We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Seven one Seven
Ranked #74 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Weekend Away”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The hotel is lovely & the staff are excellent- very helpful! They arranged 2 dinners for us & both places were perfect. Would highly recommend the 717 for anyone looking for a charming weekend away in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keki42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    55
    13
    7
    8
See reviews for
47
254
26
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Hotel 717 is probably the most comfortable and nicest hotel I have stayed. The hotel felt like our home from home in Amsterdam but with our own butler. The staff were very friendly and helpful suggesting some excellent restaurants and places to visit off the beaten track. There is a slightly quirky style to the decoration in each of the public rooms giving the hotel a comfortable feel rather than the formal approach of the big hotels.

It is perfectly placed a few yards from the tram stop and a few minutes walk from the Rijks Museum as well as within easy walking of many of the nicer parts of the city.

I have already recommended this to several friends already and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lostwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Great hotel, huge bedroom with a spacious bathroom and a full living room. Amazing space for a European hotel. Anything you want for breakfast each morning, the room was so clean, towels replaced twice a day, the bed was a huge king with the most comfy bedding. Water and glasses placed at bedside each night. It was the perfect location and perfect private guesthouse.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The Seven one Seven is a refurbished canal house, originally the project of a private couple and now in the hands of a business, it features a handful of beautifully decorated bedrooms, a sitting room, a small library and breakfast room. With period decor and pictures and curios, the house is full of character and style, and makes a very convenient base for exploring the city.

We stayed over New Year and were well looked after by the helpful but not intrusive staff, who also treated us to a glass of champagne and canapés at midnight on the 31st. Breakfasts were excellent, and several neighbourhood restaurants are within easy walking distance. There are also lots of nice touches such as a stock of DVDs and CDs if you stay in, and umbrellas (if you venture out).

Overall, we would highly recommend it as a boutique hotel and we would certainly think of staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N_S_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We spent four days at Christmas 2013. An elegant old canal house, perfectly located on one of the prettiest, most central streets in Amsterdam. We stayed in the Picasso Suite, which had wonderful style, a very long table with endless sofas, and a supremely comfortable bed. Spotlessly clean. Every member of the staff was kind, pleasant, and helpful. The view of the canal out of the windows, morning and evening, was magical. We will recommend 717 to our friends and family, and will be sure to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was okay. It was not exceptional. I wouldn't try to stay there again. The building was old, understand you are in Amsterdam, but still. Should not be rated so highly in my opinion. The location was good. Walking around. Was quite easy.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank incumeg9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at Seven one Seven in December and could not have had a more enjoyable visit. The staff was extremely helpful in booking restaurants and suggesting activities, and the room was both highly original and very comfortable. We had the very top of the hotel, which is not for those who cannot comfortably climb stairs, but, for us, it was splendid. Breakfasts are delicious. All in all, a lovely city hotel experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#52 of 367 in Amsterdam
854 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#22 of 367 in Amsterdam
598 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,493 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#59 of 367 in Amsterdam
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Property: Hotel Seven one Seven
Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing