We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Attentive service, lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seven one Seven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Seven one Seven
Ranked #87 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Attentive service, lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a few days and had a great experience. The public rooms are welcoming and warm, and we felt as if we were in someone's home. They staff was helpful and accommodating. There is great attention to detail throughout the hotel and each guest's requests. Each room is unique - ours was large and airy. Privacy, comfort, luxury!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elfish89th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    51
    12
    7
    8
See reviews for
39
237
24
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Everything was wonderful, no negatives remarks regarding the attention nor the hotel facilities. Only negative point: it was a pity that the Wi-Fi didn't work in the 2 days that I've stayed in the hotel.

Room Tip: No elevator available and the stairs are too sharp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxmiglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

717 is a fantastic hotel with amazing service levels and attention to detail and also has a great location. I was here on business for one night and enjoyed my stay.. The price was rather high but so was every other hotel in town (trade fair) and this hotel offered good value for money..

I had room number 9 (which is on lower floor) which is a great room with your own separate living room. Wifi Connection works well which is important for me.. If there are a few issues, they are very minor ones... It may seem strange, but I didnt know how to turn on the TV. only radio came on... I could have contacted the reception but I just didn't bother. Maybe some instructions would be welcome (it's a Bang & Olufson Tv and isn't as straight forward as any other normal TV, in case people question my ability to turn on a TV)... Another issue is the toilet is crammed into a wardrobe space so if you are a larger person you may have some issues... Final remark would be the water pressure in the shower was rather low.. I'm not sure if this was because I was in the lower level floor or if many other people were also using a shower at the same time...

Nevertheless don't let these minor things put you off from staying here.. I, for one, would definately be coming back to this hotel and is the reason why I've rated this as an excellent hotel.

If you are looking for a romantic break with a touch of class then this is your hotel in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Gozo, Malta
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Highly recommendable
My notes on the hotel and the room I stayed in:
Seven One Seven Hotel
Was in Amsterdam for one night, on business; Book a room at the last minute; took advantage of non-reimbursable, cheaper rate (had cancelled in nearby hotel, equally good I suspect, but more expensive and less roomy)
Hotel is in the center (Centrum) of Amsterdam, on one of the canals.
Can’t speak for all suites, but I stayed in the “Franz Liszt” one (downstairs, one steep staircase, like it must be in all homes around – they are so narrow!) and was very satisfied!
The suite is large enough at 50 square meters but with a rather low ceiling. The 3 interconnected but separate rooms (plus a separate toilet cabinet – very small, too small in my view!) are set on a longish orientation and do the length of the building, from front to back. It is at street level; it has windows at the back in the bedroom that gives on a little garden, with a table and a very large parasol – accessible from the corridor just outside the room; and at the front, in the study, that gives on the street and the fronting canal, but not a view to speak of, except passing people! There are dark curtains on the windows that can be pulled out for privacy.
The bedroom is sufficiently large, with a queen- or king-size comfortable bed; side tables (hanged from the wall), and reading lights on top; there is also a full-length (but narrow) mirror in the bedroom. Connecting bathroom (separated by a wooden door – marble on the floor) is well conceived and functional (lots of towels!): One stand-alone “barber-style” white marble sink with a hanging mirror (plus a lit, small enlarging, height-adjustable, one, on the side, for those who need to see very close!). Shower is neat, with adequate pressure (an essential feature for me!)
Study (again separate from the bathroom with a wooden door) is large enough, with a desk and chair to work (enough plugs around to plug your computer and phone charger – don’t forget the adaptors – 2 round-pins European plugs), two large chairs and a central table! The floor is covered with a straw carpet the length of the room; there is also a fridge and a safe (hidden in the cupboard) and a closet to hang your clothes. Finally an area, near the mantle of a fake fireplace, the TV set.
Overall, there are well-explained instructions in the room folder.
Breakfast is delicious and plenty (served in the well-lighted room across – the Stravinsky room)
Monday, May 12, 2014

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The quality of service in this hotel is an example for most of the places I use to stay in. You realy feel at home. For me, the award goes to the waiter whos serves breakfast, with kindness and discretion. Preparing your day in an amazing dining room, with a touch of classical music and high quality food: simply perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The 717 is an astounding discovery in this modern world. Like stepping into a luxurious home from another century. The service was extraordinary, could'nt do enough for me. The Charles Dickens
suite is huge and beautiful, with a super-modern bath. The breakfast was delicious, cooked to order, with silver and linen tablecloths. I was there for 1 night on business, but would love to go back for a few nights vacation.

Room Tip: If all rooms are as nice as CD, I'm sure they're superb,. Be warned, the stairs are typical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We fell through the door after an early flight from London, we were greeted with a good pot of coffee and were seated in a stunning sitting room. Wiebe, who had made our booking took us to our room, a beautiful sitting room cum bedroom "The Tolkein Suite", with a well furnished bathroom.
After we'd settled in nothing was too much trouble. Tea, advice, restaurant booking were accomplished with no fuss at all and we felt at home. We can't recommend the hotel too much, it was well worth it and Wiebe and his colleagues made our stay memorable. The bed was comfortable, sheets dreamy soft, loads of hot water and delicious breakfast.
We look forward to future visits. It made for a special stay.

Room Tip: if you like blue then the Tolkien Suite is for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeleineelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#71 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 738 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#19 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#61 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,702 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Property: Hotel Seven one Seven
Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing