We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Luxury on the Prinsengracht canal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seven one Seven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Seven one Seven
Ranked #86 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury on the Prinsengracht canal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel 717 in the Picasso Suite over the weekend. It was absolutely wonderful. The room was very tastefully decorated and was very spacious even for a suite in Amsterdam. Located on one of the main central canals, it was close to all the major attractions. The Stravinsky dining room in the basement level is beautiful for breakfast. The staff was very kind and helpful. We highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAW72014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    51
    12
    7
    8
See reviews for
39
236
24
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I love the idea of this hotel, its not like anything I've seen before. The guest house style is just charming, the service was spot on and the room was beautiful. Everything exceeded my expectations this experience was beyond amazing! I highly recommend this Hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed in the Hotel for 2 night's and enjoyed the big and space full rooms in a very tasty style.
The Hotel is a very central position for exploring Amsterdam. The staff very helpful. It can though be a bit noisy at nights, when guests are coming late home, we could hear them walking on the stairs and talking.

Room Tip: The top floor room are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Gorgeous townhouse, beautifully decorated; comfortable rooms with lots of space for stretching out after a day touring Amsterdam. Fantastic location: close to museums and shopping. Wonderful, helpful, friendly staff. Great breakfast in a beautiful dining room. Caveat: no elevator and lots of stairs but we liked the exercise. Romantic but also great for us and our three kids.

Room Tip: Rooms on the canal have the views but can be a bit noisy a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed in the Schubert Suite one night and the Goethe room for two more nights. The former a wonderful long room with five long windows overlooking the canal - magical. The Goethe room near the top of the building, wonderful "Vermeer" light in the early morning. Beautifully done, with a very distinctive taste, blending old and new. Easy walking distance to the Rijksmuseum. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: High rooms are lovely, and the Picasso and Schubert suites very special if you can get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTraveller103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed in several rooms in this fantastic hotel because we had family with us. This was like staying in someone's wide and distinctively decorated house in Amsterdam - a very grand house! Every room is different, with quite different styles. Each is charming and large, even the "small" ones, with sofas and interesting furniture as well as very comfy beds. Lovely reception and sitting rooms downstairs when you arrive, or to have tea in the afternoon. Nice breakfast room on the bottom floor. It was too cool to eat outside when we were there, but there is an outdoor patio.

My husband and I stayed in the Franz Schubert second floor canal room - 5 windows across - like two separate rooms. Just gorgeous! We loved it. The canal view is AMAZING!

Our niece stayed in suite above, third floor, Picasso, equally large but different design. She also stayed in Dickens, which looks out back and is right next door to Franz Shubert. (I think those were the only two rooms on the same floor together.) Hard to beat the scope and luxury of the canal facing rooms, but every room looked lovely. (We checked them all out over the course of our stay!)

Not an ideal hotel if you can't walk up stairs, but that's townhouse living! Otherwise, beautiful, peaceful, great location (we walked everywhere from there, or took the tram) and courteous, helpful staff who jumped into action at our every request. I would absolutely go back, in a heartbeat!

We booked directly with the hotel and got a much better rate than online. Worth trying that!

Room Tip: Canal facing rooms: huge - the size of two or three rooms - expensive (but worth it) and luxurious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ninip262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Excellent location. Lovely quirky boutique hotel with large rooms.
Only criticism would be there is not enough full length mirror in the room although there was in other rooms.
The staff were helpful and efficient.
If I return to Amsterdam I would stay here again and recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#71 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 739 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#22 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#61 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,701 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Property: Hotel Seven one Seven
Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing