosra k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#326 of 373 in Amsterdam
192 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#259 of 373 in Amsterdam
213 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#283 of 373 in Amsterdam
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New West Inn Amsterdam
#168 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,108 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#138 of 373 in Amsterdam
465 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#310 of 373 in Amsterdam
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marnix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marnix Hotel

Address: Marnixstraat 382, 1016 XX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #345 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $41 - $534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Marnix Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marnix Hotel is a 2-star hotel. Our hotel is ideally located in the center of Amsterdam, about 200 metres from Leidseplein. The hotel has 21 rooms, Single, Double or Triples, most of them with shower and toilet. The reception crew will be more than happy to provide you with any tourist information and guidance to the city's attraction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Marnix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marnix Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing