We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past it's prime”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Seven one Seven
Ranked #73 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Past it's prime”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel 717 in February 2013, our third visit. I am sorry to say we won't be staying a fourth time !
Let me start with the positives. The hotel is charming, well positioned, and the rooms are a delight.
On this occasion we stayed in the Schubert suite, which is huge and overlooks the canal.
This turned out to be the main problem. Since our last visit, the area around the hotel seems to have opened more bars and clubs, and the noise outside only subsided around 4am.The hotel is an old building, the windows are single glazed and even with the shutters and curtains closed, sleeping was a struggle (we did stay over a weekend). After our first night we bought earplugs which did the trick.
I noticed in other posts mention is made of the complimentary mini-bar, this was certainly the situation on our earlier stays. On this occasion I could find no mention of this in the room, so I enquired and was told this was not the case. We also had some house keeping problems, bulbs not working on arrival and turn down missing 1 night. The TV reception was very poor and I was told this would be looked at, it wasn't.
All in all I think 717 is perhaps past it's best, the high room rates suggest a level of expectation which sadly is no longer being delivered.

Room Tip: If you are intent on staying I would certainly suggest a quieter room at the rear of the hotel, also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Woody422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven_one_Seven, General Manager at Hotel Seven one Seven, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Woody,

Let us first of all thank you for your open and contructive review about your stay at Hotel Seven one Seven.

We are sorry to read that your returning stay did match with your previous experience. Hotel Seven one Seven has guest service as main focus and does the utmost to exceed the high expectations. We will certainly look into the mentioned points of improvements and correct them to our default level of service with which you are familiar at Hotel Seven one Seven.

In your review you mentioned the change of formula. This a correct observation from your part. Since January of this year, we have change our formula which means that we no longer have a completely 'all in' formula.

We hope that this response will give you the confidence to take us in consideration should you be visiting Amsterdam in the nearby future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    55
    13
    7
    8
See reviews for
44
253
26
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stylish and friendly. Lovely staff and a great breakfast plus sipping a glass of wine in the library in front of an open fire just rounds off the evening!
The location was very good, quiet yet handy for the trams.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia99_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the 717. The rooms are stunning- very large and individually decorated , with a large desk, armchair and comfy sofa.
The staff are charming and helpful, and the breakfast, though not cheap, is lovely with fresh orange juice, fresh fruit and delicious pancakes on offer.

It is a nice touch that soft drinks, beer and water are included in the room rate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurpletreeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this discreetly luxurious townhouse on the Prinsengracht. The location is excellent: quiet enough to ensure a good night's sleep but close to many great museums and public transport. The rooms are tastefully decorated, very spacious and feature real art. The bathroom was also generously sized with a bath and walk-in shower.

The delicious breakfasts are served in the Stravinsky room in the basement overlooking the inner courtyard. The wonderful fresh fruit salad was a great start to the day as was the friendly service.

All members of staff are unfailingly friendly and helpful and genuinely interested in making sure you have a good stay.

We're already looking forward to staying again.

Make time to visit Het Grachtenhuis Museum - it hasn't made it into all the guides yet but is definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms 5,6 and 7 are in the upper flors up some quite steep stairs so if you're not so nimble, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nettie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Everything here was just perfect!! Me and my husband stayed here in the start of January and we wanted something romantic and special.... This hotel is beyond any expectation with very high standars!! Great staff and lovely breakfast. Keep up the good work guys!!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DeborGib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Excellent location and wonderful hotel . Rooms are very large and comfortable,the decoration is lovely and very personal in each room .only one thing missing in the bathroom: a little table or shelves...
Excellent breakfast and , nice and thoughtful service.
It's the third visit in this hotel and certainly not last one...

Room Tip: Better choose your room not in the basement ,but in the 1st,2nd and 3rd floor , they are much more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isabelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

One of the best hotel I've ever stayed!
Everything was so great, nice interior, convenient location, clean room and the warm hospitality of all receptionists.
We have stayed for 5days last week but we already miss this hotel.
We sure we will come back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ASAMOTHER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#57 of 368 in Amsterdam
842 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#21 of 368 in Amsterdam
593 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,634 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Property: Hotel Seven one Seven
Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing