We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good, but value for money?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seven one Seven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seven one Seven to your Saves list
Hotel Seven one Seven
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #31 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
taches
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good, but value for money?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2005

I have no problems spending money on a good hotel. The price is far less important than the value I receive for what I pay.

Seven one seven is a pretty hotel, well-located and discreet. I stayed there for 2 nights last weekend with my boyfriend and after a day of sight-seeing in cold and snowy weather, it felt very cozy to return to its richly coloured walls, crackling fireplace and intimate atmosphere (I'm not sure that the flannel-covered sofas, tweed curtains and deep paint colours would feel quite so soothing during hot summer months).

There were many lovely touches in the hotel. Complimentary wine and snacks brought to one's room, fragrant fresh flowers in the marble entry way, shelves full of interesting books at the patrons' disposal.

However, I also feel as though the hotel is resting on the sublime reviews it has received. For example, in both our rooms (we stayed in the Tolkein the first night, Room at the Top the second), all the plants were fake. You would think that in a room that costs more than $600US/ night, in a city where a dozen cut tulips can be purchased for less than $10, they would try to avoid the plastic plant syndrome, or at least supplement the fake with a vase of simple flowers! The ceiling in our Room at the Top bathroom was badly stained and cracked (see attached photos). And sometimes the decorating felt just too excessive. Although I really appreciate a hotel that isn't slave to the current sleek and minimalist trends, most of the tables in the place were so covered with ralph-laurenesque tchochkes that I couldn't find space to set down my drink, and feared that I would knock over the collection of antique fountain pens, a painted plate, a fake plant...

Most of the other guests seemed to be corporate types who used the salon or study in the evening to host business acquaintances. For these patrons, the price was probably worth it, since it has the air of a private club and having a few client 'round for a bottle of (complementary) wine in front of a lovely fire is better value than taking them out to a nice dinner. However, I'm not sure that for me and mine the value was there.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
42 Thank taches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    51
    12
    7
    6
See reviews for
38
231
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2004

Just returned from our first visit to Amsterdam and will definitely return primarily due to our excellent experience with Hotel 717. The hotel itself is wonderfully quirky with gorgeous rooms; however , it was the service and friendliness of the staff that sets it apart from the many other boutique hotels we have sampled. After a long day walking outside on a cold, rainy weekend, it was a pleasure to return to the fireplace downstairs and be offered wine and snacks. There was no haughty attitude and they treated every guest as special, including a couple that simply dropped in for a tour. Even when the hotel was full, privacy was complete and quiet (even with a toddler present). My only complaint was about the noise from the canal - we stayed in the Shubert suite and it was noisy late into the night. Maybe insulated glass is in their future plans. Stellar!

Helpful?
20 Thank mjmorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coto de Caza, Ca
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2004

Amsterdam is a city that is difficult to find a room of any kind on Saturday nights without a reservation. Fotunately, we were lucky to find Seven One Seven at the last minute. My wife and I were in Amsterdam only one night preceding a river cruise. The Seven One Seven had only one room available and it was a studio unit at the ground level. It was absolutely wonderful at $225 euros per night.........much less than the other rooms at this B&B. The ambiance was wonderful, the service to perfection and we felt that we had our own little corner of perfection in this studio unit. A garden patio was just outside our door and we always had total privacy even though the patio is open to all guests. Wine and cheese served to our room or patio whenever we requested.
Definitely would stay here over any other place in Amsterdam. Great location and accomodations!

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank JimOCotodeCaza_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2004

We have just spent three nights at this lovely hotel. The decor was excellent. However, the best aspect of this hotel is the staff. They could not do enough to help and were all lovely.

The hotel is also located in the perfect place to explore Amsterdam.

Helpful?
17 Thank CPGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2004

Just returned from a wonderfull trip to Amsterdam. We often visit the city and have stayed in most of the good hotels. This time we stayed at Hotel 717 and were so impressed that we will be staying only there in future. Small, stylish and wonderfully friendly and comfortable, the room was so nice that we actually looked forward to returning to the room with its view over Prisengracht. The location is perfect and the ambiance just right. The place is reminiscent of the Soniat House in New Orleans.

Helpful?
13 Thank Raymond G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2004

Wow. This is just what we were looking for. Our first night in Amsterdam and all I wanted to do was drink the good wine and never get up from that warm and cozy sofa. We were at the end of a three week trip through Switzerland and Germany and the one thing we could not stop talking about was the simple luxury of 717. We stayed in the Picasso suite with a great view of the canal. We would recommend this guest house to anyone looking for a special place to go to at the end of the day.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2003

I have been to 717 twice and found it a beautiful place to come back to after hours of walking. It is a strange mixture of elegance (a beautiful canal house, beautiful colours) and quirky (some of the over the top house contents) and scarcely seems like a hotel. The service is not obsequious and superb. Strongly reccomended.Only two down points:I went alone and that made it very expensiveThere were paper not cloth napkins in the breakfast room, reducing the sense of pampered luxury.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#73 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#23 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,228 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#54 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Property: Hotel Seven one Seven
Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing