We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Absolutely brilliant experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seven one Seven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Seven one Seven
Ranked #31 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We were very lucky to have spent 4 nights at Hotel Seven One Seven over New Year's Eve. We were in the Picasso Suite which is vast and very impressive indeed. The suite is extremely comfortable with a large bed and 2 enormous sofas, with a fabulous view over the Prinsengracht Canal. I felt it was bigger that the picture on the website had lead me to believe - always nice when that happens! The decor is quite classical/traditional without being stuffy or to over the top.. We tended to sleep late, and miss breakfast, so can't comment on that, but they did do an excellent selection of tea and cakes in the afternoon. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly at all times.

If pressed to find a negative, it is a little annoying that the hotel is always locked and so you have to buzz and wait (often in the rain in our case). It would also be nice to have hair conditioner in the bathroom.

I wouldn't hesitate to go back to this hotel, and would heartily recommend it.

Room Tip: If you can stretch to the Picasso Suite, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    51
    12
    7
    6
See reviews for
38
232
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlon, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The hotel il beautiful, with all the modern comfort but the charm of the ancient style, he's perfectly located, next all the shops and the center of town, restaurants and in front of a canal.
The staff is very helpfull for all our wishes.
The breakfast is delicious and the service is perfect.
We had the Franz Liszt room which is a lovely suite, the only thing we regret is the size of the toilet, for a tall person it's very tiny.. but that's a detail.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is not a hotel but a highly overpriced B & B. We chose it because of Tripadvisor but were very disappointed. The front door was locked on arrival and we waited 10 minutes ringing the doorbell in the rain before a desk clerk arrived. Next day a different clerk kept us waiting over 5 minutes. Only one out of three times could we gain entry without a long wait. Our room was in the attic up 8 steep flights of stairs. The roof beams gave us one inch of clearance above our heads. The shower had poor water pressure and the wifi instructions were incomplete. There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. All this cost 400 Euros a night. Breakfast cost 20 Euros per person with no buffet. We waited 30 minutes on 2 out of 3 mornings for the cooked breakfast. Overall, a dismal experience..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hardingly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven_one_Seven, General Manager at Hotel Seven one Seven, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Hardingly,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that you had a dissatisfying experience at Hotel Seven one Seven. Please contact us directly to solve this matter.

We hope to let you experience the grandeur of Hotel Seven one Seven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The hotel is lovely & the staff are excellent- very helpful! They arranged 2 dinners for us & both places were perfect. Would highly recommend the 717 for anyone looking for a charming weekend away in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keki42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Hotel 717 is probably the most comfortable and nicest hotel I have stayed. The hotel felt like our home from home in Amsterdam but with our own butler. The staff were very friendly and helpful suggesting some excellent restaurants and places to visit off the beaten track. There is a slightly quirky style to the decoration in each of the public rooms giving the hotel a comfortable feel rather than the formal approach of the big hotels.

It is perfectly placed a few yards from the tram stop and a few minutes walk from the Rijks Museum as well as within easy walking of many of the nicer parts of the city.

I have already recommended this to several friends already and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lostwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Great hotel, huge bedroom with a spacious bathroom and a full living room. Amazing space for a European hotel. Anything you want for breakfast each morning, the room was so clean, towels replaced twice a day, the bed was a huge king with the most comfy bedding. Water and glasses placed at bedside each night. It was the perfect location and perfect private guesthouse.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The Seven one Seven is a refurbished canal house, originally the project of a private couple and now in the hands of a business, it features a handful of beautifully decorated bedrooms, a sitting room, a small library and breakfast room. With period decor and pictures and curios, the house is full of character and style, and makes a very convenient base for exploring the city.

We stayed over New Year and were well looked after by the helpful but not intrusive staff, who also treated us to a glass of champagne and canapés at midnight on the 31st. Breakfasts were excellent, and several neighbourhood restaurants are within easy walking distance. There are also lots of nice touches such as a stock of DVDs and CDs if you stay in, and umbrellas (if you venture out).

Overall, we would highly recommend it as a boutique hotel and we would certainly think of staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N_S_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#73 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 712 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#23 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,233 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#54 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Property: Hotel Seven one Seven
Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing