We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hotel Seven One Seven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Seven one Seven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Seven one Seven
Ranked #80 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Seven One Seven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

717 is a very friendly hotel in the centre of Amsterdam - the rooms are well appointed & spacious and ideal if you want to work or relax. Its like staying in your own home, the team are very friendly and the breakfast is cooked as if you were in your own kitchen - will definitely be my hotel of choice in Amsterdam. Hotel was recommended by a colleague and is a well kept secret.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 778David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    52
    13
    7
    8
See reviews for
40
240
25
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We spent a weekend at this hotel in mid-November and the two nights we stayed have been very memorable. The location is excellent: mid-way round the Prinsengracht and an easy walk to most central Amsterdam sights. The only time we needed to use transport was to get to and from the airport. When we arrived, our friendly host showed us into a comfortable sitting room with a log-fire burning and brought us coffee and cakes as he spirited our bags away. When we were ready, he took us to our room and was genuinely helpful in explaining the facilities. Like most period houses in Amsterdam, the building is tall and narrow with very steep staircases but this lends it lots of character. The interior throughout is beautiful and the room, large but still cosy, lacked nothing by way of amenities. There was an option of taking breakfast in our room but we chose to go down into the dining room (they happily served us even though we got up late) and we enjoyed a good breakfast of cold meat, cheese, eggs and bacon. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, from local sightseeing tips to booking restaurants and airport transfers. The hotel is small but benefits from an very friendly, cosy atmosphere with particularly attentive staff. I couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
85 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Hotel Seven one Seven is a little gem---you feel like you are at your own home---albeit a gorgeous house with staff on the Princes Canal in Amsterdam. The staff works really hard to answer your every need. I entertained guests and we had wine and appetizers. At the last minute I invited guests to breakfast (which is a small affair), again no problem. And there were delicious cookies that came with the coffee. The hotel is basically all inclusive (except for laundry). The hotel is in a fantastic location near the 9 streets....and easy to get to both the museums and to the center of Amsterdam. I would highly recommend this hotel for a romantic weekend or if you are on business and want a more intimate experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenorenewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel truly is a jewel. While visiting family in Amsterdam spent three glorious days at Hotel 717 in the Schubert Suite. This 5-windowed suite overlooks the Prinsengracht Canal. It was amazingly quiet - I had expected some noise from the street, but no. The furnishings are absolutely beautiful and luxurious. The art work makes one stop in one's tracks. The beds afford a sound replenishing sleep. This makes one wake up, renewed and ready for breakfast. I had mine in the breakfast room, where English (and other) morning newspapers were available. A cup of coffee never tasted so good, and I thought the choice of available breakfasts was excellent . I don't know where they find their staff. They are exceptional. Each day when coming back from walking, shopping, etc, one of them is there to greet you and invite you to have a cup of tea - or a glass of wine - or how about spirits? The libation of choice is accompanied by most tasty snacks - all complimentary. This is enjoyed in one of their drawing rooms. Another small detail - the (tastefully hidden) refrigerator in the sitting room of the suite had a selection of water, soft drinks, wine, beer - all complimentary. This hotel really thinks of everything - it is as if the owner is saying to the guests "Your wish is my command." The location of the hotel couldn't be better - one can walk everywhere.
I plan on returning here in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rosemary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrow in furness
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend stay at Hotel 717. We were really looking forward to it - especially after reading such great reviews - and were certainly not disappointed. From the moment we were greeted at the impressive front door - to the moment we left - we felt thoroughly cossetted. Every single member of staff was helpful and very courteous. The breakfasts - both in the stunning breakfast room and in our opulent bedroom - were beautifully presented. We enjoyed complimentary coffees and glasses of wine accompanied by various nibbles - olives, salami etc in each of the three drawing rooms downstairs before venturing out to the nearby shops, restaurants and bars. (The tram stop is only 50 metres away and Anne Frank's house is on the same canal approx 500 metres away.)
All in all we had a sensational time and are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jstaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hotel 717 is an excellent place to stay. Its location could not be bettered nor could its service. It is billed as a home from home and that is exactly what it is. From the time I arrived to the time I left, it was great. And the breakfast was one of the best I have ever had. It is a little pricey but I have to say it is worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hgcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our experience at 717 was fabulous. My wife and I stayed there for 5 nights. The staff was wonderful and extremely helpful and accommodating. The room (Shakespeare Suite) was perfect. The continental breakfast was the BEST way to start our day. And the location is excellent. We walked everywhere. Wouldn't think of staying anywhere else on our next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ted P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#64 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#21 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Property: Hotel Seven one Seven
Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing