We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great small hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Seven one Seven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Seven one Seven
Ranked #89 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great small hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We booked two rooms for our family of four (no. 4 Tolkein, and no. 7 Van Goethe). Both rooms were very spacious -- quite comfortable for a several-day stay. The staff is outstanding -- very friendly and helpful. The breakfast (which was included in our rate -- be sure to check for special rate packages when you book) was terrific. The hotel is conveniently-located and, but for the construction project currently going on directly behind the hotel, was quite quiet. I highly recommend this hotel. Note that there is no elevator and the stairs are quite steep, so if you have difficulty with stairs this isn't the place for you.

Room Tip: The size of Tolkein, Van Goethe and Shakespere (which share the same floor plan) is very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    54
    13
    7
    8
See reviews for
43
246
25
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penn Hills, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This has to be one of the best small boutique hotels we have stayed in Amsterdam,. Various room decors, all great, homey and comfortable. Staff is super attentive but not intrusive. Garden area for drinks and a great location. This hotel is small so book early.

Room Tip: All rooms are different and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed three nights in room number six. The hotel decor is well done to make you feel comfortable and at home. Quiet outdoor garden space for a relaxing drink and snack when you choose. The staff are there to help you with anything needed.

Room Tip: Room six does not have a view if that is important to you. It is spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lksjdflkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Perfect location, the rooms had personality, comfy beds, very clean, a real gem. The staff bent over backwards to help me and doted over my friend Val who due to a riding accident has to wear a calliper. Yes I am gushing but it genuinely was that good. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pamfrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I used tripavisor to find this perfectly located hotel. Thank you to all who rated 717 to help me make the decision.

We had room #9. It was spacious. A bedroom from the entry. A bathroom with a large walk in shower and a sitting room where we had breakfast.

The staff were excellent. They were very knowledgable about the city and gave get references to restaurants that are off the beaten path.

If you want to stay at a hotel that is all about you...this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wmrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabadell
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

we stayed at hotel seven one seven for three nights in june 2013 in the room at the top. Good views and the room was spacious, bright clean and wonderful. The staff was wonderful especially. Breakfast is delicious and in a gorgeous room downstairs.
The hotel is in a great location. Great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gonzalo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

717 was an absolute dream - we loved being there. The hotel is lovely, with very luxurious decor and large suites. The staff is hands-off but approachable if you need anything, it was really lovely. the location is ideal, walking distance to everything but not in the very touristy and stressful centrum area. The canal is lovely. Our stay could not have been better.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Shakespeare suite, which is just up the stairs and facing the back. It was very bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CDHNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#58 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#22 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#12 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Property: Hotel Seven one Seven
Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing