We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Seven one Seven
Nearby Hotels
$309
$292
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$373
$346
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$214
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$374
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Ibis Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$241
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Amsterdam(Amsterdam)
$219
$186
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$245
$211
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$277
$259
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$383
$351
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveler rating
381
60
14
8
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
60
14
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspicasso suiteprinsengracht canalboutique hotelno elevatorhome from homeliving roomlovely hotelnine streetsperfect locationcentral amsterdamtram stopanne frank housetolkienluxurytownhousecomfortstairs
Filter
Updating list...
276 - 281 of 473 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This very pretty and refined townhouse offers exactly what we were looking for – a central position but at the same time quiet and relaxing. Its position on the Pinsengracht is ideal. A stones throw away from both museum area on the one hand and just a few blocks away from the negen straatjes and Jordaen areas.
The service is both efficient and sympathetic.
Don’t hesitate!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steffen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel 717 in February 2013, our third visit. I am sorry to say we won't be staying a fourth time !
Let me start with the positives. The hotel is charming, well positioned, and the rooms are a delight.
On this occasion we stayed in the Schubert suite, which is huge and overlooks the canal.
This turned out to be the main problem. Since our last visit, the area around the hotel seems to have opened more bars and clubs, and the noise outside only subsided around 4am.The hotel is an old building, the windows are single glazed and even with the shutters and curtains closed, sleeping was a struggle (we did stay over a weekend). After our first night we bought earplugs which did the trick.
I noticed in other posts mention is made of the complimentary mini-bar, this was certainly the situation on our earlier stays. On this occasion I could find no mention of this in the room, so I enquired and was told this was not the case. We also had some house keeping problems, bulbs not working on arrival and turn down missing 1 night. The TV reception was very poor and I was told this would be looked at, it wasn't.
All in all I think 717 is perhaps past it's best, the high room rates suggest a level of expectation which sadly is no longer being delivered.

Room Tip: If you are intent on staying I would certainly suggest a quieter room at the rear of the hotel, also be aware that the stairs are very steep and there are plenty of them !
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Woody422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven_one_Seven, General Manager at Hotel Seven one Seven, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Woody,

Let us first of all thank you for your open and contructive review about your stay at Hotel Seven one Seven.

We are sorry to read that your returning stay did match with your previous experience. Hotel Seven one Seven has guest service as main focus and does the utmost to exceed the high expectations. We will certainly look into the mentioned points of improvements and correct them to our default level of service with which you are familiar at Hotel Seven one Seven.

In your review you mentioned the change of formula. This a correct observation from your part. Since January of this year, we have change our formula which means that we no longer have a completely 'all in' formula.

We hope that this response will give you the confidence to take us in consideration should you be visiting Amsterdam in the nearby future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stylish and friendly. Lovely staff and a great breakfast plus sipping a glass of wine in the library in front of an open fire just rounds off the evening!
The location was very good, quiet yet handy for the trams.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia99_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the 717. The rooms are stunning- very large and individually decorated , with a large desk, armchair and comfy sofa.
The staff are charming and helpful, and the breakfast, though not cheap, is lovely with fresh orange juice, fresh fruit and delicious pancakes on offer.

It is a nice touch that soft drinks, beer and water are included in the room rate.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PurpletreeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this discreetly luxurious townhouse on the Prinsengracht. The location is excellent: quiet enough to ensure a good night's sleep but close to many great museums and public transport. The rooms are tastefully decorated, very spacious and feature real art. The bathroom was also generously sized with a bath and walk-in shower.

The delicious breakfasts are served in the Stravinsky room in the basement overlooking the inner courtyard. The wonderful fresh fruit salad was a great start to the day as was the friendly service.

All members of staff are unfailingly friendly and helpful and genuinely interested in making sure you have a good stay.

We're already looking forward to staying again.

Make time to visit Het Grachtenhuis Museum - it hasn't made it into all the guides yet but is definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms 5,6 and 7 are in the upper flors up some quite steep stairs so if you're not so nimble, ask for a room on a lower floor or in the basement room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nettie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews