We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Seven one Seven
Nearby Hotels
$249
$241
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$275
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$275
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$562
$350
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$371
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$104
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$299
$243
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$276
$255
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $287/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$422
$296
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Toren(Amsterdam)
$535
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveler rating
382
62
15
8
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
382
62
15
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspicasso suiteprinsengracht canalboutique hotelno elevatorliving roomlovely hotelnine streetsperfect locationsteep stairscentral amsterdamthe ground floortram stopanne frank housetolkienluxurytownhousecomfort
Filter
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 477 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My partner and I recently spent 4 nights in this classic, intimate property. It was our third visit since the hotel's opening in 1998. It has maintained exceptionally high standards through changes in management and retained its classic elegance through changing fashions. It is a double canal house mansion and is furnished sumptuously. Lush textures are featured in the rooms; flannel, fur, velvet and wool which give it a sense of comfort and luxury. The decor is timeless and combines modern and antique elements with the flair that is typical of Dutch design. The location is superb and the staff is friendly and available without seeming obtrusive or obsequious. They also give excellent advice on restaurants and attractions.

Room Tip: The Schubert Suite and the Picasso Suite are the largest and have the best views of the Prinsengracht Canal.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bang2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We found Seven One Seven to be a haven during the very busy tourist season. Our room was the Van Goethe, spacious and well-appointed, with lots of light and a comfortable sitting area. The people on staff during our stay were very accommodating, and carried our heavy suitcases up five flights of stairs! The location is great, on the canal and easy walk to Rjiksmuseum and other areas.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRH5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in this lovely, well-situated hotel on Prinsengracht. We had the Van Groethe room/suite which was roomy and very comfortable overlooking the back of the hotel. The view wasn't great, but we prefer the peace, away from the road and canal, but we had loads of light through many windows. All the staff were great - helpful, polite, patient and friendly. The hotel is close to the Museum area, which was one of the main reasons for the visit. The refurbished Rijksmuseum is superb and so is the Van Gogh. Due to wet weather we also visited the modern art museum. The trams stop very close (not too close) to the hotel and come straight from Central Station. There seemed to be a fixed breakfast, but no - just ask for muesli, yoghurt, cereal, different eggs, bacon etc and they will bring them. The furnishings in the hotel are great too. All in all, a highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: The stairs are very steep, so if you have any difficulty, don't go for the Van Goethe room or the Room at the Top!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Very private and comfortable accommodation in a great location. Perfect if visiting the Reijt Museum, picking up a canal bus or just wanting to stroll round the" 9 Streets" boutiques.

Service standards are exemplary, nothing is too much trouble and breakfast is just perfect!

We stayed in Shakespeare which is just a few steps up from the foyer, extremely comfortable and quiet.

You really do feel you are staying in a private house - charming and really rather special.

We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms can be seen on the website so you can "see before you buy"
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We booked two rooms for our family of four (no. 4 Tolkein, and no. 7 Van Goethe). Both rooms were very spacious -- quite comfortable for a several-day stay. The staff is outstanding -- very friendly and helpful. The breakfast (which was included in our rate -- be sure to check for special rate packages when you book) was terrific. The hotel is conveniently-located and, but for the construction project currently going on directly behind the hotel, was quite quiet. I highly recommend this hotel. Note that there is no elevator and the stairs are quite steep, so if you have difficulty with stairs this isn't the place for you.

Room Tip: The size of Tolkein, Van Goethe and Shakespere (which share the same floor plan) is very comfortable for 2. We peeked at a few of the others rooms. Picasso is quite large. For 2 you really may not need that much space. Tolkien is up three sets of stairs, Van Goethe is up five sets. That's about as high as I would want to go given the lack of an elevator.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews